Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supposed New wave of fake sign in emails

• 14-10-2005 12:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭

By the way, I say "supposed" because it was supposed to be a new wave or a new thing according to RTE new the other day. I have been seeing them for over a year.

You get an email advising you that there is a problem with your account (online bank, credit card, eBay account, email address and so on) and if you click on this link you can sign in and fix it. But your login into a hackers server and they log you details and then use it to ripp you off.

I suppose most of you have heard of them or received some.
    The 1st of these I got was ages ago and it was for Halifax, then barleys and they some other English bank, when I saw what they were I tried emailing Halifax but got no reply from them so I gave up after 3 emails.
    Anyways, They are starting to get on my nerves. Just got one for eBay, copped what it was straight away cause they send them in a screenshot instead of an actual html page.

Anyone know who I should be emailing about them?? Garda? or some other organisation? these people are really starting to rip ppl off.
    Originally I ignored them cause I saw it was a trick but they are starting to get serious if what RTE reported was right and ppl have lost €1000's if not more.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Soundman

Presume the guards over here have some sort of Fraud division that you could try though I know EBay have an email address that you forward the fake EBay emails to and they take it from there as they can get relevant information from the email data. Their address should be somewhere in your account section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Are you kidding a garda fraud division? :) Well they might have one but i dont know how well its operated. I have had several emails over the past year from different banks across the world, claiming i had an account that needed verifying, as if i was going to verify an account i knew i hadnt got. Call the real bricks and mortar bank, or whatever and let them know you are getting these emails. Email paypal or ebay if you are getting them from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

There may be a new wave of scams but it's still the same morons getting caught by them...........

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Blub2k4 wrote:
    There may be a new wave of scams but it's still the same morons getting caught by them...........

So very true :)
    Its like the muppets that always download the randomimage.jpg.exe,
    These people need a slap with a big stick!

As for garda fraud division & reporting phishing e-mails to them, thats some classic stuff :D
    Maybe print the e-mails off including the headers and bring the print-outs to the local station, I'm sure they'll get right on it :p

If your looking after PC's belong to people that might fall for such scams, may I suggest you install a anti-phishing toolbar like the one netcraft offers - http://toolbar.netcraft.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

I'm only gagging to get on the internet everyday and find myself some magic beans..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

RTE News. More like RTE Olds. Where have they been hibernating? This whole Eentirnit jabbie is still way too modrin to keep up to date.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Cabaal wrote:
    As for garda fraud division & reporting phishing e-mails to them, thats some classic stuff :D
    Maybe print the e-mails off including the headers and bring the print-outs to the local station, I'm sure they'll get right on it :p
    lol
    Thats the reason I was going on about a specific devision or some organisation that deals with internet fraud.

If there is not some way to report stuff like this, why the hell not??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Yeah I've had a fake phish mail from "PayPal" every day for the last 2-3 weeks....the URL is well disguised but it eventually leads you to some random server...the thing is I thing this rip-off crew have somehow hacked innocent servers and are using them, as each URL leads to a different name/domain....I clicked the link a few times and most of the time the connection is refused (must have been caught out) but once or twice it goes to a pretty impressive compy of paypal's site. I haven't bothered contacting paypal as I assume they're aware of the problem.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Yeah, I've got a few ebay and paypal ones, I could have almost fallen for the Paypal ones, they said my card was expiring, and it actually was, but 2 of my brain cells teamed up and and managed to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Wertz wrote:
    I haven't bothered contacting paypal as I assume they're aware of the problem.
    They know phishing goes on but don't know the servers involved - this is where you come in.
    Forward the mail, with full headers, and the URL involved (because it may not be in the quoted text) to spoof@paypal.com. For eBay phishing: spoof@ebay.com.

PayPal's "How to spot a spoof email": https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/general/SecuritySpoof-outside
    eBay: http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter/?ssPageName=home:f:f:US

If the fake link has a server name, and you have time on your hands, you could try see who hosts it (nslookup/whois etc) and report it to them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Wertz wrote:
    ....I clicked the link a few times and most of the time the connection is refused (must have been caught out) but once or twice it goes to a pretty impressive compy of paypal's site.
    I have to say, that the sites they have made are very very close to the real thing. I think that it could become a real problem for your average muppet who does not think before giving out their into or before something suspect crosses their screen

2 many muppets