Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

270 Game?

• 26-10-2005 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭

Hi-De Ho

Is the €270 monthly game on this thursday considering that the EPT starts the same day in the Merrion?
    I have a ticket and fancy playing...any ideas?

D...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Yeah it's still going ahead, got a text from the fitz about it yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

cool...lookin forward to it...
    anyone else goin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Could be a smaller field than usual on Thursday condsidering there is a €400 rebuy around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I take it this won't be too badly effected by the goings on at the Merrion tomorrow?

Is it still an 8.30 kick off... and what time are the freeroll sats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ur in training len!
    stay away and go for a sauna!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

lol Haven't played a live game in over a month I've forgotten what chips look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

i could be like the old guy in Rocky!

get 'em Rocky! sock it to 'em!

if i don't get to see u before the big fight,
    then
    the best of luck killer!
    gl, d.

and remember if u've got less less than ten big blinds but the bubble's coming up....
    well screw it, if u think ur ahead!! then shove it in and leave a man who did the best he could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Daithio wrote:
    Yeah it's still going ahead, got a text from the fitz about it yesterday.

I've never gotten a text from the fitz. Valued customer indeed......

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

roryc wrote:
    I've never gotten a text from the fitz. Valued customer indeed......

Neither have I, and I play there about 4-5 nights a week usually. Must investigate why I spose, but when I'm there that much there isn't much I miss that is coming up.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

5starpool wrote:
    Neither have I, and I play there about 4-5 nights a week usually. Must investigate why I spose, but when I'm there that much there isn't much I miss that is coming up.........

If you read the sign beside the old kitchen they dont have everyones phone numbers give it to the front desk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

5starpool wrote:

Should check out gamblers anonymous the 2 nights you have free.

I'll see you there.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The Troll wrote:
    Should check out gamblers anonymous the 2 nights you have free.

I'll see you there.

Do they run tournaments there? Excellent idea. I'll be there then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

So who's going to provide a report of last nights tournament? I request, nay demand, a response!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Well, I went home around 11.45pm about 40-45 left, but my night doesn't make interesting reading.
    Really enjoyed it.

I'd say about 100 starters, seemed to be alot of people who were around for the weekend...from the North and abroad etc...

Guy to my right early on was Marketing Director of Speckter Poker and was over with all the Norwegian players they sponsor (nice work if you can get it !)

Amp was dealing, and gave me muck for about an hour. The table had quite a few strong players, so couldn't even see a flop most of the time.
    Then with my chips down to 4000, from starting 5000, I was dealt QQ in the big blind. Blinds were 100/200, it was raised (Denise?) to 500 from mid position and I re-raised it to 1000. She had a very large stack and moved all-in. After getting rubbish for so long I was tempted to call, but folded showing Queens, and fair play to Denise she showed me Kings. I dunno was my QQ strong enough to re-raise with but I'm sure you'll give me advice on that:)
    So I had only 3000 now, and in trouble. Was dealt AA about 5 hands later, two limpers in, I raised to 800, but they both folded.

Went to the break with what I started with 5000.

Table was broken shortl after break and joined Oscars table with 4500 chips.
    My blinds got taken in next orbit (200/400), so was down to 3900 chips, and starting to be left badly behind.

Then there was a hand that I played that raised a few eyebrows but I thought it was the right play in the circumstances I was in.

I was on the button dealt 9 10 spades. A shortstack of about 1200 went all-in, you could tell it was a last roll of the dice move by him, definitely Ace Rag move.
    So 1200 in pot, 600 in blinds behind me, and I'm sure it's Ace Rag from early position, I decide this is the moment to gamble, so I move all-in with my 3900, so hopefully the blinds will fold.
    They did, and yerman turned over A 10 ....damn that 10, any other card would have been grand....sure enough the flop brings a 10 a pair of tens wins it, he has better kicker.
    They was a couple of smug non-remarks from a couple at the table, but I'll await comment from the boards jury, if I made the right play in the circumstances.

Anyways I've now just 2700 left. I nick blinds of 600, up to 3300. I then go out to same player 5 mins later, when I'm in big blind (300/600). He min raises from the CO, SB calls, so I've definitely odds to see te flop with my Q8 (3000 already in pot)... flop comes Q x x, small blinds checks, I move all in for my last 2100, and the preflop raiser calls after a delay, I know I'm ahead.
    He turns over 10 10 (very weak play by him preflop methinks), but the turn brings a 10 and I'm dogged.

That pot if I won it would have brought me up to a decent stack of 7200 and domething to play with, but not to be.

Comments on the two hands welcome (the QQ re-raise and the 9 10 soooted move), bear in mind stack/blind situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I like the QQ minraise and laydown. You lost the minimum in that hand in my opinion except for a great read and a fold without putting anything in which would be hard to do with Denise playing. You are out of position post flop. You can't smooth call here I think.
    What are you going to do if the flop comes low and raggy? She's betting no matter what if you check and you still don't know if it's AA, KK, QQ. JJ, TT or Ax or anything. And as it turns out if you make a significant bet she'll be coming over the top and you will be severely wounded.

I don't like showing QQ when I fold because it encourages weak players who don't understand to steal from you but I can understand why you might in this situation. Be happy to "know" you were right without seeing the cards.

It depends is my answer on the 9T sooted, but I like that you trust your own judgement Culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Culchie wrote:
    I dunno was my QQ strong enough to re-raise with but I'm sure you'll give me advice on that:)

I was on the button dealt 9 10 spades. A shortstack of about 1200 went all-in, you could tell it was a last roll of the dice move by him, definitely Ace Rag move.
    So 1200 in pot, 600 in blinds behind me, and I'm sure it's Ace Rag from early position, I decide this is the moment to gamble, They was a couple of smug non-remarks from a couple at the table, but I'll await comment from the boards jury, if I made the right play in the circumstances.

Of course re-raise with QQ. Shur i like to re-raise with 77 against QQ :D
    . Good fold there anyway.

The smug non remarks move on the 9s10s, i know what you mean!, nothing wrong doing this from time to time. Whoever routinely folds here because "You dont know what the blinds would wake up with" has no courage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

For the QQ I think you could have gotten away with a flat call. In my opinion your raise to 1000 was only leading to her flat calling and then you being in a horrible position when the flop came down (unless there was a Q on it) or, as happened, she pushes and then you have to throw your cards away. Maybe if you had flat called and a rag flop came out you might have been forced to commit your stack, but I think I'd of flat called here and played it from there. (mind you I prefer the raise but I don't think you have the stack to min raise here, it's almost a push or nothing scenario)

For the second hand I quite like T9s although I think it would have been better if you were the first to act rather than pushing to isolate. With you being on the button you had time to wait for a better place to commit your chips, and while there is a chance of A rag from early position he could also be pushing with a lot of hands that have you in trouble. If he had KQs for example or JJ. I think you could have folded this one and waited for a better chance to gamble.

In saying that I don't think there's anything particularily wrong with either of the hands, and you did well to get away from the QQ losing as little as you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Hey Culchie, youmust've gone out just mins before me!

Played this last night too...finished about midnight...was playing ok until i was moved...had a nice win with pocket 9's for a full house, that brought me to about 8500 chips. Once I moved tables, i was up and down like a yoyo. Main reason being I was pretty card dead. Blinds were 400-800 when I was dealt pockets 9's in the SB. One caller everyone folds around to me, i limped (wrong move no.1). Big Blind Checked. Flop cam K 5 5. One overcard, BB checks and then Paddy, older guy bets 2K.
    It all went pear shaped from here. I knew I should've folded, but I've played this guy once or twice befre, and can be a bit of a chancer at times plus he had a pretty decent stack. Anywho I called his 2K, the BB folds.

Turn comes K 5 5 J. Paddy bets 2K again. My turn...two overcards to my pocket 9's, absolute fold...but no...I call again. River is a rag and I'm in deep doodoo. Paddy puts me all in for my remaining 3100, I could have held off and just folded there and caught a hand some way through the next orbit beginners silliness and my chips were in the middle. They didn't last in the middle too long when paddy flips over KJ.
    I was actually really annoyed at myself too, i swore that I wouldn't get married to any hands but low and behold!

Totally enjoyed the game overall though, was my first "Big" Game, and I'm pretty happy with how I played. Roll next thursdays freeroll i guess :D

11 people left I have 17,500, blinds are 1500/3000. The previous hand I went all-in, took the blinds. This time I have a real hand, pocket jacks. Move all-in again. Get called by the BB, think it was Mick, the old guy who plays mostly around the corner. Flips A5 and the rest is history. At least he had the courtesy to hit his ace on the flop.

One thing I have to mention which seemed unusual was the decision to go hand for hand after we got to 18. I haven't played the 270 in the last 2/3 months so I'm not sure if this a new idea. I would have thought going hand for hand in the lead up to 18 was the thing to do, so I had to scratch my head. It was a huge advantage to the big stacks because the blind clock was ticking, short stacks are under pressure, yet I can't play a hand because I'm waiting for the other table to finish up their hand. This could sometimes be a 2 or 3 minute wait if someone was having a big dwell up. Their were some complaints and the clock was stoped for a while but was put back on again. They said it was so the other table wouldn't play slow and everyone was playing the same amount of hands but as everyone was in the money, what is the advantage of playing slow? It made no sense to me and was a huge advantage to the big stacks. Anyone heard of this being done before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

11 people left I have 17,500, blinds are 1500/3000. The previous hand I went all-in, took the blinds. This time I have a real hand, pocket jacks. Move all-in again. Get called by the BB, think it was Mick, the old guy who plays mostly around the corner. Flips A5 and the rest is history. At least he had the courtesy to hit his ace on the flop.

One thing I have to mention which seemed unusual was the decision to go hand for hand after we got to 18. I haven't played the 270 in the last 2/3 months so I'm not sure if this a new idea. I would have thought going hand for hand in the lead up to 18 was the thing to do, so I had to scratch my head. It was a huge advantage to the big stacks because the blind clock was ticking, short stacks are under pressure, yet I can't play a hand because I'm waiting for the other table to finish up their hand. This could sometimes be a 2 or 3 minute wait if someone was having a big dwell up. Their were some complaints and the clock was stoped for a while but was put back on again. They said it was so the other table wouldn't play slow and everyone was playing the same amount of hands but as everyone was in the money, what is the advantage of playing slow? It made no sense to me and was a huge advantage to the big stacks. Anyone heard of this being done before?

Hand for hand is common practice in most tournaments. Even thw world series main event went hand for hand with nearly 600 players. If there are a lot of big delays because of this most tournament directors will reset the clock but not always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Culchie:

I think you lost the minimum with the queens.

As for the nine-ten suited, I really dislike this play. When you reraise all-in here, if you do get called behind, you are going to be in bad shape unless the caller is a madman. Very few players are going to call two all-ins without a big pair, queens is probably the minimum without any solid reads.

If nobody calls (which I gather was your intention) then you've isolated a shortstack's all-in (which is good), but you're almost guaranteed to be behind (which you knew you were, and which is very very bad).

Basically you have potentially put your whole stack at risk knowing that you are taking the worst of it.

Your stack is too small to willingly take the worst of it here. I think you are much better off waiting for a quality starting hand that you can be first into the pot with, or at the very least, if you are going to play suited connectors with that small a stack, try get into a multi-way pot cheaply - they just don't play well heads up against a player all-in.

Had the player who raised not been all-in, my answer would be different.

Shortstack wrote:
    Hand for hand is common practice in most tournaments. Even thw world series main event went hand for hand with nearly 600 players. If there are a lot of big delays because of this most tournament directors will reset the clock but not always.

I'm familar with the concept of hand for hand play, however I always thought it was done in the lead up to the bubble and then removed.

What is the point of doing it when everyone is in the money? I can see the logic when it is coming up to the bubble. However it was introduced after the bubble, I just can't see the reasoning behind it.

What purpose does it serve other than putting more pressure on short stacks? I think most people will agree that the play in the 270 can get very slow coming up to the bubble and once everyone is the money players usually drop like flies until the final table. With this in mind I think they got the introduction of hand for hand play backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I'm familar with the concept of hand for hand play, however I always thought it was done in the lead up to the bubble and then removed.

What is the point of doing it when everyone is in the money? I can see the logic when it is coming up to the bubble. However it was introduced after the bubble, I just can't see the reasoning behind it.

What purpose does it serve other than putting more pressure on short stacks? I think most people will agree that the play in the 270 can get very slow coming up to the bubble and once everyone is the money players usually drop like flies until the final table. With this in mind I think they got the introduction of hand for hand play backwards.

I shouldn't post replies when I have just woken up. My apologies Davey, this does seem a bit silly unless there was big jumps in payouts.

No probs Mike. As far as I can remember 18th - 11th paid (350), 10th (450) and 9th (700).

As you can see there was absolutely no point in trying to hang on, that's why I thought the decision made no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Marq wrote:
    Culchie:

I think you lost the minimum with the queens.

As for the nine-ten suited, I really dislike this play. When you reraise all-in here, if you do get called behind, you are going to be in bad shape unless the caller is a madman. Very few players are going to call two all-ins without a big pair, queens is probably the minimum without any solid reads.

If nobody calls (which I gather was your intention) then you've isolated a shortstack's all-in (which is good), but you're almost guaranteed to be behind (which you knew you were, and which is very very bad).

Basically you have potentially put your whole stack at risk knowing that you are taking the worst of it.

Your stack is too small to willingly take the worst of it here. I think you are much better off waiting for a quality starting hand that you can be first into the pot with, or at the very least, if you are going to play suited connectors with that small a stack, try get into a multi-way pot cheaply - they just don't play well heads up against a player all-in.

Had the player who raised not been all-in, my answer would be different.

Cheers Marq, I'm struggling to agree with you, but appreciate the food for thought anyway. There's no doubt I put them in absolutely knowing I was behind to Ace Rag, it's a pity the rag was the 10. Collecting the blinds (robbing) made the move attractive to me. Time was running out to make a move, I could have waited for a better hand, but very little guarantee I would get one.....Still, stuff to mull over.
    Oscar was at table, so will be interested what he thought, when he gets out of bed:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

its just a maths question. You know your hand is behind but does the dead money in the pot make calling profitable anyway, not forgeting to take into account the danger that open yourself to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Culchie wrote:
    Cheers Marq, I'm struggling to agree with you, but appreciate the food for thought anyway. There's no doubt I put them in absolutely knowing I was behind to Ace Rag, it's a pity the rag was the 10. Collecting the blinds (robbing) made the move attractive to me. Time was running out to make a move, I could have waited for a better hand, but very little guarantee I would get one.....Still, stuff to mull over.
    Oscar was at table, so will be interested what he thought, when he gets out of bed:)

You cannot "rob" the blinds. You have no folding equity because the hand is guaranteed to go to a showdown. When you put your opponent on Ax, you have to take into account that 'x' could easily be a nine or ten. Also, just because this player is shortstacked and desperate, that does not preclude him from waking up with a pair of nines or above.

I don't think it's simply a case of judging whether or not the pot odds are in your favour because when you call here you put a large proportion of your chips on the line. There's more to think about than pot odds when you're calling off a third of your stack with the worst of it. You still have ten times the big blind, so you're not entirely desperate just yet. Wait it out.

this is just my opinion. I'm not criticising your play - I wasn't at the table so I would not be aware of all the mitigating factors that might have pushed you towards a raise. But given the bare bones of the situation, I think it's a clear fold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I just got knocked out of Citywest with 53o in a semi interesting hand.

I cant really remember the 9Ts other than that you were shortstacked and decided that you were as you say getting decent odds against ace rag and you were unlucky that the rag was a ten