Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Backers for London EPT event?

• 26-09-2005 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭

I'm trying to get the cash together to travel over to London this weekend to play in the EPT event on there. I missed all of the satellites on pokerstars and the £3,000 buy in is a little too much of my bankroll for me to risk the whole lot myself, so I thought some of you might be interested in buying a stake in me. Just think of how exciting it will be checking antesup every ten minutes to read about all of the horrible mistakes I've made. Anyway, I've had some pretty good results in the past and I feel like I'm playing really well at the moment, I got very unlucky a load of times in Barcelona which resulted in me not winning any cash over there so I'm hoping to go to London and have a change of fortunes.
    The deal on offer would be that if one of you say gave me 10% of the buy in, they'd be entitled to 75% of any winnings on that 10%. So if I won £100,000, you'd get back £7,500.
    I think most of you know me here and know that I'm not going to pull a legger on you, so if you're interested just pm me and we can sort something out.
    Cheers, Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Marbella went well then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

dave u have a neck like ajockeys bollix asking for that good luck but i wouldnt expecta line of people wanting too invest u never know but.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

You'd be surprised howmany people would take a share in someone. It is a very common practice. Dave has a good tournament record, especially his 2nd in the EPT last year. The deal he is offering is standard in the industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Alright Oscar,
    Got it all in for 40% of chips in play with 6 left holding AK on AJ2 board, other guy had A7, river 7...

Mick,
    It's worth a try anyway isn't it? £3000 is alot of money for me to put up alone, I'm not looking for any huge chunk from any one individual, just a hundred here and there. Would make it a bit more interesting for them if they're following it on antesup.com and it would make it a little cheaper for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

And people laughed when Andy Black was looking for backers before the WSOP!!
    How much was it that Tom Hanlon got? $170k for an investment of a couple of grand.
    Best of luck with it Dave - if I win in the Fitz on thurs I'll help you out!

dave with your pedigree it is worth atry u have coinfidence to ask so you will have the coinfidence too play wasent meant to slate u id give u a few quid if i wasent half broke 3000 for student is heaps im sure youll get it good luck regardless

mark tom hanlon is one of the biggest online winners in europe so acouple of grand is nowt when us ee him in laddies with a 30000 geand stack ina 15 30 omaha game your loaded not from poker so bank roll young dave there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Hi Dave. How much of yourself are you selling? I think a good idea would be put up a number of shares at a certain price and sell them off at say €50 a share.

Yeah no worries Mick. If you have any luck over the next few days you know where to come with the winnings! I'm going to put up €1000 myself and Peter Roche told me to talk to him if I got 3/4 of the buy in together. I think I'll be able to rustle up €1,000 off family members so it's just another €1000 I need really. Hopefully the fitz tonight will go well and I won't have to go begging like this lol.

Good luck on Thursday so Mark! You heading in tonight?

yeah that's a good idea Nicky. I have to talk to my brother and Dad to find out how much they want to take and then I'll know how much more I have to sell.

Mick you should rephrase it as I'd be loaded 'only for poker'.

Best of luck tonight Dave, I can't make it. I don't think you'll have any problems getting backers and it was nice of you to offer here first! I'm currently trying to save enough to get into the Dublin event.

It is a shame how much these events are costing nowadays.
    2 years ago it only cost 1500 to play the winter festival in the Merrion, now its costing 4000.

mark dunno what im saying too be honest 4k is ahuge amount for a game ordianery joe soap has little chance 18 months ago i paid 1500 off my own money but id never pay 4grand i knwo u have a morgtage mark poker stars have a 380 sat could be value oct 1st

sickpuppy wrote:
    mark dunno what im saying too be honest 4k is ahuge amount for a game ordianery joe soap has little chance 18 months ago i paid 1500 off my own money but id never pay 4grand i knwo u have a morgtage mark poker stars have a 380 sat could be value oct 1st

I figure if i win a 4k+ tournament before then i can justify it - I've won the 10k guaranteed on Paddy Power 3 times in the last few weeks and came 2nd in the Merrion 500 so if I do it one more time I'll pay in.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

If I'm not utterly broke, I'll back you Dave. I've seen you play, its worth a punt but it would be small money. I'll talk to you over there.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

this time last month I woulda went in for a couple of hundred but man, whata couple of crappy months. good luck dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 10pin

dave i would be interested in a slice of u if u havent sold out already!
    will u be in the merrion 2nite?

I should be 10pin, presuming that's Al is it?

Daithio wrote:
    I should be 10pin, presumbing that's Al is it?

It must be with a name like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 10pin

Daithio wrote:
    I should be 10pin, presumbing that's Al is it?
    the one and only

Cool, I'll see you there so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

What would be a minimum contribution? As I have a free ticket for Thursday I might have a few hundred if needed. Every little helps.
    Ask 10pinal or 5pin5 on Thursday and they will point me out. (hint - I had a busy week with the arms de-commissioning)

Are you still collecting and is Thursday in the Fitz ok?
    I read back through the posts and realised you showed me a set of 7's on table two on Monday and took half my stack. :mad:
    I work in the airport so if needed could meet you there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I might be interested in this. I assume you will be reporting back at the price of shares etc. or PM me. I'll pop into the fitz tomorrow if needs be.

I've worked out that €200 buys you 3.5% of me. The buy in is £3050, which was €4400 last night on xe.com, and I'm going to stick to this number because it's fairly round. €200 is actually 4.5% of that, but as I explained I'm keeping 25% for myself, and 3/4 of 4.5% works out to roughly 3.5%. So for €100 you'd get 1.75%, for €400 7% etc etc. I've heard this is pretty fair, normally a backer would be in for only 70% of their stake, but I'm making it 75% because I'm so generous.

Ok I've successfully managed to make that sound alot more complicated than it actually is but I'm sure you all get the gist by now. I reckon to keep it simple I'm going to make €100 the minimum contribution, if you want to buy more than that feel free! I'm heading off either tomorrow or Thursday (most likely Thursday) so if you want in pm me and I'll sort out getting the cash off you tomorrow (wednesday) in the fitz, thanks again, Dave.

Oh yeah, and if you are going to buy a stake I'm sure the coverage of the event and my progress will be as usual done excellently by Tom on antesup.com.

kincesm I'm presuming that's Sean? I don't think there's anybody else I beat with a set of 7s on table two in the fitz on Monday! Yes I'm still taking stakes, keeping it at €100 min just to keep it simple. I'll be gone by Thursday but I'll be going through the airport at some stage so I could meet you. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Dave, good luck man,
    exciting times.
    and if i hadda bleedin won tonight instead of coming fifth i woulda put up 12%.
    next time chief!
    des

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

We'll be there. Mike's only gone and won himself a ticket. Jammy fuker always manages to find some way to wangle it so that I write and he plays :):)

DeV.

David
    Sent you a private message. Please contact me today a.m. is possible. :)