Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barcodes Kip or Not

• 27-10-2005 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

Alright all Just wondering if this Place is any good Ive asked loads of people is barcodes night club a decent place or not?
    most of them said it was a Kip full of scumbags basicly my g/f Wants to go there with her mates because she likes it. she wants me to go.

but from all this feed back im considering Not to.
    I personaly have never been there & all the feedback I got from it was its a Kip full of scum. has any one had an experence there good or bad or can any one put a light on this subject

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 roberto_bajayze

bit of a kip. a lot of people from coolock,donnycarney,east wall,north strand etc. go there. a bit ben sherman or whatever those guys are wearing now. actually, they all wear pink t-shirts. it can be a laugh. just don't go looking for a scrap cos you'll probably get one and get battered.

on a side issue, don;t let your gf bully you into doing something you don't want to do. be patient and take your time, the right occasion will come along naturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭vms7ply9t6dw4b

Its "Barcode" not "Barcodes", full of scum, id say more full of skangars then full of scumbags. They are fairly harmless and very young usually. Just dont hang around outside as theres always trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭buzzerxx

last time i was there ,samantha mumba was beside us at the dancefloor all night.she likes it,its a big place and i think its ok.as with most places you will get some undesireables there but there is plenty of security around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Its "Barcode" not "Barcodes", full of scum, id say more full of skangars then full of scumbags. They are fairly harmless and very young usually. Just dont hang around outside as theres always trouble

its "skangers" not "skangars" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

on a side issue, don;t let your gf bully you into doing something you don't want to do. be patient and take your time, the right occasion will come along naturally.

?????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

dublindude wrote:
    ?????????

Yeah I think it was an attempt at being funny or something.

Anyway, the crowd at Barcode is verry 50/50 but the place itself is cool, nice design, plenty of space & loads of seats. The dancefloor is small enough but it's still decent.
    It's been a while since I was there but last time I was I enjoyed it so give it a go, you can always get the dart into town if you're not enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Its not as bad as everyone makes out i don't think and yeah you do get some dodgey people there but mostly its fine.

*side-note* Also not all people from coolock are dodgey!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i'm a weekly 92er and i must say its good crack, not too much skank , nice mix, anyone can have fun there really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

Im down there most weeks and its a good laugh, plenty of eye candy, bouncers can be picky bastards when they want to be though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i think the bouncers are great there, very funny guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

It really depends on the night you are going.

I go regularly on a thursday and have never had a bit of trouble, but have heard that fridays and sundays there does tend to be a bit of trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Never been there, but I know quite a lot of people that go there so it must be a kip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

It's grand if you're not a snobby south sider or rich kid in general.

If you are however, you probably shouldn't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭SixShot

It's grand if you're not a snobby south sider or rich kid in general.

If you are however, you probably shouldn't go.

So if your From Tallaght your Fuc*ed

Eh...no.

If you're from Tallaght and out for nothing more than a good time, you should be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I like Barcode but unfortunately it's become too overcrowded and is pretty much infested with Ben Sherman shirt wearing skangers and slappers nowadays. It's gone too rough. I haven't been in there for 6 months because of the crowd and the bouncers. The bouncers at Barcode are probably the biggest pr!cks you will come across. They have an appaling attitude, refuse you for no reason when you have ID and are dressed well. I'd say I've been refused half of the time and it really gets on your nerves when you are refused and the scumbags infront of you get in no bothers. As far as I'm concerned they want the rough types in and the decent crowd out..... let it be the knacker haven then.

I find it such a shame resorting to not going there anymore because it's quite cheap in comparison to most other clubs and I like the club despite my more of a Whelans, Dorans, Doyles, Bruxelles etc. type tastes in nights out. I'm not the only though as I know lots of people who have given up on the place for the same reasons as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Barcode is an ok place, sure there is a rough factor there, but everywhere you go you're bound to find the undesireable factor, but cheap €3 drinks, girls wearing belts for skirts your bound to get trouble, and its the first port of call for anybody going to a nightclub for the first time on the N/S as its a night club thats not in town and most of the people live locally, i know this is true for me.

The bouncers at Barcode are probably the biggest pr!cks you will come across. They have an appaling attitude, refuse you for no reason when you have ID and are dressed well.
    I agree that the bouncers there are the worst I've ever come across but refused entry for no good reason is not somethign exclusive to Barcode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Shadow_2k5

Well I did go to Barcode & I hatedit its Truely a Kip Full of Knackers & Fool out of there Head on E & Xtc.
    I wont be going there agane aparently before it was a decent Place now its Skangland.
    Peace out all & thanks for all the info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

Barcode is a complete kip full of scumbags.

Shadow_2k5 wrote:
    Well I did go to Barcode & I hatedit its Truely a Kip Full of Knackers & Fool out of there Head on E & Xtc.
    I wont be going there agane aparently before it was a decent Place now its Skangland.
    Peace out all & thanks for all the info

Just out of curiosity...where do you normally go for a good time?

I'm not trying to defend Barcode or the knackers that go there, but ffs, I can't seem to find any club that doesn't have knackers in it.
    I feel like everybody is keeping something from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭d-arke

just read everyones view on barcode, not really hearing alot of positive things. im heading out there tonight. was told a thursday night is decent craic out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Is the OP from Cork?

Why do Cork people feel the need to add an S to the end of pub names?

Not everyone calls their pubs after themselves.

I mean FFS Barcode's, Tramco's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Just out of curiosity...where do you normally go for a good time?

I'm not trying to defend Barcode or the knackers that go there, but ffs, I can't seem to find any club that doesn't have knackers in it.

Try Ron Blacks, SamSara and Café en Seine.. they are all practically beside each other on Dawson St.. You'll rarely* find a knacker there..

*By rarely I mean never :v: :v: :v:

they aren't clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭d-arke

well, went to Barcode last night. To be honest, I thought it was a really cool place. Very nice, loads of tv's showing sport, the games, the drink vending machines (though i dont think they were working), the hot women (well mostly hot) wearing feck all :) and a cool relaxing sit down area. oh yeah and the €3 drinks all night. there was a few scumbags and it was very ben sherman-y stroke boy/girlband wannabes but thats the same in most similar pubs/clubs you go to these days.

as with other places, if you go to the same place all the time the novelty wears off so maybe thats why everyone who slags it off dont like it. for instance my local nightlub is alright but once you've gone to it every weeken for months on end you obviously get sick of the place.

nothing wrong with barcode in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Barcode is deadly. 3 euro drinks, free admission, hot women, what more could you want. Who cares if there's knackers there?? Sure there all over the place FFS!!

Stop being such stuck up arseholes and go out and have a good time with your mates!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

I could'nt agree more with Spogpean, as there's sbags in all walks of life and were here on this planet too have a good time and not to be too concerned with what other people do, say, or looklike!!!

i also agree...cept bout the hot women thing...barcode is not somewhere i would consider having good looking women, in general that is, compared to most other places i go to

I think the word was 'easy' women.

Is it open Mondays?

i'm a weekly 92er and i must say its good crack, not too much skank , nice mix, anyone can have fun there really

92er? Are you talking about Club 92 in Leopardstown? I'm probably headin to barcode this Thursday (is that a student night in barcode?) never been there before..

yes i am. yeah thursday is good there, drinking rise in price after 11 i think but a euro or something, free in tho so cant complain, getting homes the bitch

I'm confused.. Barcode is not Club 92..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 jackdlad

i like barcode its cheap drink which is always good and you make your own night, havent been down in a while with college and stuff but should be going this week, i agree bouncers can b a bit iffy but generally they are ok.. word of advice if going n thursday get there early as there is alwys a large queue, sometimes stretching to the bridge, im passing on the bus most thursdays at about 10ish and the queue is always massive.. but enjoy it you will have a god night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Spogpean wrote:
    Barcode is deadly.

Stop being such stuck up arseholes and go out and have a good time with your mates!!

QED lads, QED! :D

Schwaaarrrrrr!

Ah he has a point though Kernel.. :v:
    Thanks for the advice jackdlad - realistically probably won't get there til 11.30 or something lol..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭PlayaFlow

Club92 and Barcode are differrent places. Im not sure why he decided to throw in hes a weekly 92'er.
    As if thats to show that his advice should be taken over anybody elses becuase he goes to some overrated posh club.
    Your not the only one that goes there ya know.

i agree its over rated, it quite crap now i thinks, i said it to show what i was comparing it too, as much critism to the place was cos it was a knacker hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Not a bad place but the beer is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

im a member of westwood gym where barcode is located and its quite funny watching all the riff raff queing up early on a friday evening to get in,they make them go through the security hut so every one of them are caught on the cctv for future reference,members like me never get trouble if we want to go into barcode but we usually dont go in the evenings when the riff raff are about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

Rob stop trying to sound so pretentious, everybody goes through the security hut, they only open the gate for cars.

im a member of westwood gym where barcode is located and its quite funny watching all the riff raff queing up early on a friday evening to get in,they make them go through the security hut so every one of them are caught on the cctv for future reference,members like me never get trouble if we want to go into barcode but we usually dont go in the evenings when the riff raff are about!

Wharryouuu bleeedin sayin ya muppppee''' :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

just kidding i dont consider anyone riff raff! i do go in some nights but town is my usual haunt. havent had any trouble myself but i am bigger than most of the bouncers!

great crack tonight, twas fun to say da least, lok at the time i got home;..