Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mini Z racing

• 18-10-2005 11:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭

for anyone looking to gettin to a cheaper side of rc racing. Members from my club are currently gettin together a new rc mini-z racing competition for the winter months on wednesday nights, venue is not 100% just yet but in order to suit those who already signed up i think they will be looking for a venue within 15 mins of the red cow area, if not the red cow itself.
    I am told a proper mini-z track is on the way and that they have a transponder system aswell. Basically the cars come in a pack and include radio gear. The lads are trying to keep the cars to the same spec with one spec engine so as to make it more even between drivers. Car they will be using and only using to keep it even is a kyosho mr-02 saloon bodies, these things retail from 200euro down so not all that bad a price compared to others. Only other thing u need are some batteries AAA size. We have a Kyosho dealer taking part in this and if anyone is interested i can past on his number if you would like to buy a car off him or just take part in the racing, if u want to source your own and simply race just give him a shout and give him your details so we can add u to the list of racers. I will try to answer any question myself if i can and will update with new info. This is going to happen 5 lads already got cars in so if u want in nows the time to ask about it.

http://www.kyosho.co.jp/web/products/car_bike/miniz/mr02/mr02_series/mr02-e.html

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

.....trying to keep the cars to the same spec with one spec engine so as to make it more even between drivers. Car they will be using and only using to keep it even is a kyosho mr-02 saloon bodies, these things retail from 200euro down so not all that bad a price compared to others.....

"Not a bad price" compared to who ?

The mini z is 1/27 scale at "under 200 euro" you say...
    BUT
    Xmods 1/28 scale are available at 69 euro from Green Hobby in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭mugenextreme

i dont know the current prices around for these things, all i was told is approx figure of around 200 for car with radio and a modifed kyosho motor was good. If i failed to mention in my last post you are more then welcome to come along with your own car which doesnt need to be bought here,just so long as the overall specs are the same its cool , if anyone wants the exact spec needed i can find out for them.

.... i was told is approx figure of around 200 for car with radio and a modifed kyosho motor was good. ....
    A reason for choosing electric over nitro is to reduce cost of racing. But the Kyosho - why pick it? It's a kinda expensive for basing a league on, seeing as other makes are 1/3rd the cost. The Mini Z is high spec, but 300% higher spec, I doubt.

Run another make and there wud be Eur 130 in ur back pocket for the next model, tyres, hols, beer.

To put it another way the five guys u mentioned spend euro200 each (on a mini z using your rough estimate) = that is euro 1000.
    But if they got xmods in eg www.greenhobbymodel.com or similar place like Model Centre/MarksModels/wherever, 5 x euro69 each = euro 345. That is euro 655 less.
    I think it makes sense to spend euro 655 less and still have a car to race with my pals. :)

Of course if the transponder and timing gear is included in the cost of the car then it's reasonable. But will u have to pay extra on the day for racing with the timing gear? :mad: U can get the transponder gear secondhand, if u need. ;)
    So my suggestion is that u check it out carefully make sure all is ok and u won't get ripped off in what sounds like a high cost league.

Best of luck with the new league.

Please let us (boards.ie) know the spec and venue/times cos I for one am interested. Maybe with an "xmod" or "home racer" - assuming they fit the spec. (should do since they are same size and cost less) . I'm sure others would be interested too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Tin-Top

Interested in the Mini-Z racing. Can you let me know the details and where I can buy one.

PM sent tin top

Its been a while since i updated this but finally things they tell me are ready to go. Heres a link to a club forum with the details for racing.

http://orcaireland.proboards46.com/index.cgi?board=electric

Any one is welcome to come have a look and chat to the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

coolwings wrote:
    U can get the transponder gear secondhand, if u need. ;)

Do you know of some timing gear for sale at the moment m8 ? I am on the lookout for some for our club. {1/10 electric} ;)

There were several (3-4) sets for private sale in the UK a couple of months ago.....clubs that didn't make it, I guess.
    A search should locate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭cutepape

As the title.. When I moved over here 2 years ago I was looking for a shop in Dublin that sold MiniZ... but noone did :(

Anyone got a clue where to buy in Dublin?
    There is a great Swedish site who has all the extras and add ons ( sooo fun with MiniZ ) Its like having a car... though you can almost fit it in your pocket.

the guys organising the racing sell the mini -z , from what i was told they should have some for sale on race nights. Could could check them out for prices and stuff. Dont know of any shops in dublin selling the Mini-z.

pic of the track under construction. I have a small video file but i need to find somewhere to host it before i can link it so u can see.

http://tinypic.com/iqcwg7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

that track looks pretty neat :-0
    Any room for a monster truck there:P JK

tallus wrote:
    that track looks pretty neat :-0
    Any room for a monster truck there:P JK
    Sure -- if you want a demolition derby ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

coolwings wrote:
    Sure -- if you want a demolition derby ;)

You'd just hit the barrier on one side and sail clear over the whole track, landing on the other side :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭astec123

www.putfile.com good place to host a file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭syl77

"pic of the track under construction. "

LHS in galway has same track retailing around 650 euros with cars retailing at roughly 100. It’s pretty cool in action.

"I have a small video file but I need to find somewhere to host it before I can link it so u can see."

If it’s under 2mbs, just change file extension to .gif and post here reminding people to change it back to its original extension before playing.

syl77 u got any idea of the track specs who makes it size etc.. i know these lads are thinking of adding to what they have. As for the car, price wise i sourced my one from HK and i couldnt get it for 100 so if they have the standard mini-z mr02 for 100 fair play to them good price.
    Dont think monster trucks would be any use tallus think u want to get working on that shrink ray or get a mini overland or the like. I tried putfile.com didnt work for me, file is a .mov file and is 11.8mb, working on getting it hosted elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭syl77

"syl77 u got any idea of the track specs who makes it size etc.."

not sure of the above....there website though has some info (mainly car prices)....Try calling!!.
    http://www.modelworld.tv

Will pass on the number to that website to the lads see what they make of it.
    Mini-z for 99 yoyos in that shop checked it on the kyosho website with the model number, they are mr01 models not what i had posted about earlier. Its the older version which is probably causing the difference in the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 theplanethobbys

I have a Hobby store here in Williamston, S.C. which is near Greenville where the BMW Auto plant is. I specialize in the Mini Z. I have a very large 40 x 30 RCP track that is a road course and a Tri-Oval speedway. We race the standard Mini Z on the road course and to race the tri-oval speedway, we take a Mini Z and add a carbon graphite chassis to it and aluminum wide rims with slicks. This makes the car about a 1/24 scale. The body that we use is a Lexan Nascar type body, so graphics and design is your choice. Adding ball bearings and hot motors, these puppys FLY!!
    Here is a link to my website , so you can see more.
    http://www.theplanethobbys.com
    Have fun looking around and if you come see us, you will be HOOKED for life:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

Hey are you in america? or am i just confused:confused: (confused i think) well this post sliped by me along time ago :( thanks for briging it back ;-) and i want a mini racer! :( and yeah only the homepage works on your website and if you put more time into that website (or get me) you could get it to look pretty nice :) i amnt too fond of it but hey it works and its simple ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 theplanethobbys

Yes! I am in America. The website needs help, but I am not much on HTML.
    I guess you can tell that??

yup but hey it doesnt need to be grat;) and we are all living in ireland here so it would be hard to buy from you ;-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

I picked up my first Mini/Z from firebox, they may still be on sale there. you won't get them in an irish LHS, i've had to source everything online.

re XMods - the reason they're 69 quid is that they're not fully propo, like the Z is. they also weigh a lot more than Z's. the Z's are more hobby grade, the Xmods are toy grade in comparison. A closer match would be the Iwaver clones. 4Wd miniz has also recently been launched. There was a review in this montsh RCCA regarding them.

I've had Z's since about 2001, I've about 3 (one isn't running) as well as a palm runner. I've spent over a grand on them, and now they're collecting dust on my shelf. Problem was, there was never any one to run 'em with... Sound familiar?

2 Espressi wrote:
    I picked up my first Mini/Z from firebox, they may still be on sale there. you won't get them in an irish LHS, i've had to source everything online.

There is a shop in galway call model sport ir model drive i think, they are kyosho dealers and they sell mini-z so i am told also the guys running the mini-z racing are kyosho dealers and do sell the kits and parts. If guys are interested in joining or checking it out i can supply u with a number got get details on the club.

it would be a great help if you could of converted them to a better more populer format as i needed an extra plug in to play it;) but wow the phone actualy does them justice they look faster with the speed blur from the camera:D i want them now, where / what time do you guy meet? for actualy 1/10 scale and is it nitro onroad oinly? waht if i could put some onraod tires on my buggy could i race with yas? i have lots a questions so will phaze them out:cool:

http://www.orcaireland.com/Cal%202006/18-02-06_1524.jpg

http://www.orcaireland.com/Cal%202006/18-02-06_1525.jpg

http://www.orcaireland.com/Cal%202006/18-02-06_1526.jpg

Heres a few pics from the podium of the track for the on road nitro, Dont know if the buggy would be suitable. one of the guys has a radar gun and clocked a few 1/10 cars at about 56-60mph in the wet on the main straight and thats with us letting off early because of the damp track.

Hey flunked check out the club website for the calendar , club and national days are what u want to see so good racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

3gp vids will play in quicktime with no extra plugins.
    class, you've got RCP's as well? I was looking at them but shipping over here is a killer! I would have been able to get a discout through mini-zracer.com and everything... But since there's no-one around Limerick to race, there's not much point.