Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gumshields

• 12-10-2005 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

Anyone know where you can get good gumshields, or even what's available? Most places only sell the bog standard ones, put em in hot water mold to your teeth. They've a habit of droping into your mouth and making breathing hard when your bolloxed. I had one that did the top and bottom teeth b4, twas v good. Got what I thought was the same in Mullens the other day; v big; keeps the mouth quite open, don't like that. Anyone found anything good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Get em through your coach, best way to go.
    I have a normal one and its moulded so well into the shape of my jaw that it stays right up and is easy to breath with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Hey listen.

I have lost all my top 6 teeth out of my head once , ok got a crown job now. so I have to be extra careful.

Go to a dentist and get a HEAVY DUTY gum guard espcially moulded for you, its the best gum protections can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

How much do the dentist jobbies set you back?

Personally I've found Shock Doctors are good enough for the job. You can get them in Elvery's Suffolk Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭PJG

yeah shock docter is the one for me. I have used it for several conatct sports and found it good. Stays where it ment to and breathing is OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

around 60 as afaik colm, ring your dentist and ask? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

patjunfa wrote:
    Anyone know where you can get good gumshields, or even what's available? Most places only sell the bog standard ones, put em in hot water mold to your teeth. They've a habit of droping into your mouth and making breathing hard when your bolloxed. I had one that did the top and bottom teeth b4, twas v good. Got what I thought was the same in Mullens the other day; v big; keeps the mouth quite open, don't like that. Anyone found anything good?
    We have a guy who does ours in Bridgestone...he rocks...P.M. me and I will give you his number if you want a good gumshield could be the difference of you spending 35 euro on a decent gumshield or spending 3,4 maybe 5 grand on getting your mouth rebuilt!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

He got mine done in dentist when he was doing some other work, so he sort of threw it into the deal.

I have bit of a gag reflex, so I found with cheapie gum guards, I would be choking, and retching and puking. basically I can wear a gum guard with great difficulty.

the dentisty one fits perfectly, and really protects me crowns. though if I do not wear it often, I have to get used to it again.

I d say what Red Raven says is a good idea. maybe hes a dental tech or soemthing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

ShockDoc. Pro for me, found I chewed through the cheaper ones.

shockdocs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 BlackBeltJones

I got mine from my dentist but check out the badest shock doctor v3.0 available on www.pad-up.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

I use a shock doctor too. Best gum shield I've ever owned. Very easy to get a good mould with. Not sure what kind of plastic they use put only some of it actually moulds so there is no risk of biting through when your fitting it.

Also comes with a dental warrenty if you live in the US ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭patjunfa

Thanks for the replys. I hadn't thought of paying 35 blips for one. Worth it if it's really that much better. I've two expensive crowns in front to protect. Shockdocter 3 is 25 pounds, n shockdocter 1.5 is only 6. Any experiences?
    Red Raven, are you talkin bout a dentist r something else?

Cheers

I got mine from www.opro.co.uk. They send you a kit and you mould it yourself. Like a dentist's but quite a bit cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Tekken5isalive

2euro transparent gumshield for me. i do judo however so it's not really tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 BlackBeltJones

I wouldn't cut corners with safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭patjunfa

Got me a shock doctor for 15 Squid, seems good; have to get a good kick in the teeth to really find out tho:).
    They advertise a $10,000 liability if you **** up your teeth wearing one. When you open it says, $313 max per tooth. You've got to break at least 30 teeth or so, to get the full figure advertised :eek: Mad feckers :confused:
    Seems good anyway, Stays in place, can talk well with it too. quite big n pushs my upper lip out, so I'm a bit of a monster, but I can handle that :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I got mine made by the dentist about seven years ago and it's only just worn out now. It cost about £25 at that stage.