Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your best run of STTs??

• 24-10-2005 11:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

I was reading Amarus post about swings, and just thought Id post the latest events in my roller coaster poker journey

Last week i had one of my worst ever run of bad beats... I lost so many races it was ridiculous. It seemed I was getting into a lot of situations like AK Vs AJ, AJ Vs A9, KQ VS K9 etc etc etc...(I find these more annoying than getting top pairs cracked to be honest – and I lost a few of those as well) and I was losing at least 3 out of every 4. It was unreal... i didnt know what to do. I mean almost every MTT and STT I was in I was knocked out by one of these situations. By bankroll seriously depleted (and only still in existance due to one nice MTT money finish). I was getting very downhearted because I knew there was no way to fix it, other than keep doing the right thing.

Then, Saturday morning.. woke up severely hung over, with a splitting headache at about 9.00am.... Took some anadin, and started up the laptop.

"Don't do it jimmy, your tired, your hung over and you know you'll probably lose if you play"... but did I listen, of course not.

To my utter surprise, I not only played some great poker, but I seriously got the run of the cards. All those situations above just turned on there head... i was winning 3 out of every 4. I was hitting flops etc.

I went on to finish in the money in 15 STT's in a row :D .

Results follow:
    30+3 1st
    30+3 1st
    30+3 3rd
    50+5 3rd
    50+5 3rd
    30+3 1st
    30+3 1st
    30+3 1st
    30+3 1st
    30+3 3rd
    30+3 1st
    100+8 3rd
    30+3 1st
    30+3 3rd
    30+3 3rd
    50+5 4th

Prior to the 100 game, I had decided to quit the first time I missed the money....things to do, just didn’t want to go when in this rich vein of form.

Naturally …. Sunday was back to normal..... :(

This is by far my best run of STTs I have every come close to experiencing. Im pretty sure my record before this was probably 3 or 4 in a row. It is also the largest amount of cash I have won from poker.. other than MTT wins. Makes me think STTs are the way to go. (I'm off cash games for the last month - lost my way)

So.. just wondering… what was your best ever run of STT’s?????? Was this an unusual situation, or is there people doing this all the time... just not me:rolleyes:

And I wonder what are the longest run of 1sts.... I would say the four I got in the middle there is without a doubt mine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I didnt post this to blow my own trumpet ya know.... i would have liked some sort of response.... even the bad kind :D

maybe no body cares about STTs, maybe no body takes records and so doesnt remember runs. Maybe its just a load of bollox.......but 46 views and not a single response...

are ye trying to give me a complex ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

1st off i find a run of 15 cash finishes in a row extraordinary. Even the best of players would struggle to cash that many times in a row in low stake STTs (and when i say struggle thats a massive understatement!).

I think my best run was 6 in a row on PPP. $10 STTs. Only won 1 of those though :( 3x2nd and 2x3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

could have sworn I heard something around here :p

jimbling wrote:
    I didnt post this to blow my own trumpet ya know....

Had me fooled.

Not about your run though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

I don't know what my best run is, I'll have to check my files when I get home. certainly 15 is very impressive, at a guess I'd say 8-10 max in a row.

The key is to finish first though, I played 21 STT's the other day and only placed in 4 of them. Still managed to end up in profit though as I won all 4 of them :D

On average I'm placing in about 42% of my stt's overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Great run well done! Ive won 3 stts in a row a few times, never four.

hmmmm......I honestly did not think it was that big a deal - but those are the correct stats and are saved in my Pokerroom account.

There are people on here all the time talking about losing 15-20 STTs in a row... even the 'best' players. (saw that in a post today). Then why is it so hard to believe it went the other way?

Is it because I am not one of the 'best' players??

The Troll wrote:
    Had me fooled.

i dont think there's any need to be that snotty bud.... if ya dont' believe me fine.. no worries

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

off the top of my head it would be 3/4 wins in a row.I have placed in a long run off stts but as mentioned above you have to we winning them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

The Troll wrote:
    Had me fooled.

You are right troll, if you can't do it it obviously cant be done!

Good run Jimbling well done, I do not have my records here so I will have to wait till I get home. Even then I only have a few months records of individual stt's.

Dub13 wrote:
    off the top of my head it would be 3/4 wins in a row.I have placed in a long run off stts but as mentioned above you have to we winning them.

Thats the bottom line. 1st place pays 4.5 times the buy-in, so thats where you really need to be. THough 15 in a row, with finishes from 1st to 3rd is still impressive. I would say that must be close to a record for the stakes you were playing.

thanks guys.... I took out most of the money on sat evening... left about 330 in the account... think i got a bit overconfident (the 100+8 game is above both my BR and my ability me thinks)... and i was down to 42 when I was going to bed last night. :( oh the torture.

I know your all saying that places dont matter, but I disagree. Obviously the trick is winning the things, but if you are managing to place in the ones you'd normally be losing, then it seriously brings up your earnings for the day.....

also, the thing I was most happy about - other than the money;) - is that I won every single heads up battle I got involved in. Not a single second place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Just dragged up my records from last May, I knew there was some sort of great run I went on around then. Played 22 stts on betfair over 2 days, cashing in 16 of them, including 11 in a row, mainly £50s and £100s, including one £200 (which I won) and a £500 (which I came second in). Then realised this run couldn't go on for much longer and knowing myself too well withdrew it all so I wouldn't be able to afford any more of those £500s. Haven't won a hand on betfair since I don't think.

excellent.... and at much higher levels too. So Im not alone ;)

Daithio wrote:
    Just dragged up my records from last May, I knew there was some sort of great run I went on around then. Played 22 stts on betfair over 2 days, cashing in 16 of them, including 11 in a row, mainly £50s and £100s, including one £200 (which I won) and a £500 (which I came second in). Then realised this run couldn't go on for much longer and knowing myself too well withdrew it all so I wouldn't be able to afford any more of those £500s. Haven't won a hand on betfair since I don't think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I've finished ITM in 6 in a row (mainly $35+3 6-player STTs) and won 3 in a row earlier on this year. I've definitely finished out of the money in 10 or more in row this year as well, will have to look that up on my spreadsheet when I get home. When you have a run of bad beats, dead cards and a moderate amount of poor / unmotivated play, losing 10 in a row isn't very hard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I've won 4 in a row and finished out of the money in 16 in a row at the $25 level. I won 3 18 player sit & go's on stars at $15. Most ITM in a row 6. But I do tend to play very aggressive when on the bubble which results in a lot of 4th's & 1st's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

since i recently created an stt spreadsheet a few months back my best run in stt's has been this in the last month. very happy about it. early on my worst run was cashing just twice from 15 but since then its been fairly consistant.

Buyin reg place total

25 - 2.5 -1 -112.5
    10 - 1 -2 -27
    25 - 2.5 -4 -0
    25 - 2.5 -8 -0
    100 - 9 -3 -180
    25 - 2.5 -9 -0
    25 - 2.5 -2 -67.5
    10 - 1 -3 -27
    10 - 1 -1 -45
    25 - 2.5 -2 -67.5
    50 - 5 -5 -0
    25 - 2.5 -2 -67.5
    50 - 5 -3 -90
    25 - 2.5 -5 -0
    25 - 2.5 -8 -0
    25 - 2.5 -3 -45
    15 - 1.5 -1 -67.5
    10 - 1 -2 -27
    10 - 1 -1 -45
    10 - 1 -4 -0
    25 - 2.5 -9 -0
    15 - 1.5 -1 -67.5
    10 - 1 -1 -45
    25 - 2.5 -3 -45
    10 - 1 - 3 - 27
    25 - 2.5 -2 - 67.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

just checked the records there now.

Most Wins in a row 5 @ €25 level :D
    Most Money finishes in a row 10 :)
    Most OTM finishes in a row 19 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 paler

Very impressive run there Jimbling and with a hangover too :)

results for my last 16 50-5 SnGs on Party.

1st
    6th
    8th
    1st
    1st
    4th
    3rd
    1st
    5th
    7th
    1st
    1st
    2nd
    1st
    2nd
    7th

I'm tempted to stop playing them as I know it can only be downhill from here

I think the 50-5s on Party are pretty good value. Not much tougher than the 20-2s and ppl will lay down a hand.

phil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

When low on cash in my PokerStars account about six months ago I began playing $5 Sit & Gos and cashed in the first seven :D and went on to cash in 20 of 33 (that includes the 7). :):):)
    But I have a tendancy to keep playing and followed the reasonable run by 17 in a row out of the cash :mad: , one in the cash, and the next seven out of the cash (one of 25 in the cash) :mad: :mad: :mad: .
    All of the above except one were in $5 Sit & Gos.

My problem is I get up at 6 a.m. and usually go to bed at midnight (or later if I am in the Fitz or playing on PokerStars). This is not a recipe for playing your best poker. :confused:

Last week I got twelve hours sleep two nights in a row and and followed it by finishing 1st of 432 in a 30 FPP Tourney on PokerStars :) to get into a 3000 FPP the following evening where 188 played for two €4000 tickets to the EPT in the Merrion (I finished 25th).
    I have a thing about sleep. I don't get enough. I go a lot better fresh and have more interest in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

See my earlier post
    Finishing positions in $5 18 player Sit & Gos in February 2005

The good run is the first line - 4x1st; 8x2nd; 4x3rd; 4x4th; 13 out of money.
    The bad run (2nd line) was really bad - 1x2nd; 24 out of money. I should not have been playing.

I might try the 180 player Sit & Gos on PokerStars next weekend, although they are at 02:00 to 06:00 Irish time.

I kept a record in a Sit & Go recently of the number of minutes elapsed when each player was eliminated. It was amazing. First player out took about 12 minutes, second about 8 more, but players 15 down to 9 all went at about one minute intervals. :eek: Falling like flies at 75/150 level. If you keep your stack safe you should get to the final table.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

How do you keep these records lads? just personally done or by pokertracker etc?... this week i will keep track of my stt's and mtt's and i will post up by the end of the week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I use a great spreadsheet one of the board's long-time posters forwarded to me. Different sheets track MTT, STT and Cash results.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

cool , where can i find it?

a-k-47 wrote:
    cool , where can i find it?

ya.. he gave that to me as well... Ill see if I can find the original template...

okay.. i found the original spreadsheet. So if anyone is looking for it pm me with your email address and ill forward it on....