Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firework-wielding Scumbags

• 03-10-2005 9:21pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

I know there's less than 30 shopping days to halloween but you'd swear anto, anto, anto, anto, anto, anto and tony have all bought a shedload of arms of Osama Bin Laden from the amount of noise outside. You'd be forgiven for thinking you were in a basement in beirut! It's been bang bang bang all night since about 8pm, because these little eejits think it's a great laugh to feck them into the building site opposite my house.

Personally i think i'll steal a fire extinguisher so i can let it off in their general direction and do much damage to their white tracksuits :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

It's amazing the enjoyment some people get out of a loud noise.
    Think I'll record the sounds of black cats and quarter sticks going off and sell it to these people so they can turn it up on their (stolen) ipods and leave the rest of us in peace...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

i know exactly how you feel. When I lived in Finglas it was like the Afghan War was being fought outside my house. There was constant banging all night from 4 or 5 in the evening. And you can see them all stockpiling their sh!te so they can build the biggest, most dangerous and most noxious and pollutant bonfire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Red Alert wrote:
    I know there's less than 30 shopping days to halloween but you'd swear anto, anto, anto, anto, anto, anto and tony have all bought a shedload of arms of Osama Bin Laden from the amount of noise outside.
    Sonic Art Deco ...maybe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

this is what makes me hate this time of year! bangers SCARE me. i have a phobia of them. mostly because ive had them thrown at me too often.

i was waiting at a bus stop sometime last year, and these little knackers slipped one in between the glass and the wall bit at the side. only i heard them whispering i probably wouldve gotten my leg blown off.

i have an image of one being thrown at me and getting caught in my hood and blowing my head off or something! ok a little over dramatic maybe, but they REALLY scare me :(

GRR :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

one of them today blew off their little finger and thumb (rumours are he was trying to fitit into a coke bottle from the pub), and all the kids (most of them 11-12) started crying and running away, blood everywhere, id say word went around thats why it seems quiet tonight.
    tbh the little fcker deserved it, he terrorises the old ones and robs stuff from the charity shop around the corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Dfitzer

In the words of Nelson Muntz: "Ha Ha"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

It has to be one of the best things about being in college rather than school. In school from September - February all you got was the idiots in my class throwing bangers at all the girls, setting fire to bins, letting them off in classrooms and generally being prats. Thankfully the guys in my class now prefer going to the pub to hanging round street corners chucking fireworks about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Hey! Tony is a fine name. I dont know any scumbags called Tony anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Sparky_S wrote:
    robs stuff from the charity shop around the corner.
    :eek: Deserves to have more than his finger blown off!

Yeah all the scumbags come out this time of year in their drones. A rocket was aimed at me and my mates last night and then the little fcuks ran down the road.

Another thing that happened last week was a car was driving around throwing black cats out the window at people...now that's sad tbh

gazza22 wrote:
    Another thing that happened last week was a car was driving around throwing black cats out the window at people...now that's sad tbh

Now thats just wrong, thats terrorism. America are you listening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

here in coolock they set them off during the day too, like what?!? its bright out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I hate the things. They're a nuisance and they cause alot of distress for animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I hate the things. They're a nuisance and they cause alot of distress for animals.

Yeah they freaked my old dog out badly, one halloween we'd to bring it to the vets cause it was in such shock.

I don't see what's so great about fireworks whatsoever but scumbags seem to LOVE the things and will fire them at anything they like without a second thought about it.

I f*cking hate the stories at halloween about scumbags attaching them(or inserting them) into animals, aswell as the stories about people throwing animals into bonfires.If I ever saw someone doing it...god help them is all I can say. :mad:

yeah anytime i whistle a slowly drowning like WW2 airbomb dropping sound my dog goes apesh1t.
    He was originally a country dog so he thinks the shotgun is coming out aswell when the bang happens.

Im going to catch one of the ***** tomorrow and ram one of the things up his hole and then light it, Now thats firworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I once strapped the most powerful blackcat banger to my knob and set it off, just to see what would happen.. nothing.. the girth was too much and the banger went with a whisper!
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Sparky_S wrote:
    yeah anytime i whistle a slowly drowning like WW2 airbomb dropping sound my dog goes apesh1t.
    He was originally a country dog so he thinks the shotgun is coming out aswell when the bang happens.

Im going to catch one of the ***** tomorrow and ram one of the things up his hole and then light it, Now thats firworks.

Skangers own you Sparks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Let us pray for short fuses this Halloween. Amen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Sparky_S wrote:

Right, well if I don't hear of some lad with his pelvis turned to shrapnal on the news, I'm going to find you, and MAKE you do it.

Kernel wrote:
    Skangers own you Sparks!

Right, well if I don't hear of some lad with his pelvis turned to shrapnal on the news, I'm going to find you, and MAKE you do it.

I may even record it and post it on the net :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Sparky_S wrote:

Damn right you may. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

God I hate the things.
    My dog gets so scared, she's kinda old, even loud noises upset her, but fireworks, she's just in bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Sparky_S wrote:

Hum sparks very own faces of death...interesting

I'll provide the materials if you like, anything to rid the world of one less scumbag :D

gazza22 wrote:
    Hum sparks very own faces of death...interesting

I'll provide the materials if you like, anything to rid the world of one less scumbag :D

Faces of Death, yes it will be :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sparky_S wrote:
    rumours are he was trying to fitit into a coke bottle from the pub
    He lit it and _then_ tried to fit it in? Gobsh|te.

Must stockpile a few rockets this year. Last year could only get 5 or so decent ones. I don't bother buying screechers, only the fireworks that explode into lots of bright colours.

Must also stock up on some firelighters and petrol. Last year the bonfire needed some help to get going, and the kids who put it together didn't know what to do. Me, I've a bit of experience in lighting stuff, so its usually easy enough to get it lighting.

What'll be the firework of choice?
    A banger or quarter stick would be simple but effective, while a roman candle or 20 shot repeater would be quite....interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

It's wreckin my head to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Sparky_S wrote:
    one of them today blew off their little finger and thumb

WHAT A TRAGEDY

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Having bangers thrown at you is nothing. We had a number of those Sonic FX yokes aimed at us when we were letting off a few of our own fireworks (proper fireworks) at our house. They narrowly missed us, we told them to politely fúck off and they aimed more at us. So in a final attempt to get them to fúck off we aimed one of our big rockets at them and they got the message.

Stephen wrote:
    WHAT A TRAGEDY

I personally enjoyed hearing what happened, i hated the fcker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

They started in the estate across the train tracks a few days ago (Balbriggan) and they've not bothered me much as of yet. When the yobs nearer me get their mitts on them... "why i outta"

My dog is apprehensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

gazza22 wrote:

I know its really really wrong and i hope all the cats survived etc, but does anyone else find this even a little bit funny? I just had this image of a guy at the window of the car throwing cats constantly roaring reload whilst another scanger behind dips into his bag of black cats and hands him the next one. :D

RedorDead wrote:
    I know its really really wrong and i hope all the cats survived etc, but does anyone else find this even a little bit funny? I just had this image of a guy at the window of the car throwing cats constantly roaring reload whilst another scanger behind dips into his bag of black cats and hands him the next one. :D

Lol :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

These people should be encouraged though. A joy for things that go bang may result in one of them starting up a huge multinational company in their garage.

Somehow I doubt it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

On Childers Road in Limerick (one of the busiest roads in the city), knackers were throwing bangers at moving cars on Sunday. If that isn't a recipe for disaster, I don't know what is.

A cop car cruised by and they ran. I imagine they came back later......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

oi tink bangors arr a fukin deadly buzz

yeah deadlee buzzz alree its loike dey go bang n explo-ide n stuff..rapeh.

I'm praying for an extremely wet and windy halloween....oh and extremely short fuses on all fireworks :D

I remember watching a load of knackers lifting the local mopeds into a bonfire before, was not impressed at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

When I was living in Galway years back when the Rahoon flats were still there full of knackers/scumbags and they outnumbered ordinary people (no, this scum were not ordinary people) they used to fire rockets at houses ... particularly single glazed houses to see if they could break a window and/or start a fire ... mostly young ****s 8 - 12 ... dont think they were ever successful...
    they also used bangers to blow locks off things (bikes etc) and one time managed to get into one of the Eircom street cabinets and set it on fire, no phones worked in the area for several days

Far more annoying was the same knackers coming around looking for stuff ...weeks before halloween they would be around "sumting for halloween" ... we never gave them anything so the house got pelted with eggs regularly ... friends who lived closer to Rahoon had windows broken ...

Now I live in London and the fireworks happen regularly ... but they are proper ones mostly ... New Years Eve was amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Kernel wrote:
    I once strapped the most powerful blackcat banger to my knob and set it off, just to see what would happen.. nothing.. the girth was too much and the banger went with a whisper!
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    What on earth were you drinking when you wrote this Kernel?Is this story true,are you sure alls ok down there,whats a blackcat banger.So many questions.Such a strange post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Sparky_S wrote:
    I personally enjoyed hearing what happened, i hated the fcker.

er... me too. Check your sarcasm detector :)

Little scumbags getting taught a lesson by their own stupidy? Delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Isn't all this banger malarky illegal anyway? (or is it just the sale of them? :confused:)
    If some muppets were arsing about with bangers on your street, couldn't you call the police? or would you just be lauged at?
    Makes a bit of a f*cking mockery of our legal system to hear bangers going off 24/7 all through october.
    Might aswell just legalise them, sell them in shops and tax the everloving shít out of them... maybe then we'd only have to listen to them on halloween night instead of every fking day.

tbh I grew out of my fascination with fireworks by the time I was 13... it makes me larf to see people who are technically adults throwing them around dangerously, acting like dicks... grow up for fcks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I remember when i was in secondary school a friend brought loads a bangers home from germany i think. We put em everywhere bins, doorways anything we passed at lunchtime. Then we seen a fella in a car that was a known drug dealer around. One of the lads dropped one under his car. when it went off he hit the roof, then opened out his coat and checked his chest,lmao. when he seen us laughing he just started roaring laughin, poor f***er thought he got shot,lol. :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I f*cking hate the stories at halloween about scumbags attaching them(or inserting them) into animals, aswell as the stories about people throwing animals into bonfires.If I ever saw someone doing it...god help them is all I can say. :mad:[/QUOTE]

Its disgusting... How can a human being inflict pain like that on any living thing.. it takes a certain breed of scumbag bast*rd to do something like that.. Im sorry but I dont think I would even consider the consequences of my actions if I saw somebody subjecting an animal to anything as hideous as what was mentioned above :( I wouldnt be totally anti fireworks once there used for entertainment and not divilment as is usually the case unfortunately....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

What a great idea.... to dump mopeds on a bonfire!!! :D:D

rb_ie wrote:
    yeah deadlee buzzz alree its loike dey go bang n explo-ide n stuff..rapeh.

I'm praying for an extremely wet and windy halloween....oh and extremely short fuses on all fireworks :D

I remember watching a load of knackers lifting the local mopeds into a bonfire before, was not impressed at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

RedorDead wrote:

Blackcats are the "Brand" of the banger haha

Not actual Black felines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I know I've said it before but I really hate them. I was standing on Dawson St today with 2 of my friends when there was a really really loud bang, turned round to see smoke and 2 scumbags in a white van pissing themselves laughing and delighted with themselves driving past rolling up the window. I got such a fright, quickly turned to anger and I wanted to run after them and dunno what I'd do then! Seriously though, throwing them onto a busy footpath is ridiculous behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

ye should head over to england on guy fawkes night... then ye will see fireworks..
    everyone sets them off from their backyards there, kind of a ritual..
    and these are not those pricks of things that the lil bastards here set off,
    these would be more akin to S.A.M's with colourful explosions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

ye should head over to england on guy fawkes night... then ye will see fireworks...
    When Guy Fawkes tried to do it they stopped him!

What's the deal with that? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

When it comes to the pretty fireworks that don't make massive bangs, i don't see the big deal. Nor do i see the big deal with bangers in the daytime (no sleeping people).