Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your Target?

• 13-10-2005 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi guys i know this may sound stupid but hey im not called blahblah for nothing.

Well basically my target on PPP is 5 Euro a day which turns out to be what 150 euro a month ? I only play the 1 dollar STT 1v1 games. The reason for this is because i can only afford to lose that amount. But sometimes i got crazy and step it up to 2 dollars then lose it sucks.

So whats your targets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Get ready for some replies saying that you shouldn't set targets, which is good advice, you should keep on playing when you think you are playing well and stop when you find you're not on form.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Actually, while I think session targets (and to an extent daily targets also) are an awful idea, I don't consider long-term monetary goals to be in any way as bad. because poker is my only source of income, I aim to cash out a certain amount each week, from neteller to my bank account, because I need it to live. I don't, however, stop playing when I make that amount each week. that would be an awful way to approach playing poker for a living. I assume the OP in aiming for 5 dollars a day would not stop playing once he had made 5 dollars, because he knows that on certain days he will be not make 5 dollars (sorry to break it to you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

baby ur making me feel old.

this is an old thread question.

some guys go for big tickets and prirzes. i respect that.

some go for small wins and i respect that.

for me its a job. a boring grind interspersed by cheap tickets for good games.

so my specific goal is 1500 a month

i made twice that last December. i lost money in Jaunuary and February. I made it in March, April,May, June, July. I lost in August. I broke even in September. just. i'm up about 6 grand for the year which works out at about 10 quid an hour. slightly more than minimum wage but nothing to crow about.

so why am i being honest? because i'm one of the best i've come across and i still can't beat the variance. last night i slow played four aces into a rivered royal flush. i'm not whinging about it, i'm just saying that baby it happens all the time.

only a half dozen get by in this country and don't believe the bull****tters who say otherwise.
    which isn't to say that we won't have 3 world class players from this site in the next few years.
    i'm just saying that don't let the game break your heart. enjoy ur life, play within the LIMITS you can afford and eventually, if ur good enough, things will come to pass.

i'me drunk btw. but that doesnt mean that every word i write isnt gold dust baby., pure gold dust!

goodluck man, but stay within ur means and give ur self a monthly pacing, certainly no less.

btw, this is only well typed coz i reread it. man it looked bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Tackle

My target is +€2000 a week. I moved up to 1/2 a few weeks ago and the last two weeks I finished up €1130 and €1775 respectively. I think this week will be a good bit higher as I finally adjusted properly to the new level mid-way through last week and averaged €350 p/day for the last three days of it. I started this week, today, with a €450 profit so I expect to end up somewhere between €2000 and €2500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Quote-
    only a half dozen get by in this country and don't believe the bull****tters who say otherwise.
    which isn't to say that we won't have 3 world class players from this site in the next few years.
    i'm just saying that don't let the game break your heart. enjoy ur life, play within the LIMITS you can afford and eventually, if ur good enough, things will come to pass.

I disagree that only half a dozen get by, I don't know how many there are but that's cause there are lots of online players you just don't get to know about. For example a friend of mine from Dublin plays online cash games for a living now, pulls in lots, had a $50k week there in mid August, but you guys wouldn't know him from Adam cause like many he couldn't be bothered playing cash games in town.

But it is hard no doubt about it, and it's a fundamentally stupid, unhealthy, and asocial way to make a living and spend one's time beyond being a hobby. generally speaking anyone who can make good money playing poker could make similar or better money doing something else.

Targets are an interesting question because many players fool themselves into thinking that they play for money when in fact they don't win any significant money. Most players *really* play for fun, for the challenge, to relieve boredom, to relieve stress, to relieve lonliness. But it is the nature of poker that one has to fool oneself into believing that one is really playing for the money (or to improve to win money in the future) otherwise it's difficult to keep up any enthusiasm for it.

I fully endorse the the last sentence in the quote from Mr Farrell.

Ps well done Tackle, takes me back to the days I used to play sensibly at 1/2, sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

hotspur wrote:
    generally speaking anyone who can make good money playing poker could make similar or better money doing something else.

I hear this a lot but I dont think its true, at the moment anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Well for me I don't set targets other than aiming to be up all the time. I'd have no interest in taking it up as a fulltime career, as I'd have no interest in taking on that kind of risk where your life can change on the turn of a card.

Plus i get paid a fat salary that I'm not prepared to give up.

It's good fun and an enjoyable came to play at all levels, but i wouldnt go any further than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

my target is to for the girls in the fitz to know my drink. i dont want them saying "anybody like a drink" as usual i want them to just know it and bring it without having to ask. i was nearly at that stage in the mayfair before they closed down. now i have to start over again :rolleyes: .
    tea, no sugar and just a little bit of milk btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I just want to play well. Make or try to make the right decisions, and the rest should look after itself.

Dreams ... I'd love to play in a big EPT event. I have my eye on Irish Open next year as a goal, and am saving bankroll for that.

I have no inclination to play cash games, the variance does not fit well with my personality methinks. Therefore, I'll never be able to 'make a living' from Poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

I'm similar to Culchie here. I play for enjoyment and any targets I have are more on the ambition side of things. I love the buzz of playing in big live tourneys and therefore try to earn the buy ins from regular play. As a husband and father of 4 playing out of the household budget is not acceptable, so soon after I started out I created a "poker account" where all winnings go and this funds me when I want to play in these events. I take the buy in and all associated expenses out of this. Luckily, so far I'm keeping my head above water and the account also paid for the family holiday this year, so she who must be kept sweet is happy enough. Also, as others have said, when you're on form and playing well keep at it and learn to recognise when you're out of touch and take a break.

Ps well done Tackle, takes me back to the days I used to play sensibly at 1/2, sigh.

ty
    hotspur wrote:
    But it is hard no doubt about it, and it's a fundamentally stupid, unhealthy, and asocial way to make a living and spend one's time beyond being a hobby.

True, when you're playing the lower limits but at 1/2 I'm playing a lot less. I've loads of flexible free time now, exercise every other day and can head out any night of the week at the drop of a hat. It's actually a great lifestyle, imo, when you progress beyond the lower limits.

Tackle,

hope don't you mind me asking, what age are you, and how long have you been playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

wow tackle thats very impressive money mate well done. I cant even get 5 dollars LOL i must stop playing the STT and move onto the MTT ?

ty blahblah.
    Culchie wrote:
    hope don't you mind me asking, what age are you, and how long have you been playing?

I'm 25, my brother got me into poker, he was always watching, playing and then he started dealing. I started playing sometime around march or april.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

my target, is to get enough for various big bills during the year, i.e. hols, xmas, plasma etcc...

Playing full time to me would become too boaring, 1-2 hours a night to pay a few bills like this is not that difficult..

The only comment i could make is to build good amounts, risks need to be taken at times, i.e. 25% of bankroll instead of the usual 5%..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

Thats some return you have going for such a short time in poker, well done! I'm interested to know where you find the most profit i.e. what game type NL holden, omaha etc?

All the best
    Shay

interested myself cause i cant seem to earn 5 dollars a day and ur getting 1000 plus a month for playin the tables..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

The amount of people out there who say u cant make decent money from poker, pretty much equals the amount of people claiming to be making fortunes as far as i can tell. Imo, you can make money from playing a good solid game on the net.
    Playing the right types of games, using discipline etc, are key factors in this.
    Putting a high percentage of your bankroll is play is a receipe for disaster.
    I started playing poker about 1 year ago, just for fun, i was a complete fish, i lost about 6 grand in my first 6 months playing, i enjoyed it, i thought i was good, but i wasnt really. I also thought, no way someone can make consistently good money at this, its a lot of luck really.
    I had 2 choices , give up, or give it a proper go, i chose the later, i have read akmost every blog, forum, book u can get, i keep detailed notes, i work on my game. The results started to come, i got myself back to break even by mid June of this year.
    In July i set up a new account on betfair, in the last 4 months i have made 18 grand playing 2/5 NL cash, and £90 / £120 6pacs, along with mulitis. I also now play live, but have never won anything in this sphere, thats my next challenge.
    I continually make mistakes, and learn on a daily basis, even know i would say ive learnt a lot from compared to 1 month ago. I think the complexities of this game go over a lot of peoples heads.
    I started a blog a few weeks ago, i find this helps me , to write down various thought processes, and it gets me thinking about key hands after they have happened. It also helps me not to tilt, and stay disciplined in my game.
    I still work, in fact i got a decent job, im financial controller of a large company, i play in the evenings and at weekends, so to all you doubters, it can be done.
    www.norwichfan.blogspot.com

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Always good to hear the success stories. I tend to drift in and out of regular play at the moment. About 2 years ago I would have been playing .50/1 or 1/2 NLH and did ok but I didn't really have a game plan. By that I mean, keeping notes on players, recording hands, pokertracker etc. and so on. A couple of years later and I have very little money in any account. I think I can handle reasonably high limits but I am not willing to throw €1000 into my account to find out. So I play small and as far as I am concerned playing small will not build a bankroll. Well I don't think it will. So either you stump up the cash or you get lucky in an affordable MTT to get a bankroll.
    I wonder how many folks here making good money started small or did they lodge a big wad and play the bigger limits right from the get go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

musician wrote:
    Always good to hear the success stories. I tend to drift in and out of regular play at the moment. About 2 years ago I would have been playing .50/1 or 1/2 NLH and did ok but I didn't really have a game plan. By that I mean, keeping notes on players, recording hands, pokertracker etc. and so on. A couple of years later and I have very little money in any account. I think I can handle reasonably high limits but I am not willing to throw €1000 into my account to find out. So I play small and as far as I am concerned playing small will not build a bankroll. Well I don't think it will. So either you stump up the cash or you get lucky in an affordable MTT to get a bankroll.
    I wonder how many folks here making good money started small or did they lodge a big wad and play the bigger limits right from the get go.

I jumpstarted my bankroll after I got back from Vegas with a 200euro lodgement to a Tribeca site, had enough for one buyin into 1/2 NL shorthanded and while grinding with that played the guaranteed rebuy and FO tourneys with the winnings, got up to 2k and withdrew 1k 3 times before going bust - started playing badly, too many rebuys etc and 5 buyins to the 1/2 was never going to be enough for a bad streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I think it's better to jumpstart a BR with a reasonable deposit of a couple of hundred. Even with that you'll be playing the smaller tables until you work it up.
    At the moment I've got a couple of hundred for Omaha on PS, and a couple of hundred clearing a bonus on Aboslute.

edit on my first post (oh man why do i type when i get back from the pub...)

i don't make 10 dollars an hour. It works out this year at between 3 and 5 dollars an hour. (i think, 100 hours a month, up about 6 grand...) now thats some serious bread! almost half the minimum wage!

there are probably dozens making good money in Ireland but I personally only know about 5 who are making more than 50 grand, which is really what u need to make to call it a worthwhile career. however i do know dozens who are losing cash! ;)

I moved away from grinding away at low limit tables and stts and up to expensive rebuy mtts and bigger cash games at the start of August and in two weeks lost a grand and after 6 weeks was down 2 grand. happy days! i also crashed my car into a taxi and found myself severely short in the pockets.

then, last month, i got lucky in a couple of mtts and went back to the 10 dollar stts and 5 cent pot limit omaha. where i currently now reside, making a profit and boring myself stupid.

I will be cutting down the hours soon due to work committments so either I get a win big enough to pay for some tickets into interesting games or I will be sticking to 3 dollar entries into sats for life!

good luck boys and girls, see u in the 3 dollar tournies!

d.

shaydy wrote:
    Thats some return you have going for such a short time in poker, well done! I'm interested to know where you find the most profit i.e. what game type NL holden, omaha etc?

NL cash is the only poker I play. Currently running at €450 and €430(started with a $160 downswing) for the last two days for about 9 hours play in total on two (sometimes 3) tables. I don't leave a session in the red. If it means putting in a whole day the whole day at poker because of a very bad run early on, which doesn't happen often, i'll do it. I haven't had a loosing day in a few weeks. I'd count +$150 as a bad day now.
    musician wrote:
    Shay

I made three lodgements of $50, $50 and $100 before I started winning at $5 stts. Then I moved to $10 stts, and then .10/.20 and .25/.50 NL cash games. I was doing alright at them but I got ahead of myself and ended up loosing a few quid at .50/1. I knew I could make decent cash at poker, but I also knew I hadn't got the experience, the bankroll or the temperament yet so I moved back to .25/.50 when I started playing full time. .25/.50 is where I did most of my experimenting with different styles/levels of aggression. I thought I knew alot about poker after playing that level for a while but I was still quite naive.
    Gradually worked my way up to .50/1 and then on to 1/2 improving all the time. I've really noticed a serious improvement in the last few weeks. Don't tilt at all anymore, even after loosing a few hundred to bad beats, I'll keep the head and finish in the black. I expect to move to 2/4 in the next few weeks but I might have to leave PPP, which I don't want to do, because the player base seems too small at that level.

Tackle posted:
    I don't leave a session in the red. If it means putting in a whole day the whole day at poker because of a very bad run early on, which doesn't happen often, i'll do it. I haven't had a loosing day in a few weeks.

well done Tackle. can i ask how long you have been playing?

Thats not a great idea Tackle, effectively what you are doing is using a modified version of the Martinggale syststem with the added bonus that your system is designed so that you play longer the worse you are playing. If you keep it up you will eventually lose your BR in one session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Doc, I'm also pretty much in the same boat as you, was going fine for about a year or so and had a few k built up in my BR, after about $300 worth of deposits during my fishy days, but then I had to withdraw all but a few hundred and moved down the levels, and lost interest at those levels when things weren't going my way, I was trying moves that I shouldn't really be doing at these levels, they just don't work, and ABC poker got so boring after a while.

But after a bit I really started to miss it, so I decided a few months ago to give it another proper go and try and re-build my BR at the low levels, and move up with my BR, but it's taking alot longer than I remember in the past.... :mad: :mad:

I'd love to give it a shot and go pro, but I have a good job and TBH don't think I'm quite at the level needed to go pro so I'm just the same as alot of the posters here and keep Poker as a nice enjoyable hobby, I never really cashout, I just use poker as a safety net should anything unexpectedly big come up.... I try and live within my means and not rely on Poker at all, very boring ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

aidankk wrote:
    The only comment i could make is to build good amounts, risks need to be taken at times, i.e. 25% of bankroll instead of the usual 5%..

I honestly believe this is the most dumbass piece of advice I ve ever seen on this board.

If you are taking the theme of this thread seriously then risking 25% of your BR is plain fecking stupid.

It is bad advice.

I don't have a BR as I play for fun and use the money I used to spend on booze. However if I ever begin seriously playing cash games then I know I'll have to take money management seriously.

That is bad man......

well steo i think ur doing the right thing. and if at the end of the year u find urself a dollar in profit then ur still in the top 10% of players!

Thats not a great idea Tackle, effectively what you are doing is using a modified version of the Martinggale syststem with the added bonus that your system is designed so that you play longer the worse you are playing. If you keep it up you will eventually lose your BR in one session.

Heheh, I said it doesn't happen often, only once in the last three weeks have I put in an actual whole day on it, Saturday two weeks ago when I had a terrible start. Must have put in 15 hours to come out with a decent profit, serious headache the next day though. I could never loose my BR in one session because I don't move up levels and I don't really tilt anymore. I often have downswings of $200 to $300 but I can pull it back without too much bother in less than 8 hours.
    I average about 6-7 hours a day but lately I've been playing even less.

I think its a good idea to be able to play for a few hours and be happy that you played well, regardless of the outcome. Mason Malmuth and others specifically warn against extending sessions to get back in profit, you are far better off playing for longer when you are winning allthough the natural action is to get lazy and stop.

I take it you dont have a job tackle? have you ever thought about in the long run what you will do ?

I haven't given much consideration to the long run blahblah. I'm trying to get a band going but that's not really a rock solid career either is it. Lol, the girlfriend was getting on to me about it last week. The conversation went like this:

Her: "Tackle, do you not realise you're 25, when are you going to going to get a real job?"
    Me: "I have a real job"
    Her: "Well, what would you be if you weren't a poker player?"
    Me: "I don't know, Rock n' roll star?"
    Her: "Forget it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

How mny of us are willing to risk that big score when it comes to choosing between entering a big comp/ bankroll for cash games vs the realities of having to pay a bill off with the winnings.

In My short career I have had quite a few ' Big cashes ' by which I mean over €3k and without tilting it off I still do not have a decent poker bankroll.

There will be more than 3 big winners from this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

BigDragon wrote:
    I honestly believe this is the most dumbass piece of advice I ve ever seen on this board.

If you are taking the theme of this thread seriously then risking 25% of your BR is plain fecking stupid.

It is bad advice.

I don't have a BR as I play for fun and use the money I used to spend on booze. However if I ever begin seriously playing cash games then I know I'll have to take money management seriously.

That is bad man......

this has worked for me on a number of occasions this year. ok you can loose but the time you can win big, more than makes up for it.. Not for everyone i agree...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

if you have too much of your br in play in any one session, u cannot play optimally, as u will naturally fear losing the lot in one hand. You can only play good poker if u are totally fearless of losing your roll in my opinion. (and that doesnt mean being reckless, fearless and reckless are different animals altogether)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Tackle wrote:
    Her: "Tackle, do you not realise you're 25, when are you going to going to get a real job?"
    Me: "I have a real job"
    Her: "Well, what would you be if you weren't a poker player?"
    Me: "I don't know, Rock n' roll star?"
    Her: "Forget it"

The most disturbing thing about that story is that your girlfriend calls you "Tackle".. :D. I don't want to know why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I think the number of people living off poker in this country is more likely to be a couple of hundred some of them have been doing it for over a decade. Many of them keep a very low profile. There are irish players playing very serious cash games online (and I mean the tables that you and I can't get into to view) who have never had a big cash in a tournament so you never hear about them. There are 10 players minimum who post in the forum who are either playing full time could if they either wanted to or didn't have other commitments, and several have the potential to be top players on the EPT.

I started this year by clearing my credit card and making a $400 deposit on Pokerstars and my aim was to never have to redeposit again, and I mean never ever. Luckily I've managed to get my profits up to over 10K for the year playing part time and my online bankroll is pretty healthy. I consider myself to be a very very average player with a lot to learn so if I can make 5 figures a year part time I can only imagine what better players can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

aidankk wrote:
    this has worked for me on a number of occasions this year. ok you can loose but the time you can win big, more than makes up for it.. Not for everyone i agree...
    The only time i think you should ever do that is on very low stakes. You can hardly take 25% of your BR and go to a $5/$10 table and feel secure enough to play your game to your best. I have to admit that on occasions i have decided for the hell of it to take my entire BR to a higher table (normally a BR in an account i dont care too much for so i dont fear loosing it) and sometimes i loose it all, sometimes i multiply it by 3 or 4 but i certainly would never advise another player to do this as i know it is dangerous and stupid. Thats just me talkin anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Nalced_irl wrote:
    The only time i think you should ever do that is on very low stakes. You can hardly take 25% of your BR and go to a $5/$10 table and feel secure enough to play your game to your best. I have to admit that on occasions i have decided for the hell of it to take my entire BR to a higher table (normally a BR in an account i dont care too much for so i dont fear loosing it) and sometimes i loose it all, sometimes i multiply it by 3 or 4 but i certainly would never advise another player to do this as i know it is dangerous and stupid. Thats just me talkin anyway :)
    The only time you should put 25% of you BR on the table is if it's an amount you could comfortably lodge again should you lose it.

You also talk about having different BR's in different accounts. I count the money in all my accounts together as my bankroll. I treat live play slightly differently because I play so seldom but if I ever I start playing live regularly i'll be combining both my online and live monies to form a BR.

As for me and my targets I have broken even early this year after 6 or 7 months learning curve last year where I was down about 600. I'm up a few grand for the year but i've only recently withdrawn anything of note from that.

I work my targets on a monthly basis and as I play as a hobby (although I do play a lot), as long as my game is improving and my figures are positive at the end of the month then i'm happy.

My next step is to get a bit more serious about it and really analyse my play. My tournament game is coming together now and i've had 3 or 4 decent cashes in the last 2 months. My cash game seems to have suffered though and that was where I turned my results around so that needs some work now.

I'm also enjoying messing around with different games and once I get a little more experience with them i'll be reading up on all the mistakes i've been making :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Imposter wrote:
    The only time you should put 25% of you BR on the table is if it's an amount you could comfortably lodge again should you lose it.

You also talk about having different BR's in different accounts. I count the money in all my accounts together as my bankroll. I treat live play slightly differently because I play so seldom but if I ever I start playing live regularly i'll be combining both my online and live monies to form a BR.
    QUOTE]
    AS do i but i mean if i have just $10 in an account for example, im not going to go to the 5c/10c tables and try and work a decent total from there. Instead i would bring it all to a 25c/50c and if i loose it then i wont mind too much but hope to treble it or better and over time build it up to a decent amount. Of course i could deposit more on top of it and not risk 100% of it but i dont like depositing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

there are probably dozens making good money in Ireland but I personally only know about 5 who are making more than 50 grand, which is really what u need to make to call it a worthwhile career.

It doesn't change your fundamental point but i'd disagree that you'd need to make 50k to call it a worthwhile career, considering that such an income would translate into a gross pay of roughly 75k in the real world, which is more than worthwhile.

I'd consider it worth an individuals time to go full-time if he could be fairly sure of making 25k, while putting in reasonable hours. Of course a marked benefit on the real world is that one's remuneration increases directly in line with one's competence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Tackle wrote:
    I've really noticed a serious improvement in the last few weeks. Don't tilt at all anymore, even after loosing a few hundred to bad beats, I'll keep the head and finish in the black. I expect to move to 2/4 in the next few weeks but I might have to leave PPP, which I don't want to do, because the player base seems too small at that level.

Are you sure about moving up to 2/4 NL Tackle? It doesn't sound like you've been playing 1/2 all that long, and if you're beating that for good money why not stick there for a while? The absolute without shadow of a doubt biggest mistake players make is moving up too fast. The good sensible players continue playing at the level they are making money at consistently until it is obvious that they can move up, and have built up the bankroll to be wrong about it. Multitabling on 2/4 means having thousands in front of you all the time, and it is more difficult than 1/2 which in my opinion is 80-90% populated by players who haven't a clue how to play the game. Be sure you have the roll to not worry about dropping 4 figures in an hour. If you have the roll though I recommend 3/6 Nl on Pokerstars as the juiciest game in which it is actually very easy to double and treble up your 600 buy in without hitting miracles. The best of luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I read most of the stuff of boards and part of me is envious of the fulltimers but part of me sighs with relief that i simply cannot afford a "bankroll" of more than 15 euro.

this forum has turned me into a bit of a grinder....and i only play for very small amounts...2/4c real money or MTT/STT for 10-50c. lol

I target making $1.50 a day :o:)

You are doing right Ruggie.

Keep an eye out for the best freerolls, I started on Betfair (back there now) and the freerolls used to pay quite handsomely and it can help boost your bankroll.

Culchie wrote:
    You are doing right Ruggie.

Keep an eye out for the best freerolls, I started on Betfair (back there now) and the freerolls used to pay quite handsomely and it can help boost your bankroll.

might have a gander at betfair. way too used to paddypower tho

the daily hi-lo omaha at 6.30pm on paddy power can be fun and profitable. 2000 player points needed.
    u should try what that german guy is doing and turn a dollar into 50 grand!
    keep us posted!

hotspur wrote:
    The absolute without shadow of a doubt biggest mistake players make is moving up too fast. The good sensible players continue playing at the level they are making money at consistently until it is obvious that they can move up, and have built up the bankroll to be wrong about it.

Totally agree with that. I'd never move up until I'm certain I've got a more than sufficient br for the stakes.
    1/2 which in my opinion is 80-90% populated by players who haven't a clue how to play the game.

Agree with that too. Had my worst day so far yesterday, was hit by two runner runner full houses for $200 both times, 50-1 and 25-1. Put one guy all with a set of 5's to his top pair 10 and the other guy called a huge reraise on a 765 flop with 62o and went on to hit a 6 and a 2 after I'd flopped a straight!
    This kind of calling goes on the whole time, the vast majority of players are very poor at 1/2 on vc. Went on a bit of tilt (which I thought I'd finished with) and lost another $200 before I logged off. Ah well, **** happens, pulled some back today and finished well up for the week but a long way off my target.

tbh, i only have 610 points at the moment. my immediate aim is to get the promo $20.

Ruggie, look around for the freerolls that you don't need 'action points' for.

Playing at your stakes is the right thing to do, however it's very hard to build up 'action points' or whatever the different sites call them.

Look for the freerolls which are just that ....free, no restrictions, no entry requirements.