Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First single Table Victory

• 04-10-2005 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

Managed to pick up my first single table victory last night. It was only a small buy-in table but i was chuffed.

I was made from the first hand played AhTh, raised up to 100 and pretty much the whole board called in. Flop came up with Qh Js 8H.

Liked the look of it and pushed all in hoping to steal the openers. Little did I know that 3 others would go all in with me so i'm left looking at everyone with face cards and 1 guy with QQ. next cards hit fast and before i knew it i had hit the Kc and made a straight knocking 3 players out and leaving me sitting pretty with 8K in chips. Went on to win comfortably enough.

Nothing like a stroke of luck on those first hands :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭mokeymokey

congrats on the win.

was this a private game or was it an orginised torney?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

congrats...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

it was just a sit and go on PPP. have taken 2nd place in many but finally took the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Well done. Not to be a moany michael but from what i read AT and AJ etc are hands that you should be extremely careful with in the beginning of an STT. Hands like this in STT's will cost you a lot of money in the long run. Just my thoughts, but congratulations anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Congrats !

I remember the buzz from playing the first tourneys, it was amazing !

Feck it, you never knew you could have so much fun with a computer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I know the hand i had was dangerous one to go all in on but the flop was showing 2 hearts leaving me 1 card from a flush draw and 1 from a straight draw. I couldn't ignore those odds. specially with the ace high on a flush draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

Culchie wrote:
    Congrats !

I remember the buzz from playing the first tourneys, it was amazing !

God yeah, I remember the first time i won a stt, what a buzz and what i find amazing is that i remember the first mtt money finish i had and cant remember the first mtt win, 6th for $400 i couldnt sleep for hours after it. Funny thing is I cant remember the first mtt win but i can remember the 3rd perfectly for some strange reason and dont remember much between that and the last one haha maybe cause it was early on saturday mornin and the buzz of winning a few bob before hitting the bookies had me on a high all day haha i think thats why i love poker so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Yeah cant forget the first STT win I had...but whats sweeter is the first MTT win...The first MTT I played in was a £2 buy in on betfair with about 150 runners.

I played as tight as i could for the first half an hour folding hands like ATo and AJo.

suddenly players were short stacked and desperate to build it up and i got nice cards to call a few all ins.

made the final table into about 2 hours and got some lovely hands early on.

the rest is history as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

This is turning into a lovely little nostalgic thread :):):)

I remember my first STT win, it was the first one I ever played for real money, a $5 tourney on Ladbrokes back in the day - I thought I was a god and from then I was hooked!!!

First MTT big cash was much better though, still remember it well - my first day on UB, only had $100 in my account, made a fundamental fishy error and played in a $30 short handed tourney :confused::confused: , don;t know what I was thinking!!! absolutely no clue about BR management - about 130 runnners, came second for about $700 or so, finished up at 3.30 what a night :):):) .
    I remember it so well because I was down to 1500 chips or so after the break, got AKs UTG, went all-in when the blinds were about 200-400, got one caller then a protection all-in bet with AA, hit a runner runner flush and tripled up - excellent......

I was a firm believer in the luck switch for a while after these but I have my tin foil hat on now and so have come back to sanity..... :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

P.S. Congrats djkeogh, we all know the feeling - wp nh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

congrats man, it's all downhill from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

I can't remember the first one I played but I remember finding them and thinking this is the game for me!

Congrats on your first win!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

djkeogh wrote:
    raised up to 100 and pretty much the whole board called in.

Ah low limit STTs, I know them well. Even with rags like A10 you get priced in by idiots. Anyway well played.