Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like Tony Fenton

• 07-10-2005 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭

In fairness, as soon as Ray is finished the mighty Tony Fenton takes over to steer us through an hour of Shamboistic friviolity!

What do you think of Tony Fenton on Today FM 30 votes

I think the man is a genius
    0% 0 votes
    Please turn his mike off now
    13% 4 votes
    I couldn't care less if he plays Coldplay/U2/Claire Sprule over and over and over again!
    86% 26 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hate the fecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Get him off.
    When did he join todayFM, thought he was with 2fm.
    Not a big radiolistener, thanks to the likes of Adrian Kennedy,Gerry Ryan, and Tony Fenton...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

I think he's BRILL!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭markyboy

The other day giving out a "prize"

"Yes you've won. In two hours time you're on your way to South Africa!"

Yay clap clap

"Well for the runners up, and we've been keeping this secret all day, we've a special prize for you too. You've gotten up early and made your way to the airport. Well, you're going to ..... The Isle of Man!"

In their South African holiday clothes in October Tony? Thanks for nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

I demand a Jaguar! I can't get radio reception at work so I don't listen to the radio during the day, hence I don't care.

I used to love Tony on the hotline years ago though.

You're the WINNERRRRRRR!

Ah the memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

markyboy wrote:
    The other day giving out a "prize"

"Yes you've won. In two hours time you're on your way to South Africa!"

Yay clap clap

"Well for the runners up, and we've been keeping this secret all day, we've a special prize for you too. You've gotten up early and made your way to the airport. Well, you're going to ..... The Isle of Man!"

In their South African holiday clothes in October Tony? Thanks for nothing!

I can't stand him on the radio but in fairness, that's hardly his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

What the hell is going on around here?Everytime I refresh my beloved After Hours screen another crappy Irish "Celeb"gets a crappy poll he doesn't deserve.Pigheads bemused and annoyed.Can I just save time and say I don't particularly like any irish celebs apart from maybe Alan Stanfield who played George in Glenroe.Rightn i'm off to refresh my screen to see if Grainne from Bosco has got a poll yet. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

jor el wrote:
    I used to love Tony on the hotline years ago though.

You're the WINNERRRRRRR!

Ah the memories.

Hence the reason why I hate the f**ker. That "YOU'RE THE WINNNEEERRRR!" crap he used to shout on the Hotline years ago completely put me off him. That and his mid-Atlantic accent he uses. Can't stand DJ's that do that. The old Atlantic 252 was notorious for DJ's that did that, as well as having those shíte made-up names, the likes of Dusty Rhodes and Robin Banks (who can currently be heard as the voiceover on 'Mythbusters' on the Discovery Channel. Yes, it is indeed the same guy, believe it or not!). :rolleyes:

Now the likes of John Peel and Tommy Vance (what a voice!), they were proper DJ's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Paddyo

as well as having those shíte made-up names, the likes of Dusty Rhodes and Robin Banks

Tony Fenton is also a made up name!!!!!

Paddyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I cant stand him, he just pisses me off to no ends and I have no choice but to put up with him everyday in work. At least he's stopped that STUPID Man United joke thing he used to do to people who rang in.

I'm horrified by this revelation! There's no mention of that here. It seems like the story of a simple carpenter that did well ... now where have I heard that story before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Hes the cocksmoker with the put on zany americanesque accent right? how does he have the nerve to ask for payment. absolute tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Roddy23 wrote:
    Gerry Ryan
    as for that gobsh ite...
    makes me sick that the licence fee I am forced to pay goes towards that fukers ridiculously high salary. spend it on decent films not some arrogant kunt-fuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭The Free Man

tony fenton was one of the reasons i quit my last job.
    they wouldnt change the radio station, it drove me insane...........
    i mean, what age does he think he is!?!?!!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

markyboy wrote:
    I'm horrified by this revelation! There's no mention of that here. It seems like the story of a simple carpenter that did well ... now where have I heard that story before?

Ah yes! The man who's appearance in stories of magic and spirituality, miracles and bravery inspired us all as children i.e. Harrison Ford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Paddyo

His name is really........

Tony Fagan

if you're going to make up a cool sounding DJ name you'd make a bit more effort! Frankie Fagan for example. Now that's the name of a DJ I'd listen to :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Him, Tubridy, Gerry Ryan, Gareth O Callaghan and Rick O' Shea need to have nasty horrible things done to their ability to speak/walk/carry out bodily functions preferably while having "now whos the f*cking winner" screamed at them by large men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

smashy/nicey TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭horseflesh

He's unbelievable.
    Unbelievably bad that is.
    Sometimes I think he can't really be serious and he's just taking the piss out of himself. He's a walking, talking parody.
    And that mid-Atlantic accent........jesus wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Screw Tony Fenton, bring back Electric Eddie. Beat on the Street anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

I like his voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Tony Fenton!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I repeat, Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Paddyo wrote:
    Tony Fenton is also a made up name!!!!!

Really? I didn't know that either. Another reason to hate the f**ker then, I guess! :mad:
    magpie wrote:
    smashy/nicey TBH

Funny you should say that. That's the first thing that always pops into my mind when someone mentions Tony Fenton. Smashy and Nicey were just the perfect parody you could get of all those mid-Atlantic voiced, love to blow their own trumpet ("Do a lot of work for charidy, mate, but I don't like to talk about it!" :rolleyes: ), love the sound of their own (put on! :rolleyes: ) voices-type DJ's you hear on the radio. Fenton, Rhodes, Tubridy, O' Shea, Gerry Ryan, Tony Blackburn, etc., all those guys. Smashy and Nicey always pops into my mind when I hear those types of DJ's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

he's a wanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

All radio is terrible anyways. More fun catching your bollocks in a belt sander than listening to that tripe