Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AUL Friday night

• 22-09-2005 11:15am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anybody playing this week...?I am 80% certain I can play this week,I just hope I have no work on Saturday.I have been hearing storys about the final table last week and it seems it was a bit crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Im thinking of venturing over. Got a new car, so any excuse for a spin across the city. Would 8.30 be time enough to get there at?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

yea,official start time is 9 but more like 9:15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Dub13 wrote:
    Anybody playing this week...?I am 80% certain I can play this week,I just hope I have no work on Saturday.I have been hearing storys about the final table last week and it seems it was a bit crazy.

Crazy is an understatment it was the most bizarre final table ever.

I'll be there all right, was first out off the final table last week so I'll be looking to do a bit better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Not tomorrow night...heading West. See you next week though.

Will take a spin up to Drogheda this evening though, hopefully 4th Final Table in a row at Shortstack's tourneys :)

I am looking for my third Final Table in a row at Shortstack's tourneys....catching up on you Culchie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Culchie wrote:
    Not tomorrow night...heading West. See you next week though.

Will take a spin up to Drogheda this evening though, hopefully 4th Final Table in a row at Shortstack's tourneys :)

you reach another final table here and im staking you in future :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

What time does it start tonight? Might give this a go, seen its getting so much positive feedback. I'll try to keep Clulchie of the final table.lol

It's tomorrow night

usually starts around 9.15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Sorry, the game in Drogheda tonight?

9.30 start, 9pm for bonus chips

Sorry, I think it's the same time, culchie might know.

how far is it from dub?

might spin up myself

anyone got directions?

were will you be coming from...?

25/30 mins from Dublin Airport, down the M1.

Turn off (Julianstown exit) last exit before toll bridge, head for Drogheda (on old road), through Julianstown, keep going until you come to Hotel Europa on left hand side at crest of hill.

If you come to Drogheda, you have gone too far :D

Will be about 90-95 runners and riders, and not many poor players at all.
    Self Dealt, but they are all regulars at this stage so no big delays or messing.

Dub13 wrote:
    were will you be coming from...?

Cabra DNS!

just jump onto the M1 and then use Culchies direction's you cant miss the hotel.

Cheers,

same start time as the AUL?

ntlbell wrote:
    Cheers,

same start time as the AUL?

See post #11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Both tournaments should start at 9.15pm. As the nights draw in we will be trying to bring the start times back so we can lengthen the levels to give as much play as possible.

Bonus chips will come into play at the AUL from next week. I will be announcing it this week.

We have new technology this week - chip racks & card cuts. Hopefully they come with full instructions :D

Thanks for all the positive feedback. We are striving to create a game that is enjoyable for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

hi lads...how much is the tourny in the AUL?....is a rebuy tourny

jobless wrote:
    hi lads...how much is the tourny in the AUL?....is a rebuy tourny

It is a €25 re-buy so I would budget for €50-€100 spend. Unless you accumulate loads of chips then you will need the 3000 chip add on at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

hope mike does not mind me posting on his Aul thread
    but Culchie i will be trying to run a game in Castlebar on friday nite. :D you said you were coming down for the wkend so i thought id let you know. Im going to base the structure and format on the AUL tourney!! I've modelled it on perfection ;)

It wont be huge numbers and im doin it for free. i believe all if not nearly all money will be in the prizepool. Its in the Castlebar Tennis Club, full bar and pizza+chips at the break!! not sure of the starting time as i have only been drafted into doing it since last night, i let you know later if you are interested.

But all are welcome!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Neviller

Where is AUL held & what is the structure

Doing a little homework Neville ;)

AUL is in Clonshaugh, search the thread for details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Culchie wrote:
    Doing a little homework Neville ;)

AUL is in Clonshaugh, search the thread for details.

Any info on the starting chips and blind structure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Neviller

No, no homework needed just interested in playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

should be there again :)

Starting chips 1000 (there will be a 200 chip bonus from next week for early arrivals)
    1st re-buy 1000
    subsequent re-buys 1500
    Top up 3000

levels 1-6 are 20 mins, 15 mins thereafter. Rebuys until end of level 3.

25/50 50/100 75/150 100/200 200/400 300/600 400/800 500/1000 800/1500 1000/2000 1500/3000 2000/4000 3000/6000 5000/10000 10000/20000

12.5% of prizepool is taken for costs, the rest is paid out in full. Soon there will be €250 taken out of prizepool per €2500 which will go towards a ticket into a monthly €250 Freezeout.

Self deal until Final table.

Oh and first time players have to pay €1 to join AUL club. Parking is €1. Beer is cheaper than most Dublin pubs. Bar closes at 12.30. Poker usually finished by 2.30am.

Sit and go's are available and there are no reg fees for these. Cash games are not allowed under any circumstances.

Culchie,did you make it to the final table Again last night...?

Dub13 wrote:
    Culchie,did you make it to the final table Again last night...?

:( I'm still too upset to talk about it

Went out about 22nd (97 runners I think) ... should have cruised onto final table had a nice stack built, then had a visit from long lost friend 'the stupid fairy', still kicking myself.

Ended up being a long old night. I was surprised to see culchie exit as it looked like he was cruising. Ended up getting split between 1st & 2nd at 3am. €1635 each. Rounders123 was in the mix but got caught with the dolly 10 2. Apparently ollieboy was there after his Paddy Power Speed Tournament experience but I never got to meet him.

Next week bonus chips for those who arrive before 9pm. With the growing numbers we are going to have to start earlier.

AUL tonight is still on. See you all there. So far only culchie & Bigdragon have managed to take down one of my tournaments despite a good boards representation over the last few months. I thought you could all play poker :p

Shortstack wrote:
    So far only culchie & Bigdragon have managed to take down one of my tournaments despite a good boards representation over the last few months. I thought you could all play poker :p

That's fighting talk for ya.

You have a good business head on your shoulders ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Shortstack wrote:
    Rounders123 was in the mix but got caught with the dolly 10 2.

these are the type of hands im playing these days, fcuk it what has AK ever done for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Might show my face down the AUL tonight... first time lucky!
    I got the FOS spirit on my side :)
    fo sheezy ma neezy

RC Dizzle

Shortstack wrote:
    So far only culchie & Bigdragon have managed to take down one of my tournaments despite a good boards representation over the last few months. I thought you could all play poker :p

I am trying to change this....and I am sure a few others are also

Shortstack wrote:

AUL tonight is still on. See you all there. So far only culchie & Bigdragon have managed to take down one of my tournaments despite a good boards representation over the last few months. I thought you could all play poker :p

Be getting taken down tonight, I'm on a roll :cool:

As long as a certain cool hand luke doesn't show up and wipe the floor with us all with his magic, I'm sure you heard all about him!

"Who's it into?"

"YOU!"

"Ok, What is it?"

"call,raise,fold, same as every other hand"

"Ok, who's dealing?"

"the dealer.."

"for who?"

"everyone..."

"ok, how much is it?"

"1000 into you"

*count chips, look at cards, talk to all his friends, have a drink*

"nah"

Every fecking hand!!!

How did last Friday night go then?

BigDragon finished 2nd in between two brothers. Dub13 was 6th, no change there then! (oh yes there was, he is usually 5th!). Results are posted in Antes Up news section as long as I am there. Sadly I will not be there this week as I have to go to London and play in the EPT (what a bind :D ). The tournament is still on however and with the added bonus of extra chips for arriving before 9pm and free chips at the break you would be mad to miss it!

Shortstack wrote:
    BigDragon finished 2nd in between two brothers. Dub13 was 6th, no change there then! (oh yes there was, he is usually 5th!).

I am surprised we have not heard much about Big Dragons inside straight flush draw he hit (while dealing :eek: ) to stay in this last week.As for me I have to up my final table play,I have played this 3 times and got onto the final table 3 times with no win... :o Not sure if I can play this week.