Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Article] Carbery charged in connection to flight 'fire'

• 05-10-2005 7:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭

Paul Carberry appeared in court on Tuesday in connection with a public order incident on a flight from Spain to Dublin.

The 31-year-old, a former Irish champion jockey and winner of the Grand National, allegedly set fire to a friend’s newspaper while on board an Aer Lingus flight returning from Malaga last Saturday.

At Swords District Court in Dublin, Carberry, of Rathfeigh, Tara, Co Meath, was charged with engaging in threatening, abusive or insulting behaviour under the Air Navigation and Transport Acts 1973 and 1998 while on board the flight.

Garda Noel Donnelly of Dublin Airport police station, said Carberry was arrested at the airport at 10.25pm on Saturday and brought to the police station, where he was charged.

“He made no reply after caution,” said Garda Donnelly.

He told Judge Patrick Brady he did not require any bail conditions. Judge Brady adjourned the case to October 18.

Carberry won the Grand National in 1999 on Bobbyjo, a horse trained by his father Tommy, who himself was a National-winning rider.

He was the Irish champion jockey in 2002, where he became the first man since Charlie Swan in 1996-1997 to ride a century of winners.

He rode at Tipperary on Sunday, where he claimed victory in the John James McManus Memorial Hurdle on Harchibald.

When asked outside the courtroom about the incident on the Aer Lingus plane, Carberry said: “It was an accident. It wasn’t a joke.”

He said he had no idea if there was a match or a lighter involved and added there was no drink involved. He had no further comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,369 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What I'd like to know is why such a low life scumbag who could do such a thing on an aeroplane be allowed out in public. That guy should be in custody at the moment, even more sickening is the fact he was the jockey riding Best Mate on Tuesday......the same guy who showed Best Mate the utmost contempt and disrespect when calling on best mate during a race in Ireland a few months back. He wasn't happy enough to beat a fantastic horse like Best Mate, but he then had the audacity to gloat and ridicule the horse as it came in second......:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fr wishy washy

walshb wrote:
    What I'd like to know is why such a low life scumbag who could do such a thing on an aeroplane be allowed out in public. That guy should be in custody at the moment, even more sickening is the fact he was the jockey riding Best Mate on Tuesday......the same guy who showed Best Mate the utmost contempt and disrespect when calling on best mate during a race in Ireland a few months back. He wasn't happy enough to beat a fantastic horse like Best Mate, but he then had the audacity to gloat and ridicule the horse as it came in second......:mad:

Steady on there.
    Whatever about his activity on the plane the gestures with B mate were just done with no malice intended.Sure Henrietta Knight said it herself before the Exeter race that she knows it was just Carbo being exhuberant

You can dress it up any way you like and I'm fairly laid back most of the time as regards the crack and banter in sport, but what Carberry did in that race was in very bad taste. One of the finest horse over the past 20 yrs, brought to Ireland as a favor to the Irish people because of their love of the horse and he behaves in that manner. As far as I see it, it was disrespectul to the owners and the horse itself. He wasn't happy enough to beat such a fine animal, he had to make sure and belittle the Horse in the process, a total lack of class..........just goes to show, you can have all the money in the world and all the luck and everything else, but Class you are born with.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭denachoman

Best Mate was one of the finest horses in recent history and Paul Carberry is one of the finest jockeys in recent history (whatever your opinion of him as a person is). His reaction when beating Best Mate at Leopardstown last year was OTT but IMO was a spur of the moment thing with no disrespect intended.

All I'm saying basically is that it was out of order and he should not have done it plain and simple...maybe he didn't mean to be disrespectful, and really did believe it was just a bit of banter, but he should not have done it in the first place. He made a bad judgement in my book and from hearing about this plane incident, all it says to me is the guy obviously is a bit of a low life with no real class and he proved it with the Best Mate incdent, and really proved it on that plane.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

walshb wrote:
    All I'm saying basically is that it was out of order and he should not have done it plain and simple...maybe he didn't mean to be disrespectful, and really did believe it was just a bit of banter, but he should not have done it in the first place. He made a bad judgement in my book and from hearing about this plane incident, all it says to me is the guy obviously is a bit of a low life with no real class and he proved it with the Best Mate incdent, and really proved it on that plane.....

I despise the word class. To be born with "class" just makes me think of nobs in royal families around the world and kids with rich daddies ect.ect. Off topic but important post none the same i feel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

We're not talking about social class fandango...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

I know, just wanted to type something :) sorry. Just one of my "out of boredom" messages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭GOAT_Ali

A lowlife in the saddle and in the AIR!!!!!!