Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

good go karting track?

• 02-11-2005 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Does anybody know of any good go - karting tracks (pref within 2 hours of Dublin). Please post if you have experiences with them...

I ask because I'm planning a trip for about 10 mates (girls and lads) to a go - karting track. We went to Kylemore last year and it was great craic, but we're looking for a bit more of a challenge this time round, preferably an outdoor circuit.

We were looking at a place in Castlefin Donegal called 'Extreme Karting' which was an outdoor track with fast karts... only problem is it's a bit out of the way for a day trip....does anyone know of any similar facilities a little closer to home?

Cheers. - there doesn't seem to be much in the way of online info about these places....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

http://www.kartcity.net/

Beside Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

I was at Kart City last night in the rain (oh the laughs and the drifts!!):D

It's a 700m outdoor tarmac'd track, floodlit.

Didn't realise they've done a big overhaul on the setup,with new cafe etc (its been 10 months since I was last there).

My next trip is an over-nighter to Galway, taking in the Oranmore track? Never been, so looking forward to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Oranmore is good, a couple of dodgy cars though.

any feedback on pallas karting folks?

@ ficus, what was athboy like? love to try it out - prices/location?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Pudden Hill is pretty good. Biggest indoor track in Ireland and they have transponders in the karts which means you can get a print out of your times etc after the races.

www.puddenhill.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Bluetonic wrote:
    http://www.kartcity.net/

Beside Dublin Airport.
    Ugh. Last time I was here it was shocking.
    Crappy helmets, a good few slow cars and the logistics were painful.
    A 15 year old bloke with a clipboard taking down laps.
    Got the whole thing totally wrong, prizes to people who had been lapped etc.

Kylemore karting has a much tidier setup, all electronic with score boards lap times etc.

What is new in Kartcity, other than track? (which it seems you dont get to use from the website...?)

GreeBo wrote:
    Ugh. Last time I was here it was shocking.
    Crappy helmets, a good few slow cars and the logistics were painful.
    A 15 year old bloke with a clipboard taking down laps.
    Got the whole thing totally wrong, prizes to people who had been lapped etc.

Kylemore karting has a much tidier setup, all electronic with score boards lap times etc.

What is new in Kartcity, other than track? (which it seems you dont get to use from the website...?)

the overalls, helmets, gloves are still a bit worn. some karts are a bit knackered. i agree they could learn a thing or two from kylemore - but kylemore does have its problems as well.

we had no problems using the 700m Pro track last night - even though there was only 4 of us.

Ficus wrote:
    i did pallas last year and that was a laugh also but its a solid 3 hour drive which can be a bit painful and there were a lot of ropey karts there and the guy running it tried to rip us off big time.
    As for athboy karting, everone loved it. The track has some great corners and a long back straight coupled with some tight hairpins. pricewise, it worked out 600 euro for 14 of us for and hour of practice and then a grand prix session. well worth it though, and a lot cheaper than what pallas karting were looking for

thanks ficus. Is there a website with track layout etc anywhere? not joy googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

Anyone know if KartWorld in watergrass hill in cork is any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

The one in Kilkenny is very good. Kiltorcan raceway I think, in Ballyhale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

LFCFan wrote:
    Pudden Hill is pretty good. Biggest indoor track in Ireland and they have transponders in the karts which means you can get a print out of your times etc after the races.

www.puddenhill.com

Forgot all about this place.

I agree excellent track and facilities. Would reccommend over Kart City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

try edgeworthstown co.longford they have twin engine karts on a great outdoor track its only an hour and half from the big smoke good rates too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

do mondello not do very fast karts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Thanks very much for all the suggestions

I would go back to Kylemore again like a shot except some of the heavier lads in the group were complaining that the karts weren't up to it on the uphill. I'm only 9 st so that wasn't really a problem for me! :D

Pudden Hill looks good, the track is relatively flat which will suits the bigger lads - to whoever was there how are the karts?

As for outdoor tracks, athboy looks like a good bet 390cc karts sounds fun ;)

I'm also going to check out Longford some more looking up their number in the phone book ... twin engined karts outdoor is what we're looking for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

ciarsd wrote:
    I was at Kart City last night in the rain (oh the laughs and the drifts!!):D

It's a 700m outdoor tarmac'd track, floodlit.

Didn't realise they've done a big overhaul on the setup,with new cafe etc (its been 10 months since I was last there).

My next trip is an over-nighter to Galway, taking in the Oranmore track? Never been, so looking forward to it.

Bad News for ya Oranmore is Closed down now for a year i think and our indoor track that was in liosban ind est is closed for the last 3 years. Nearest Karting is in Pallas karting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Jesper

The go karting track in Kiltorcan, Ballyhale Co. Kilkenny is very good. They hold European qualifiers there annually. Also they've recently set up a scate board/bike outdoor arena. One of the best in Ireland I hear. They can cater for groups and have food ready etc as well and its all electronic.
    About 2 hours from Dublin but when your all finished ye could go out in Kilkenny It's just 15 minutes up the road (Waterford is 20 down the road but there'd be no comparisson on which to pick for a night out). Kilkenny is fianally getting its act together for cheap accommadation as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Aln_S

Sputnik wrote:
    Anyone know if KartWorld in watergrass hill in cork is any good?

I was down there on August Monday. It was very good and well organised.
    I get so angry when i get a bad cart or the event is badly run, but i actually enjoyed it this time.
    Everyone got proper printouts of their lap times and where they finished etc. after every heat.
    I also noticed that they are doin a big extention to the place.

Verdict: Well run and well worth a visit.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

Spawell have a karting track - outdoors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭coolcon

prospect wrote:
    The one in Kilkenny is very good. Kiltorcan raceway I think, in Ballyhale.
    Yep, kiltorcans good and is within 2hours of dulblin. heres the link for the site kiltorcan raceway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

http://www.pallaskarting.com/

I go to Pallas a fair bit (handy from galway) and find it quite good, they seem to treat you better if you have been before or know what your talking about, the track is quality and ive never had a problem with the karts, which are very fast!

trackscut.jpg

mikegannon wrote:
    Bad News for ya Oranmore is Closed down now for a year i think and our indoor track that was in liosban ind est is closed for the last 3 years. Nearest Karting is in Pallas karting

yeah, learned about it only yesterday :( I think they are talking about pallas karting as the backup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Kylemore - well run, decent cars
    Kart City - bady run, appalling cars, staff don't seem to give a ****
    I went to Pudden Hill and found them to be totally unorganised, and refused to return the deposit for a few people that didn't show
    The Oranmore track is class! Quick cars, I went in the rain & I think I spent more time sideways that in a striaght line....you jus dabbed the throttle and around she went
    Pallas in Tynagh is a huge track, never been but would love to go.
    I've seen the track in Edgeworthstown and it looks well worth a visit! Cars looked very quick and were able to powerslide around the corners!
    Oh I also went to a Go-Karting track on a recent work weekend in Dunadry up the North....fairly new track so the cars were excellent! The fastest indoor circcuit I've ever been, would highly recomment it....(now to find the name of it for ya!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

I was down there on August Monday. It was very good and well organised...............I also noticed that they are doin a big extention to the place.

Verdict: Well run and well worth a visit.

Ah cool, I've been considering heading down there with the mates for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 SweetasRay

<snip>, paid for 25 minutes and only got 15, when we asked to speak to the manager he said 25 minutes included briefing and getting dressed in gear?? then blamed his other staff but refused to give us our money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Please don't drag up old thread to give out about a business.
    If you have a problem with a business speak to the manager or maybe the Consumer Issues forum.