Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ebay should be hacked, Touts making Thousands.

• 22-09-2005 6:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭

link
    I know, I know, it's the same every year but this time it is like ten times worse, 2 [EDIT] not 6 [EDIT] tickets sold yesterday for €12,000 that €6,000 a ticket this is disgraceful, moves should be made to stop these scum getting tickets. These racketteers are making thousands and ebay are of course profiting too, they were forced by public pressure to ban Live8 tickets and we as GAA supporters should stand up and rebel against ebay for the treactury. It is robbing hundreds of decent supporters of the chance of a ticket while rich "expats" and foolish rich people here are buying them and playing it right into the hands of these touts. Mods i know my thread title is a bit off the scales but i know we all fell the same, I have my ticket and i am thinking of my own situation a few years ago, "The Championship" last night on BBC1 really touched me, there were hundreds on Tyronians without tickets, Kerry people are in a similar situation, It is the likes of this that keeps genuine fans at home. The GAA should do something as it is a disgrace. BTW the championship is repeated again tonight at 11.20PM on BBC2 NI - Sky Channel 170

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Touts only exist because the demand is there...
    If people stopped buying from them at these crazy prices, they wouldnt exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

they deserve every penny they get if people of stupid enough to buy off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

12000 divided by 6 is 2000 each

why blame ebay, where do the touts get the tickets in the first place... from the gaa obviously as ticket distributors

anybody that buys a ticket from a tout should send their seat number to the gaa. that way the gaa can find out exactly where that ticket was sourced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

If there are tickets, there will be touts. A sad fact. I have my ticket got, so I am happy.

I caught a bit of the Championship on Wednesday night. When they went interviewing people in Kerry, I was surprised to see my cousin - the woman with dark hair and dark clothes and a baby in the shop - being interviewed briefly. I didn't even get to hear what she said. She lives in Kerry and is married to a Kerryman, but she is actually from Roscommon.
    Up Tyrone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I'm assuming that some of the tickets the touts have are from the allocation the residents around Croke Park receive.

Or am I being unfair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

No you are not being unfair......that's where alot of the tickets come from, pays for the Croke Park residents holidays every year. Actually this year was an exceptionally good one for the 'locals' with Galway and Cork demand absolutely mental, not to mention U2 concerts etc....
    They'll be spending Christmas in the Carribean this year methinks. :mad:

The only thing I'm going to say is that I haven't as much sympathy this year for Kerry people without tickets.
    I don't mean that to be disrespectful on an individual basis, as you can be sure that it is the genuine fan who hasn't a ticket, and I'm sorry about them, but this lark of 'only travelling up for the final' only serves to feed my apathy.
    The fact that they are there every second year also means it's hardly a 'one in a lifetime' experience for them. It is a generalisation I know, but I'm being honest.
    Tyrone always have tickets, so there will be very few of them who are badly stuck.

If Laois or Cavan or some team that hasn't been there in decades, I certainly feel more strongly about it, and have done so in the past when my own county were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'd agree with Culchie. Last year I had a manager where I work who never ventured near a Kerry game all year. Suddenly they're in the final and he has two tickets. Not very fair to people who went all year and it really angers me.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

My uncle-in-law is a Kerryman in New York. He tells me that he could get tickets for the All Ireland no problem whenever Kerry make it. He actually told me there when he was home a month or so ago (for the Mayo game) that if Dublin made it to the final against Kerry that he would definately go to the final. I find it amazing how easy it is to get tickets over there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I find it amazing how easy it is to get tickets over there...

The clubs in America get a number of tickets like other clubs, however the numbers that are willing\able to go to a final are much smaller than clubs in Ireland so the preception is that they can get a ticket easly.

As for eBay well it's a market isin't it, those willing to pay that money will find a seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I suppose, like so much in life, it's a case of who you know. I can get tickets for any big match without too much trouble because my father has so many contacts in the loop. That said I remember paying way over the odds a few years ago for a spur-of-the-moment Hill 16 ticket for Galway and Kildare, it actually pained me to have to hand over the money to a 'tashe wearing fat Dub tout!
    I remember one Mayo-woman outside the Gresham last year, she was carrying a hand-made sign offering €500 for a pair of tickets. And I thought it was madness...IIRC a number of friends of mine with marginal interest in either Kerry or Mayo or the game of football got free tickets via a corporate sponsor last year and probably ignored the game while there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Personally I reckon you should have to show ticket stubs from at least two earlier games (be they club or country) in order to be entitled to buy a final ticket. Every year the real fans get fúcked over while there are people in Croker asking how many points are in a goal! The GAA have shown their fans nothing but contempt in the way they've dealt with the distribution of tickets.

Sleepy wrote:
    Personally I reckon you should have to show ticket stubs from at least two earlier games (be they club or country) in order to be entitled to buy a final ticket. Every year the real fans get fúcked over while there are people in Croker asking how many points are in a goal! The GAA have shown their fans nothing but contempt in the way they've dealt with the distribution of tickets.

On the contrary, I think the GAA distribution is good

The vast majority of tickets go to clubs, so they decide how they are distributed to members.
    There is no public sale so it's harder for touts to get them.
    Corportae tickets are a fact of life, they help pay for the running of the Association

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

netwhizkid wrote:
    link
    I know, I know, it's the same every year but this time it is like ten times worse, 2 [EDIT] not 6 [EDIT] tickets sold yesterday for €12,000 that €6,000 a ticket this is disgraceful, moves should be made to stop these scum getting tickets. These racketteers are making thousands and ebay are of course profiting too, they were forced by public pressure to ban Live8 tickets and we as GAA supporters should stand up and rebel against ebay for the treactury. It is robbing hundreds of decent supporters of the chance of a ticket while rich "expats" and foolish rich people here are buying them and playing it right into the hands of these touts. Mods i know my thread title is a bit off the scales but i know we all fell the same, I have my ticket and i am thinking of my own situation a few years ago, "The Championship" last night on BBC1 really touched me, there were hundreds on Tyronians without tickets, Kerry people are in a similar situation, It is the likes of this that keeps genuine fans at home. The GAA should do something as it is a disgrace. BTW the championship is repeated again tonight at 11.20PM on BBC2 NI - Sky Channel 170
    You're dead right to be hacked off, and touting really gets my goat as well. It would seem that the tout tickets that are coming onstream are not 'club' tickets that were distributed by the GAA for the 'faithful' but rather 'sweetner' tickets which the locals around Drumcondra may find coming their way. I guess there are folks there who don't want to go to the game, and flogging the tickets is as good a way to fund that weekend in kenmare/london/prague as any other.

If what I hear is true then those who have bought from touts will have the opportunity to shop them using a special coupon which is being inserted in the programme at the final. Thus the number on the ticket will be traceable and the person who touted in 2005 may find they're not gonna be able to do it agagin.

tbh Netwhizkid, with the All-Ireland there's simply NO way that everybody who wants to go can go. If I'm honest, I'd say there's not even a way that everybody who DESERVES to go, can go. Like crime, taxes, and Pat Kenny, over-subscribed All Irelands...they'll always be with us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

ionapaul wrote:
    I suppose, like so much in life, it's a case of who you know. I can get tickets for any big match without too much trouble because my father has so many contacts in the loop. That said I remember paying way over the odds a few years ago for a spur-of-the-moment Hill 16 ticket for Galway and Kildare, it actually pained me to have to hand over the money to a 'tashe wearing fat Dub tout!
    I remember one Mayo-woman outside the Gresham last year, she was carrying a hand-made sign offering €500 for a pair of tickets. And I thought it was madness...IIRC a number of friends of mine with marginal interest in either Kerry or Mayo or the game of football got free tickets via a corporate sponsor last year and probably ignored the game while there!

Oh no, Poker Dudes have invaded the GAA forum ;)

Mayo people really did think that last year was gonna be the year :o , so €500 for 2 tickets was 'cheap'. I personally seen €1000 paid over by a tout and sold 20 mins later for €1500 to a customer he had lined up.
    Thousands flew in from New York, London etc.... and it is normally these people that feed the frenzy, I can't see the match on Sunday being like that. Hang around city centre and Dorset street and I think some tickets will emerge.
    I believe weather is promised not great for Sunday, so that's another load of tickets that will be up for grabs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I agree with the fact that Kerry fans really only travel up for finals. Jeez I try to follow my county everywhere for Championship. If I am honest I get to very few league games because I'm living in Cork and most Kildares league games seem to be in the Northern half of the country.

Maybe it's time the GAA looked at it's distribution of tickets for All -Ireland finals. Why are there over 600 tickets going to past presidents of the GAA? I'm assuming there only only around 15/20 past presidents so thats around 30 tickets each!! Why? The participating county should also receive more tickets. I do not think every club in the country should get 4 tickets (am i right in saying 4?). I know that over 24,000 go to other counties. Thats too many. It should be halved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

moshpit77 wrote:
    12000 divided by 6 is 2000 each
    He said 2 NOT 6.

How much are tickets for an AllIreland Football final at face value anyway? Can you only buy them after the the two finalists have been determined or can you buy them anytime without the knowledge of whos even playing (ie like WorldCup finals tickets..)

Pigman II wrote:
    He said 2 NOT 6.

How much are tickets for an AllIreland Football final at face value anyway? Can you only buy them after the the two finalists have been determined or can you buy them anytime without the knowledge of whos even playing (ie like WorldCup finals tickets..)

Tickets to All-Ireland final do not go on general sale, they are distributed through the Association to clubs etc.
    Face value upper canal stand ticket is €60

Flukey posted a chart from a few years back showing the distribution of tickets, does anyone have the link to the thread ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

Pigman II wrote:
    He said 2 NOT 6.

He said 6 then edited it when I pointed out his mistake, get it right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Relax lads, I believe there have been no genuine sales of All Ireland tickets on e-bay of anything approaching a grand a ticket, never mind €6k per ticket.

There has been a concerted effort by a small group of GAA fans from another forum to wreck all All Ireland ticket auctions on e-bay by posting bids with no intention of every paying.

They've been clever about it - never bidding ridiculous amounts, just enough for the greedy scum to think they're making a killing.

One guy was "successful" in 12 different auctions, with a total payout of over €9,500. He of course has no intention of paying a penny. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

tbh im not that upset by that news !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

I thought exactly the same thing when i heard how much the all-ireland tickets were been sold for. You can buy them for 60 euro(if your lucky enough to be able to find one) and on ebay they were been sold for over 1k.

I think ebay should stop these people from selling the tickets on the site and give them a warning not to do it again. But if they do it again they should throw them off the site and not let them on for a year or something like that.

What does everyone else think of this? Anyone agree with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think there is no way ebay will restrict the sale of tickets for matches on its site.