Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

movin to Oz

• 27-10-2005 5:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi there! I'm thinkin of headin to Oz the last week in November on a 12month working visa... Just wondering if its too late in the year or too near their summer to go over lookin for work at that time. Any opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

ohhhhhhhhhhhh a nice place Oz!!!

dunno much about the logistics re
    summer etc
    we start daylight saving on sat (my bday!) So there in is the 'cue' for Summer!!!!!!!!!!

Guess it depends on what you want to do and where you wanna go

Rach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Digitally

Where abouts are ye staying first??
    I worked in Sydney for the year, some spot....:D
    Would love to head back.
    Have to say that I found that there was always work available if you were willing to look for it.
    Was talking to a mate of mine still over there and he was saying that there is
    still plenty of site work goin on but you sometimes have to do a bit of travelling out west. He's working on the Orbital motor way but was saying that its starting to wind down now so all these lads will be looking new work!!

How to get a job in Oz.

1. Go to pub
    2. Fall in with a group of Irish/English/ etc.
    3. Ask
    4. Everyone seems to know a man who knows a fella who's looking somebody to start.

Worked for me and a few friends anyway!!
    Work was tough but good craic and paid pretty well.

Best of luck on trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 curious cat

Thanks for the tip digitally... headin to Perth on the 21st so here goes somethin I hope :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Mairin

I started my 12 month visa in November too. The only problems we had was we arrived just after the Olympics and so a lot of companies had used up their budgets on the celebratrions and were less keen to take on temps, but other then that it wzs a great time to arrive.

We started in Sydney but friends who started in Perth didn't mention having any problems, so I'd say you'd be fine.