Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Successes \0/

• 02-11-2005 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭

Ok apologies for this post and if i'm breaking a forum rule please delete/flame/ban/eat me.

Just had two major successes today on Betfair.

I won a $2 MTT and got meself $40 dollars and just now i came second in a £2 MTT and got £55.

I know it's all relative but this is huge money for me as a usually play the paddypower 10c STTs and target making €1-€2 a night by winning 4 or 5 of them.

Played reasonably well but made a few really fishey calls that i managed to fluke on the river. In the end i came second as i got bored of the guy slow playing and folding everything but face cards/pairs for over 40mins with just the pair of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

That's just not cricket :p

Well Done ....betfair is great for the MTT's every 15 mins or so.

Perfect place to start your profitable career !

BTW, and slightly OT ..... I heard that Betfair could be 'going alone' and leaving Cryptologic. Cryptologic issued a warning to the stockmarkets yesterday I think, and their share price took a hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Well done ruggiebear great result.
    I remember when i first started playing online we were down to 3 players in a 2k guaranteed 100+runners. There was one tiny stack and me and another player big stacks pretty level. I got AsKs and the other large stack went all in first to act before the flop, i called and short stack passed other player turned over AA. I got beat and was out a hand or 2 later. Of course and was gutted and thought i made a terrible fish play but pokergirluk told me it was a good call and that AK suited 'was a bit of a monster 3 handed' and most agreed they would have also called. it cheered me up but was gutted at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

RuggieBear wrote:
    I won a $2 MTT and got meself $40 dollars and just now i came second in a £2 MTT and got £55.

I know it's all relative but this is huge money for me as a usually play the paddypower 10c STTs and target making €1-€2 a night by winning 4 or 5 of them.

So relative to your usual bankroll your a millionaire!?!?! :D
    Nice work man...fair play.
    They all count!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Culchie wrote:
    That's just not cricket :p

Well Done ....betfair is great for the MTT's every 15 mins or so.

Perfect place to start your profitable career !

BTW, and slightly OT ..... I heard that Betfair could be 'going alone' and leaving Cryptologic
    . Cryptologic issued a warning to the stockmarkets yesterday I think, and their share price took a hit.

Yeah the MTTs being regular, i can see being a big attraction to me. I only wandered over after DocFarrell reccomended the freerolls. Wasn't one on so i thought i'd test the interface anyway. Think i prefer Paddypower, especially the large chatbox and the ability to see the folded hands (i forget mine instantly).

don't really know what Cryptologic is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i feel like a millionaire alright.....off to wine and dine the girlie with the winnings and get even luckierer :D:D

Actually had this miracle hand in the middle of the tournie

-HAND 3
    Game #1213905333: Hold'em NL (800/1600) - 2005/11/02 - 15:12:45 (BST)
    Table "Tourney 1320355 - 1" Seat 2 is the button.
    Seat 1: Harmom (19850 in chips)
    Seat 2: fatboy65 (26590 in chips)
    Seat 3: icecoolxx (5700 in chips)
    Seat 4: bascat2 (10796.50 in chips)
    Seat 5: SUPERDRAW (49182.50 in chips)
    Seat 6: jk8000 (35512 in chips)
    Seat 7: Dami09021 (25215 in chips)
    Seat 10: RuggieBea (34154 in chips)
    icecoolxx: posts the ante 200
    bascat2: posts the ante 200
    SUPERDRAW: posts the ante 200
    jk8000: posts the ante 200
    Dami09021: posts the ante 200
    RuggieBea: posts the ante 200
    Harmom: posts the ante 200
    fatboy65: posts the ante 200
    icecoolxx: posts small blind 800
    bascat2: posts big blind 1600
    HOLE CARDS
    dealt to RuggieBea [Kh Ks]
    SUPERDRAW: folds
    jk8000: folds
    Dami09021: folds
    RuggieBea: calls 1600
    Harmom: raises to 6400
    fatboy65: folds
    icecoolxx: folds
    bascat2: folds
    RuggieBea: raises to 12800
    Harmom: raises to 19650 and is all-in
    RuggieBea: calls 6850
    FLOP
    [4h 8c 8h]
    TURN
    [4h 8c 8h][Kd]
    RIVER
    [4h 8c 8h Kd][2c]
    SHOW DOWN
    Harmom: shows [Ac Ad] (Two Pairs, Aces and Eights, King high)
    RuggieBea: shows [Kh Ks] (A Full House, Kings full of Eights)
    RuggieBea collected 43300 from Main pot
    SUMMARY
    Total pot 43300 Main pot 43300 Rake 0
    Board [4h 8c 8h Kd 2c]
    Seat 2: fatboy65 (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 3: icecoolxx (small blind) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 4: bascat2 (big blind) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 5: SUPERDRAW folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 6: jk8000 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 7: Dami09021 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
    Seat 10: RuggieBea showed [Kh Ks] and won (43300) with A Full House, Kings full of Eights