Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Fantasy Naps Competition.

• 02-10-2005 6:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

Ok we'll run this for 8 weeks and I'm hoping some of the regulars can contribute something to the prize...myself and Sjones will for definite anyway.

The structure of the game is as follows:

*Players have from Monday to Sunday each week to use 6pts either on a single or each way selection- no doubles, trebles or anything fancy like that.

*Horses for any given day must be selected by 1pm on race day

*You must have played in every week to be eligible to win.

*Horses can be chosen from Irish and British racing only.

*A league table will be updated every week and only the players in the league table at the end of the first week can feature in the other 7 weeks.

*You can only use 6pts per week...i.e if you win on monday your points go towards the league table, not your bank for the rest of the week

*The rules will be strict, particularly about timing your bets etc. No bets will be accepted for a given day after 1pm on that day.

The basic idea of this competition is to give people an interest in the horse racing without having to spend any of their hard earned. I'm sure if a few of us club together we can put together a fairly decent prize of money, vouchers, CDs, DVDS etc that will act as a fairly good incentive.

This is the thread to ask questions, post opinions or prize ideas. There will be a seperate thread each week for a particular score period.

These are the basic rules...all loose ends will be tied up as we go along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I think this is a great idea lads, a chance for everyone to prove themselves. I won't be betting my points tomorrow, tomorrows racing is terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

I've ammended it to 6pts...easier to use I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

i think this is a fantastic idea because you will have fun and you dont have to spend money.

well done lads and good luck.

but im going to have to set my alarm clock extra early from now on to pick a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Sounds like a good idea. Look forward to taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Good stuff lads. I'll try to contribute something to the prize as well.

Fair play to ya crumbs...it would be helpful to get something from as many people as possible so we can really make it a prize worth winning. I'll update the prizes as they come to me.

Lads, there's no need to post the odds of the horse as we are taking the odds of the horse at the off, so if it's 10/1 now and 3/1 at the off, you get the 3/1 odds.

It might be a better idea to change the rule of having to post by 1 to posting 15 or 30 minutes before the race a selection runs in starts. I don't know about anybody else but the only time of day I can get on to a lot of the racing related sites is between 1 and 2, my job has brought in some new blocking software recently.

Also during the winter there will be a lot of saturday morning meetings in the UK so a time of 1 is meaningless for these.

I'm sure I could manage to give a dig out with a prize.

MasterK,

The reason I said 1 o clock for the selection is, firstly, to keep things organised. I think it's better to have a cut off point where we have everyone's selections for that particular day. To be honest I think it would be a nuisance to have to check everyone's selections each day to make sure they were on time etc.

I do understand the point you make you're making but remember, people can always choose their selections the night before as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭frodi

When does it start and where do we post (here I presume)
    Pity it didn't start last week I had 7 winners and 2 places over the weekend. (Best by far in a long time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

how do you enter..i`m new to the site and i would like to play the game if its not too late....

Would any of the horse racing forum new comers like to donate a prize to said competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

fade2black wrote:
    Would any of the horse racing forum new comers like to donate a prize to said competition?

fade - what prizes have been donated for other competitions ?

I wouldn't mind throwing a tenner/score in if everyone else did the same ? winner take all ?

Hi Scargill,

I plan on offering up a pretty decent prize myself and I've received pms from other lads offering things like DVDs, Virus Software, voouchers and money....

I'd particularly like to receive offers from the people who don't normally post on the horse racing forum...I don't mind these people entering but I think it would be a bitter pill to swallow for the regulars if someone who never previously set foot in the place won a load of prizes of everyone and then sauntered off into the night.

If you have an idea for a prize, feel free to PM me and hopefully we can put together a decent package that will keep people interested for the duration.

id be happy with the satisfaction of winning

me too, I'm happy to play for the glory. any prizes i'm going to win can be donated to the SSF. :D

so you two won't be donating a prize then?

silly question... is it only the profit made that goes into the league table ? If I only do one bet at evens with one point for the whole week how many league points do I have - is it 7 or 1 ?

The way my selections have been going of late I might be better off not betting and just letting the 6 points accumulate each week !!

My understanding is that if you don't use any points they count as losers. So if you had 1 winner at evens that would be 1 point, but you would get -5 for your other 5 points giving you a total of -4.

If you didn't lose any unused points it could ruin the competition, if somebody had a 33/1 winner then all they would probably have to do to win would be not to post again. I've seen this happen time and time again in other competitions, somebody gets one huge priced winner and the whole competition is ruined.

fade2black wrote:
    Each player can only use 6 pts in each week....regardless of wins or loses...this is where it changes somewhat from previous tournaments. Then Each Sunday night a League is produced - if you had 2pts each on three horses and only one won, we'll say at 2-1, then your points for the leaderboard would be 6pts...and someone who had no winners would be -6. If you don't post any selections for a particular week you automatically recieve -6ps for that given week. It makes things more challenging, and also makes you look a bit closer before making your choices.

I hope this clears things up masterK. You're right in what you're saying, ive seen the same thing in previous comps, hence why i've gone with this format.

Prizes so far...

DVDS
    Computer Software
    Vouchers
    Money.

Add in some coolmore merchandise such as jackets and caps.

Ok can we get the prizes sorted out by this week....if everyone can post what they can offer as a prize and we'll nail it down before the end of the week. I've withdrawn the coolmore tour because I think as good as it is it probably won't suit a lot of people (no one commented about it anyway so I don't think it will be a great loss)

can you open up the new thread for week 3 because i have to go to work in an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

fade2black wrote:
    so you two won't be donating a prize then?

ok so you twisted me arm!
    I'll throw in a full health screening, ie, Blood Pressure check, cholesterol screening, Diabetes screening, Body Mass Index Measurement and lifestyle advice. I'll give the advice, you don't have to follow it.

I would appreciate it if everyone would follow the format I use when making selections from now on. Put the date in bold at the top of the post, along with the day. Then your selections underneat, and your points left after these selections have been made at the bottom. It just makes things a-hell-of-alot easier for us when we are going through all of the selections determining the results. Follow this link for an example of the format: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=3508293&postcount=42

Cheers lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

Is it too late to join. Sounds very good. Don't think I will win but I would love to give it a try.

Hi FinnPark, the initial rules stated that you had to take part every week in order to take part...however, I'm going to change that to 6 of the 8 weeks to allow for people dying after the 6th week or losing a limb or something....So post this week, you've got a good enough chance to win, remember that the guys on 12 now will LOSE 6 points if they don't get a winner this week. Choose your selections wisely and don't blindly pick big priced nags. Oh and I'm just about to open a prize fund thread...feel free to contribute something.

Are we going to have a special selection thread for the Breeders Cup?

Yes indeed...I mentioned that last week...this is indeed the highlight of the flat racing year so I'll get a new thread up and running for this in a few....how many points would you like to play with MasterK?

Since it's 6 every other week we should probably stick to that. The latest time of entry will need to be a bit later than usual.

Thanks. I will start posting tomorrow (Friday). I will get 6 pts on this weekend.

Where and how do I post?

Do I have to place bets on the BC or I can abstain without loosing any points?

Can I lay horses accepting liability of course?

Finally, If I back EW at say 1pt Ew (2 total) at 2/1 and the horse is palced do I get the 1.5pt added onto my league winnings?

Thanks for the advice?

I think you should go back to the start of this thread and read the rules...then come back to us with your questions.

OK,

I think I know the rules now.

Where/How do I post the tips ?

Thanks again.

I thought it was fool-proof....

Every week we will start a thread i.e. Fantasy Naps Week 1 etc...

Post them in there for the given week in the way that Sjones has illustrated.

:o:o No really. It has been a while since I have been on. Im looking forward to this although Im not sure how low a person can go. So Im 0 now with 6 to bet with on Breeders Cup and 6 pts on UK/Irish Racing.

Thanks again for your patience - I understand fully now;)

You're -18, starting you at 0 would be unfair to everyone else.

There is very little point me entering at this. There is probably no need to give me -18 anyway as it is unlikely that I will make a profit. I will give it a go anyway although -18 is actaully unfair to me as it assumes I would have no winner from 18pts. Seen that Im not too bothered I will probably enter the competition anyway just for da craic.

I think it's perfectly fair...you didn't pick a winner yet did you?

I would like to make a suggestion.

Please start me on 0 and if I win anything (which will probably not happen) then I will forfit any prize - the prize can be put towards a special 'one day' competition or something. I think that is very fair - I would not be taking from anyone else and my interest in the competition would be maintained. Please consider this. It is a good competition and I appreciate the chance of joining but to start at -18 would take the interest out of it for me. Like I say I am prepared to forfit the prize.

No.

Fair Enough. -18pts it is then so. Need to get a few winners fast.

finnpark wrote:
    Fair Enough. -18pts it is then so. Need to get a few winners fast.

Don't worry about it mate, the leaderboard will look totally different by the end of the competition, i'll be last :D

Gonna unstick this now.

Congrats again to Nick...he informed me that he doesn't want any prizes cause he only took part for the fun of it. I've pm'd him details of his main prize and I'll have a quick chat to a couple of other boyos to make sure he gets something else anyway.

We'll run a St. Stephens Day comp as well, with one main prize that will be posted up before the comp starts. Details will be stickied shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You want to post up the leaderboard for horsie newbies like me?

fade2black wrote:
    he informed me that he doesn't want any prizes cause he only took part for the fun of it.

i pm'd him to organise a prize - he didnt want any and told me to donate the whatever money i was going to spend to Santas Strike Force

so thats where my prize donation has gone !!

Santa is going to empty a bag full of karma at Nick's place this year.