Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rofl, Mofl, Falafel

• 18-10-2005 6:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭

What do you think about the use of terms such as LOL, ROFL, LMAO etc, taking into account the fact that 'txt spk' is banned (and rightly so).

Here's my thoughts:

LOL - I really doubt if you did actually laugh out loud - use :D - that's what it's there for isn't it?

ROFL - now I know you're lying

LMAO - physically impossible I'm afraid.

Should people stop using LOL, ROFL, LMAO etc? 129 votes

Yes, it is really f*cking annoying
    0% 0 votes
    NO, I'm in transition year and I'll use it if I want
    51% 67 votes
    Mama, don't let your babies grow up to be cowboys.
    48% 62 votes

They're commonly used every on the internet without complaint...........or at least they were until a few minutes ago.

They should stay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

You know what's really great. Polls where you can select every option.
    There's nothing wrong with lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

i agree, they should stay, its like a language of the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

/me ticks every box on the poll for the craic :D
    The poll is b0rked! LOL, ROFL, ROTFLMFAO, etc. hehe!
    Nathing wrong with a bit of lollerskating or roflcoperting tbh tbh!

BTW, where's the Atari Jaguar option?
    It's not an Official Boards.ie Poll unless there's an Atari Jaguar choice*
    That'd be my choice anyway :)

*may not actually be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Mortmain

I actually tried to have it so you could only pick one, but it just won't accept it - if any of themods can sort it, that would be most excellent.

P.S. "I LOL'ed" is just bad grammar - surely it should be "I L'edOL"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Laughing out loud to be honest mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Mortmain wrote:

P.S. "I LOL'ed" is just bad grammar - surely it should be "I L'edOL"?

LMAO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

20 votes from 11 voters

i demand a recount

transition year? what the deuce

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I know it shouldnt be, but acronyms are one of my pet peeves. I admit i use WTF on occasion (it seems to be the most useful) but it both confuses and amazes me when I see folk conducting enitre instant messenger coversations saying only the likes of "Hi! Wat u dng? Snds vg. LMGAOR! SAIP!". Yeah, those last two acronyms were made up, but you get the point.
    And now to use the best boards cliché of all:
    Down with this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Down with this sort of thing!
    Careful now, tbh!

lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

There's a difference between acronysms and txt spk tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I'd be able to put up with the odd "lol" if everybody took a lesson in the correct usage of "to be honest". It's used almost like a comma in posts all over boards.ie. It really gets my goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

Lodgepole wrote:
    I'd be able to put up with the odd "lol" if everybody took a lesson in the correct usage of "to be honest". It's used almost like a comma in posts all over boards.ie. It really gets my goat.

Ah, tbh, you're right, tbh.

EDIT: Well, someone had to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

ROFLMAO (i've a wireless keyboard :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

haha...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Never liked text speak or any of those little abbreviations... even on MSN i type "be right back" rather than its shorter form. That said... my phone cant send too long a message so i have to resort to it occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Dont see a problem with using those.Its only the over the top ,unessecary shortening down i dont like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Text speak is one thing and is annoying alright, but the likes of ROFL and LMAO are grand, that's like asking people not to use btw, or tbh or imho, they're way handier than typing out the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

Internet language is like slang. some ppl may not like it but most ppl are using it.

what on earth is this opption supposed to mean?
    Mama, don't let your babies grow up to be cowboys.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

These expressions are perfectly acceptable.Some people think thaty they are for idiots and/or they are too cool to use them.Nonsense.
    'If I see a post with lol in it I don't even read it'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Simple Simon

It should stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Please take a serving of roflobster, with a side of lmaonaise. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

I like 'em. You only get n00bs who overuse the ****e out of 'em.

I lolled way too much already with the posts in this thread.

Hahaha... roflobster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

they're very handy, really good for playing poker online, its 90% txt spk , with quite an extensive vocabulary of its own , long live this finger saving typing stuff tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I rekon we should change the usage of the abbreviations from lol and rofl to lolerbeans/lolercoaster and roflcopter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

I'm fine with them; I don't really care if the person really isn't laughing out loud or whatnot - it just shows that the comment was funny. No harm in it, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

You should write them as a pronounceable word!

ROFL becomes ROFFLE.
    ROFLMAO becomes ROFFLE MAYO.
    TBH becomes TABOOHA.

... and so on...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

ROTFLMAO @ This thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

my sister and her friend actually SAY "roffl" when they think something is funny.
    i think thats wierd.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Femmy wrote:
    my sister and her friend actually SAY "roffl" when they think something is funny.
    i think thats wierd.
    Ok that is weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Bungalow Bill

I really hate it when people quote someone and then just say "tbh":mad:

Or they'll put up one of those card things and say "tbh":mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Chris P Duck

Ooooohhh this is a close poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

I don't think there's any harm in it unless it's used excessively. Abbreviating every word you say, though? That gets irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I dont see any problem with it really, there just chat/internet abbreviations and there used in their right context. Personally I dont use LOL or ROFL that much and just revert to ha ha!! There grand once they're not used in normal conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

ROFL is fine. Making a word out of it such as 'Roffle' is just pure nerdy.

My pet hate as mentioned by somebody earlier is the nerdism of posting one or two words followed by "tbh" in the hope that it will be be interpreted as witty and cutting and will mark the poster out as an uber-dork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I've no aversion to the odd acronym. Text speak on the other hand is one of my pet hates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Bard wrote:
    You should write them as a pronounceable word!

ROFL becomes ROFFLE.
    ROFLMAO becomes ROFFLE MAYO.
    TBH becomes TABOOHA.

... and so on...
    Hmmm, roffle I agree with... or perhaps roffel.
    roflmao I'd say more as roh-fel-mao
    'tbh' sounds in my head more like tuh-buh-huh all mashed together and said as a single syllable... (yes, anything is possible in my head tbh.)

This reminds me of that Quake3 tutorial the lads on Quake.ie made ... had a picture of some nerds with speach bubbles saying "LOL!" .... that cracked me up, I'd love to see those pics again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Mortmain wrote:
    What do you think about the use of terms such as LOL, ROFL, LMAO etc, taking into account the fact that 'txt spk' is banned (and rightly so).

Here's my thoughts:

LOL - I really doubt if you did actually laugh out loud - use :D - that's what it's there for isn't it?

ROFL - now I know you're lying

LMAO - physically impossible I'm afraid.

erm, stfu tbh

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

I've got voice recognition cos i don't like to type and i'm a lazy bum...
    LOL i have covered. i just say Loll as in loll-e-pop...

but how do you say tbh?

tibeh tibeh tibeh!!

i give up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

It's stupid but funny at the same time. I overuse it in poker games to get people angry, by lolling excessively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

it gets a bit head wreckin when ur tryin to read some1s post and its all abbreviations, but the odd abbreviation is grand

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Lets just post appreviations all the time. Imagine how much time it would save typing : HHAUHTFWMYS instead of "Hello! How Are You? Hows the form? Wheres my sandwhich?" It could take time to get used too, but messages could be cut down by up to 90%!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

...typing : HHAUHTFWMYS instead of "Hello! How Are You? Hows the form? Wheres my sandwhich?" ...

IAIWSFBAANC.

(I ate it with some fava beans and a nice chianti)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i see no problem with it. I now spell phone 'fone' I cant help it its habit Ive even sent an email to a customer one day spelt like that but who cares once peopel know what you mean it shouldnt matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

I really hate it when people quote someone and then just say "tbh":mad:

Or they'll put up one of those card things and say "tbh":mad:
    ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

There have been times when I have laughed out loud at something I've read and wished that I hadn't used LOL for silent laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

NotMe wrote:
    ^^

pld gg tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Kerplunk

C*nts who use SMS slang are worse IMO.