Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Capoeira in Dublin

• 28-09-2005 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭

I'd like to try Capoeira.
    I'm based in the southside(D4).
    I've looked back through the entire last year of posts on this forum and found no info (except a link to www.odacapoeira.com which is dead).

Anyone any ideas or link to clubs where I can get started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

Here's a link to get you started:

http://www.capoeiraireland.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

This is us www.candeiasdublin.com

We're the nice group ;) And our website works (whereas the officina one didn't at last check). Our instructor has just been promoted to a professor of capoeira. We hold classes on wednesday thursday and friday.

Wednesday and friday in the Carmelite Community Centre just up from George's street, 9 and 8 pm respectively.

Thursday is in the draíocht in blanchardstown. If you have any questions drop them in here and I'll be happy to answer them... If you come to a class ask for Pele and he'll sort you out; tell him Cabelo sent you.

Also I've posted an absolute raft of info in the past month or two; look harder next month. Check out the TMA/MMA thread for the longest post ever involving capoeira.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Cabelo wrote:
    This is us www.candeiasdublin.com

We're the nice group ;) And our website works (whereas the officina one didn't at last check). Our instructor has just been promoted to a professor of capoeira. We hold classes on wednesday thursday and friday.

Wednesday and friday in the Carmelite Community Centre just up from George's street, 9 and 8 pm respectively.

Thursday is in the draíocht in blanchardstown. If you have any questions drop them in here and I'll be happy to answer them... If you come to a class ask for Pele and he'll sort you out; tell him Cabelo sent you.

Also I've posted an absolute raft of info in the past month or two; look harder next month. Check out the TMA/MMA thread for the longest post ever involving capoeira.
    Cool!

Search is disabled so I just browsed the thread titles and first lines :(
    Do you hold morning classes?

No, none at all. Only evening. The Officina Di Capoeira hold morning classes but we don't really get on with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Cabelo wrote:
    The Officina Di Capoeira ... but we don't really get on with them.
    Why not?

We were doing a demo at a street roda on the same day as them (though far enough away that we weren't hounding their crowd or anything) and they sent a few (hulks of) lads down to "say hello".

Long story short they played some very aggressive capoeira and got given out to by a really old mestre. It was weird to see these huge lads turned away by a small old guy speaking in slow portuguese but we had a translater. He basically told them they should be ashamed of themselves, now go back to your own club...

Also, as the recently banned Kev attested to me at the meet, "If they don't deem you worth teaching they seem to just leave you to your own devices."

Anyway, I won't propoganda you. All of the above can be seen from our view or their's. I'm sure they'd say the same so here's my advice. Check us out and check them out. See where you prefer training and stick with it. I like to think I'll see you around :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Cabelo wrote:
    Also, as the recently banned Kev attested to me at the meet, "If they don't deem you worth teaching they seem to just leave you to your own devices."
    Can't say I know anything about Candeias, but that's bull**** right there.

Officina have lots of classes all based in and around the south city centre. The chaps are friendly, and the instructors are great.

www.capoeiraireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Thinking of making my way up to the lessons on Thurday at the Draìocht. Its always been something thats interested me. Is there much beginners there?

First off, Baz, I have to say sorry for that. All of the Officina guys I've played with have been top notch but that is all I've heard of their classes from somebody involved with neither club who can't be biased. No offence was intended and I did mention that it was Kev who said it (and we all know he's been known to troll ;) but we love yer kev).

Garth, the club is always open to beginners and two or three started in blanch just over a week ago. Don't worry about it. Since the college thing is just starting up again the classes are empty enough for you to begin comfortably. If you drop in you'll be able to watch and see what you think before trying or anything too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 stayhuman

Hi Cabelo,

my name is Smorfete and I've been training with Oficina da Capoeira Dublin since the very beginning. I've been helping Professor Sansao in the management of the group so far and shared with him his enthusiasm, integrity and honesty for this Brazilian art form.
    Just a couple of things:
    1. Roda in Grafton street (2003): I wonder if you were there or if you have ever been to Brazil. It happens sometimes that when you join a street roda of another group the "atmosphere" becomes hot. I am not saying I agree with that, but this is nothing new. But this does not mean that our "teachers" are violent and I would invite you to tell the truth about what happened that day. But anyway...
    2. Candeias and Odc Dublin: If you don't get on with us this is your personal problem and attitude. We don't have any issues with your group at all. Dublin is big enough for more than one group and everybody can benefit from a loyal confrontation. We joined your batizado in Galway and we invited your Professor to join ours and he baptized some of our students as well. We had students that had some personal problems with one of our teachers and another one who thought that our style didn't suit him but who loved capoeira....and it was me who gave them Mestre Pelè's telephone number so that they could keep on training capoeira. It was at the very beginning when you didn't have any classes in town. The guys are still training with you and you can ask them. And we are still in good relationship.
    3. ODC classes: We have been giving classes in Dublin since October 2002. The main Oficina da Capoeira group is a "small" group compared to Candeias in Brazil, but still we believe in what we do and we do not lower anybody else's style just to look or sound better. You can ask loads of your galway students who were here for our batizado last year or those who trained with us for more than 6 months.
    4. Web site: Our website is up and running and it was down for 2 months in june cause we into an internet scum at the time of the renewl. So please if you want to advertise yous, do it in a keen style.

Please keep on playing and training capoeira, but leave mean judgements and not completely true reports on the side.
    We have our batizado coming this weekend and you are welcome to come and see this "violent hulkish crowd" of people training.

Sorry for the long replay but it was due I think...towards all our students, our teaching team and especially for me who has been dedicating the last 4 years of my life to this group.

Smorfete

Hello Smorfete,

Firstly, I'd like to stand up, swallow my pride and apologise. I am happy to see other capoeirista on the boards and apologise that it was in offence that you first came here. You have been brought here for the wrong reasons and I am truly sorry for it.

I also understand that a roda can become heated, though at the time I was very new to capoeira and had no foreknowledge or expectation of it and so I was very surprised. It is clear that looking back on it as I was I had some very rose tinted glasses. It had never occurred to me to reconsider. The problem was that this was my first impression of the Officina class and since then anything negative I had heard about the class had made it very easy to demonise them; seeing so calm and eloquent a reply has very much rethink this attitude.

The reason I post here under my own name is so that I don't give my grupo a bad rap because of anything I say. Candeias isn't represented by me in the least and I would far rather people think badly of me myself because I have misrepresented them than think poorly of them.

Also, I have no idea about the sizes of the Officina or Candeias groups in Brazil, it doesn't bother me in the least. I have since seen videos of the Galway Batizado and am happy to say that there was no animosity at all. Furthermore I have played some of my favourite games with people training with the Officina.

I also apologise for the "hulk" comment, I'm only a wee strip of a lad myself so hulk is a word I use often.

Once again I apologise and am further sorry if I reflected badly on my group. I hope you will be forgiving if not of me then of everyone else and not allow what I said to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 stayhuman

Hi Cabelo,

thanks for your answer...I really appreciated and fair play to you!
    Hope to meet you at some stage.

Thanks a lot once again
    Smorfete
    Oficina da Capoeira Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 coneyre

Hi Cabelo,

Do you do private lessons at all? Im very new to Capoeira and a bit nervous about starting in a group. I would like to get a couple of one on one lessons and then join the classes. I know its weird but its just something id like to do.

Thanks,
    Con

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭goo

I understand being embarrassed or worried about going as a beginner, but the class I went to and probably all the capoeira classes in Ireland are pretty much geared for beginners. Its totally new to our country, you have no reason to be embarrassed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭bassman22

whats the difference between oficina de capoeira and candeias? are they both capoeira, is one more traditional and one more sparring orientated or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 salty_30022

hiya
    sorry this doesn't really answer your question... i don't know about the difference between the two groups but just to let you know that "Oficina da Capoeira" is now "Mundo Capoeira" (www.capoeiraireland.com )... ... essentially same group, and still taught by Mestrando Sansao who is a really great teacher, along with Graduado Feijozinho (sp?!)
    but coneyre, i imagine whether or not you go with candeias or mundo (maybe give both a go and see which suits you best?) , beginners are always welcome and capoeira is lots of fun, especially when there are lots of people. Goo is right, capoeira in ireland is so young that its not as intimidating as it might be in brazil, the classes are friendly and encouraging... so i say, give a class a go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

beginner Capoeira classes starting at SBG

9.30-11am
    Saturdays starting April 26th
    €10 per session
    open to all, no need to be a member of SBG

Instructor
    Andre Ramos

2001-03 - National Champion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 yummy mummy

Hi, was wondering is there any capoeira classes in Kerry and if not will there be some time in the future as I would love to start learning it? Would be grateful for any info. :o:):):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Is Capoeira more about the dancey/artsy side, or the MA side?

I wanna learn some flips, and indeed be the next Eddie Gordo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

unreggd wrote: »
    Is Capoeira more about the dancey/artsy side, or the MA side?

My humble opinions, from my limited experience...

It's hard to say that either is favoured.
    Everything has a martial/fighting element but it's not just about how effective it is, it's equally about the performance.

When sparring (roda) you are performing the movements and trying to outwit your opponent, the crowd can interact by speeding or slowing the music and players should respond to this. The winner (which is not necessarily important) will be decided by the person who is more cunning (capoeira is sometimes reffered to as the art of cunning) than his opponent or the person that has performed better.

It's a martial art that doesn't take itself too seriously. It's not overly concerned with practicality. Some people will say balancing on your head and spinning around has nothing to do with fighting (rightly so) but anyone who I've seen practise capoeira to a fairly high standard usually has a level of dexterity, agility, conditioning and fighting skill that would make them a formidable opponent in any situation.

..........what a rant that was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Jimmy Trigger

..........what a rant that was!

A fantastic and valid rant I say.

I have been doin Angola in Kilkenny since last september
    under Contra-mestre Alexandre. It's actually finishing up now
    but I want to continue training, so if anyone can reccomend
    somewhere i would be most greatful.

It is def the most fun I have ever had with a Martial Art.
    Def doesnt take it self to serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Patrick7878

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gorman

Are people generally "cool" when they start capoeira or does capoeira make you cool once you do it for a while?

serious question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

Both. Lots of pretty cool people are attracted to it, and it generally makes you 'cooler', in that its an interpersonal and quite relational dance-of-movement-and-deception.

If your best friend knocks you on your butt frequently, it can actually be quite a liberating experience in terms of your own ego etc.

Plus being fit does make you look and feel healthier, which adds into the 'cool' thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Barry0

Do you need a pretty decent level of fitness at the beginning to start learning capoeira, or does that come along with the practice of the game?

I've been to Brazil five times and saw Capoeira for the first time there in Santos, Sao Paulo, which really caught my interest as it was unlike anything I'd seen before, but it's only now that I'm actually taking an interest in learning it now that I discovered there are groups in Dublin.

However, I'm in my mid-thirties now, and overweight (not fat, but I do have a tummy, like most men in my age group, I guess), and am not physically fit right now. Will I need to work on my fitness first before I can actually start classes, or am I ok to just turn up to a class?

I did send an email query through the capoeiraireland.com site asking this a few days ago but got no reply yet.

Also, are most of the instructors Brazilian themselves? I speak fluent Portuguese thanks to the time I spent in Brazil, don't know whether that would be a help or a hindrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

You will build up fitness as you train and you'll have fun doing it.
    You don't need to work on your fitness first just have a look around for a beginners class and go along. You'll build up gradually.

I think the vast majority of clubs have a brazilian instructor but speaking portugese can only be a help. The names of the techniques are all in portugese.

Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

Turn up would be my advice. You'll probably be highly aware of your quads for a week or so, and not enjoy climbing stairs, but once you get over the initial shock, you'll enjoy yourself. Go along and try it: the ginga is a great basic fitness technique and the base of the majority of the movements. Plus if you enjoy it, gives great motivation to exercise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭dbyrne

I trained with both clubs a few years ago (and with smorfeta in SCR) and they are both very decent clubs who are intersted in teaching you capoeira. Very friendly, good classes, great for fitness, sometimes the classes can be too big for the halls they use but the groups were divided up into sections depending on your skills. I would recommend both clubs, each has their own style of teaching both of whih are good.
    1 thing to note, if you are not used to trainig in bare feet they are going to get very sore, especially in scr as it has wooden floors, for the first while untill you get used to it, if you work on your feet all day it can be hard but well worth it in the end.
    go to the classes, both types if you can and pica favourite and enjoy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ronio

This mightn't be 'the done thing', but there are a few threads running throught this blog, and I can see similarities in conversations I might have with people in general... I know Cabelo, and I think I have met stayhuman too. Lemmie give my response to a few people here, it might give them some 'enlightenment'... :P

yummy mummy - Testa teaches in Kerry, Killarney, I think

unreggd - Eddie Gordo means "Fat Eddie". If you train Capoeira, you will become less fat (but maybe more phatt)

Charlie3dan - not a rant at all! You're right. You are physically active, agile and able. Able, not only to "defend yourself", but able to see people in a way that the body never lies. You can almost see what people are going to do before they do it!

Gorman - Everybody is 'cool'!

Barry0 - You should be ashamed of yourself...! (not too much!)
    Go-along to whatever class you want, enjoy yourself, and don't waste 1 minute thinking whether you'll be able to do it or not! :)
    Being to be able to speak Portuguese will add to the experience! You will enjoy the extraordinary ability you have, which is kind-of what it is all about!

So,
    I trained Capoeira for about 6 years in Ireland, between Galway and Dublin. What I can see is that sometimes people are apprehensive that they won't be able to 'do' the things that they see in the roda when they begin. Well, they'd be right! They won't be able to do all of these things. However, that doesn't mean you shouldn't give it a go.

It takes years of practice and experience to be able to do these feats of cordinated acrobatic self defence, or offensive movements that look so good. All anybody can do is try. In doing that, you will walk away feeling that you have tried, and guaranteed you feel better for having tried.

So, put aside your fears, and shame on you Cabelo for talking about what you don't really know about, but I can see that you were just talking about what was in front of your eyes, and what some people were talking about afterwards. If you were a good student, you would listen to what your teacher was saying... eh? Don't forget, I remember that day, and don't let your enthusiasm run away with you young fla' ! Life happens!

Actually it is said that: in the roda, you see life... the body never lies, and I believe this to be true. So be honest, and remember anybody can post a reply to a blog...

For me, the only thing I am hung-up on is thee price of classes in Dublin. Everything else is as you see it. Capoeira is about you, and the people around you. It is as much an inner discipline as it is an outer 'display'. If you like it, try it, and you will never regret this. You might, however regret never having tried it.

Axé amigos. I pity the poor souls. Be strong always. Love and happiness para tudo mundo,

Camaleao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 madnz

I have been doin Angola in Kilkenny since last september
    under Contra-mestre Alexandre. It's actually finishing up now
    but I want to continue training, so if anyone can reccomend
    somewhere i would be most greatful.

you can find capoeira angola in dublin: www.capoeiradublin.com . we are the only angola gruop in dublin. ie

madnz