Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hook a brother up with a PC table

• 07-10-2005 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭

so I've finally got the gaff renovated to a standard so we can move in. have my windows media center PC built and ready to roll and all. missus is away for weekend and so i wanna get me a PC table and chair while shes gone so i gets me none of this 'oh the beech finish on this one is divine' crap. basically I'm looking for advice on where to get me a PC desk and chair - off the auld interweb or in bricks and mortar it doesnt matter, as long as your not asking me to give my hard earned cash to that harvey norman bollix. is viking direct good? Have a back problem but thats compounded by a cash flow problem so no fancy chairs but one that doesnt turn me into a hunchback would be nice. its to go ina small box bedoom so desk cant be too big but something that has a decent place to put a keyboard niec and sturdy would be sweet.

by tehw way if you havent already heard - tiger beer is GOOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I've never got a something as big as a desk off viking but for everything else they were reliable and fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

PC world do nice desks, but they are expensive enough. Best place for chairs is Viking Direct - they have an offer on one at the moment too ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Either office stores or viking direct are your best bet, the likes of PC World offer crap desks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

My wife bought an office chair from a place in Finglas, in the same industrial park as the driving test centre i.e. behind Superquinn. I might be able to dig up a name if you want. I think the place buys stuff cheap off companies that are closing or in liquidation.

Alternately, I know someone giving a desk away (part of the Leinster FreeCycle Yahoo! group). Would have to be collected from Mullingar:
    Offered: Good solid office desk with proper cable management (ie 2 holes in
    the top to allow cables through!) and modesty panel. 710 mm high, 710mm
    deep x 1210mm wide.

I have a corner desk with monitor stand for €50 if you want it. Does me great but I need something bigger now.

Similar to this
    0000003325452_lc1_1_l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Argos have a nbice frosted glass corner unit, very nice but not kid freindly.

Very nice looking if the wires were tidy.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

alright lads - nice one for the replies. All hungover now - was jober as a sudge when I wrote that :rolleyes:

Wizard - that looks nice alright - whats the measurements on it? Would it fit a nice decent sized Antec case down low? Only problem would be transporting it to my place in Crumlin - though maybe I could stick it on the roofbars on my car?

KdjaC - frosted glass sounds nice and theres no sprogs about so I'll look into that one aswell.

And daymobrew nice one - that freecycle thing sounds interesting.I'll measure up the space I have for the desk later and see what I can fit.

And Viking Direct for a chair it is so.

Wizard - that looks nice alright - whats the measurements on it? Would it fit a nice decent sized Antec case down low? Only problem would be transporting it to my place in Crumlin - though maybe I could stick it on the roofbars on my car?
    It comes apart easily. Just an allen key needed (I have 2)

Should fit an Antec case in the case bay area thingy. It's slightly different to that pic, has a little cupboard on one side at desk height which I have my printer on.
    I live in Donnybrook so you can come over to see it if it's suitable. PM for my number/address.

Dimensions are around 110cm -120cm on the side length, but I don't know what height it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭branners69

I have a computer table for sale here.. http://82.195.136.36/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=310282

might be too big for what you want..

I also have a leather computer chair which might suit your needs.. I suffer a dodgy back myself and this is pretty much unused but it had great support when ever I did use it!!

Let me know!!

branners69 wrote:
    I have a computer table for sale here.. http://82.195.136.36/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=310282

might be too big for what you want..
    That's the one I want! ;)
    It's bigger than mine and I need the extra space!

WizZard wrote:
    That's the one I want! ;)
    It's bigger than mine and I need the extra space!

the first one to show me the money bags it!!

Here 50euror.jpg

WizZard wrote:
    Here 50euror.jpg

haha.. not quite what I had in mind.. but I like it!!

desk is still up until I get to feel the real mccoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

hey wizzard - can you show me a photo of your desk? If you can and I like it I'll probably go for it as Branners is maybe slightly too big and you got there first anyways.

Any chance you can deliver to crumlin - I'm flat out working on the house all weekend?

Branners69 - whats your chair like and how much?

Here's a quick pic. Please forgive the mess. That's why I need a bigger desk! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

WizZard wrote:
    Here's a quick pic. Please forgive the mess. That's why I need a bigger desk! ;)

You need a skip tbh...... :D

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    You need a skip tbh...... :D
    Tell me about it! You should see the rest of the room. PC cases and bits everywhere! Plexi scattered around, I need a workshop thb, but failing that - a bigger desk! ;)

@ FrankGrimes

The chair aint up anymore!! Sorry.. apparently Viking Direct have a lovely one for €80 delivered!!

I can pm you a link if you want!!