Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interesting piece on stolen bicycles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Interesting piece....of slander. "She sells stolen bikes" a friend of a friend told me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jman0

Is it really slander?
    Her "shop" was raided by the Gards who discovered loads of stolen bikes out the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Nuttzz wrote:
    Interesting piece....of slander. "She sells stolen bikes" a friend of a friend told me :rolleyes:
    Well, if what's written is untrue then it's libel, not slander, which is 'the spoken word'. I love that pic with the caption:"Eileen the fence's house" :D A nice piece that will strike a chord with any of us who've had something nicked off us by a scumbag like that, I personally prayed for the thief of my bike (I was 12 at the time!) to be knocked down and killed on it :D and now at 27 years of age I still hope it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Same, I've had three bikes stolen here in Birmingham, now on my fourth. Its locked in the fire escape in work, where noone can find it. I have the luxury of having a decent boss who knows I can get in and out on time because of it, and noone knows its hidden there.

Thieves are spiteful meaningless, purposeless individuals. They are a piece of live excrement on the face of the earth, and proof that God, does indeed make mistakes in the evolutionary process, or that the devil exists.

Betsy, is now the proud owner of two Kryptonite locks, one Combination lock, and she won't move a ****ing inch. She'll be damaged, maybe wrecked, but shes going nowhere.

In the meantime, some sort of proper, secure parking facility is needed for bikes. Some sort of token redeemable scheme. 1 Euro a day. Anything to stop this rot from happening.

In the meantime, lets get the heroin addicts and the scum who steal,a nd get the Cattle prods at them. **** Human Rights for all those lefty tree hugging fools who live in their ivory towers and have never had anything stolen from them in their lives. 20,000 volts up the rectum, and they'd never steal again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

dermo88 wrote:
    20,000 volts up the rectum, and they'd never steal again.
    They'd never sh!t again anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Metrobest

What happened to that lady in Phibsboro? Are there still bikes on her front yard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

dermo88 wrote:
    Its locked in the fire escape in work, where noone can find it. I have the luxury of having a decent boss who knows I can get in and out on time because of it, and noone knows its hidden there.

If there's ever a fire you might find out that there's worse things than a stolen bike.

jman0 wrote:
    Is it really slander?
    Her "shop" was raided by the Gards who discovered loads of stolen bikes out the back.

says who exactly? a bloke he met in a bike shop? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jman0

Nuttzz wrote:
    says who exactly? a bloke he met in a bike shop? :rolleyes:
    Well Nuttzz very interesting to see you post such a statement.
    As you well know from the politics board, the statement in the article MUST be true because the other party hasn't sued for libel :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Bikes being stolen is apparently a big problem here. What I often wonder though, is who is it that goes around bending the wheels of bikes left locked. You see these bikes with bent wheels all over the place. Who are these phantom wheelbenders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,160 ✭✭✭SeanW

My guess is the bikes were either hit by cars, or the same scumbags who set fires in trashcans, bomb phoneboxes, break windows, key cars, throw shopping trolleys and pallets onto high speed railway lines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Flukey wrote:
    Bikes being stolen is apparently a big problem here. What I often wonder though, is who is it that goes around bending the wheels of bikes left locked. You see these bikes with bent wheels all over the place. Who are these phantom wheelbenders?
    ha ha - thought the same thing last night. Left my bike locked on Camden St, there were 2 other bikes locked to place beside it, when I came back BOTH the other bikes had a buckled wheel each. Who the f*ck does this kind of thing? In fairness, I didn't notice when I left, it could have happened overnight or something. The only thing I can presume is that it's some drunken f*cking tool that thinks it's good craic to kick them in....

On the subject of mindless violence - 2 things that have happened to me and my Da. Last year, I left my car parked on Kevin St (1st mistake I hear you say), was out drinking so had to leave it there till the next morning (2nd mistake... yea yea), when I got back in the morning, the side door and wing had been kicked in (boot marks and all). It's a Mazda MX-3, looks well, did I deserve that?
    The Da left his parked on Harcourt street a couple of years ago, later on 2 lads were walking down the road kicking the wing mirrors off ALL the cars on the road, stupid louts walked straight into 2 Gardai at the gates of the Harcourt St HQ..... needless to say, they paid for all the damage, good to hear of people doing that kind of damage being caught!

jman0 wrote:
    Well Nuttzz very interesting to see you post such a statement.
    As you well know from the politics board, the statement in the article MUST be true because the other party hasn't sued for libel :rolleyes:

they probably havent seen it, after all its only on indymedia :p

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

joker77 wrote:
    ha ha - thought the same thing last night. Left my bike locked on Camden St, there were 2 other bikes locked to place beside it, when I came back BOTH the other bikes had a buckled wheel each. Who the f*ck does this kind of thing? In fairness, I didn't notice when I left, it could have happened overnight or something. The only thing I can presume is that it's some drunken f*cking tool that thinks it's good craic to kick them in....

Thats exactly it, a few times last year I finished work at 12 midnight and decided to go into town (Waterford) and get something to eat instead of cooking when I went home.

Many a time I had to stand outside the door of the place watchig my bike, I've had people pulling it away from the lamp-post I locked it at while it was locked which almost damaged the wheel, I've almost had my back wheel kicked in, and I've had two attempts of people trying to cycle my bike while its been locked.
    Its always been people pissed out of their head thinking its great fun.
    f*cken muppets! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

F*cking muppets is right, when I see people acting like this it really gets my goat up, find it hard sometimes not to go over and do something. There's usually a couple of lads though, and them being drunk means a row would definitely ensue......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Plankmonkey

We're not exactly dealing with the Mafia here. If the Gardai would take even the slightest bit of interest they could crack the "racket". I had my bike stolen and reported it to the gardai, then the insurance company rang to tell me there was no record of it being reported stolen. Feckers hadn't even put it in the computer system. I went back down to the station and talked to the same guard I reported it to and he denied ever taking a statement from me. Charming.