Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On-Line BSOP ?

• 21-09-2005 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

With Winter Nights approaching, I was wondering if this was a runner, run along the same lines as the live BSOP?

I had my name down for BSOP but work committments are going to make it impossible to plan from one day to another (also contemplating leaving Dublin altogether) so had to pull out.

In addition, half the posters on the forum are from outside Dublin, so it would make it possible for them.

The PM service could be used to agree game times, and Pokerstars and Ladbrokes have private game facilities.

Discuss ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I must say I like this idea, I can't make it out to the live games much, due to work and other commitments at home, and so this would be a great idea to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

The reason for the BSOP was to get players together in manageable chunks and to play against others on the forum. Online a regular tournament would be just as good and a lot less hassle to organise. The only thing is it didn't work all that well the last time as players stopped playing after a few tourneys.

Maybe with the influx of new posters/lurkers here a twice monthly game might work well? Having a leaderboard like we had before would be a good idea too imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Personal pref is live tourney

Would collection of cash be an issue on-line for the overall tourny prize fund.

Also if you cant play live due to work you cant play on-line.(Unless its because the significant other just wont let you leave the house)

Granted location is also a problem for those outside dublin. Not sure of the volume of people who reside outside the Pale if there is enough could there be a regional split?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

If you mean Shortstacks tourney on Stars, I was a culprit myself, as the times didn't suit even though it did sometimes.

Also Musician kept knocking me out ;)

I think with the BSOP structure, at least there is some sort of flexibility for the players themselves to organise an appropiate time, even if it's 1am in the morning, as long as it is played by a deadline date.

P.S It's not meant to be put forward as an alternative to the BSOP, just floating an idea on it's own right.... that's all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

I would be up for this. I dont see any problem having both formats. And the final could be a live event anywhere in the country, we could even make a weekend out of it.

The Gecko wrote:
    Personal pref is live tourney

Also if you cant play live due to work you cant play on-line.(Unless its because the significant other just wont let you leave the house)

Gecko, that's a bit of a daft statement, not even bringing up geographical difficulties, there's lots of social reasons why playing live can be difficult for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

is there a trophy!!!

yeah an online game would be good if its a once off $50 freezeout or something similar(with a trophy!) but anything that continues over a course of a few games im out because it will peter out and be a hassle for organisers and players.
    i would prefer an online game as i dont want to hate you all for no good reason by seeing you in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Yep, sounds like a great idea, count me in.

What's happening with the BSOP 05 is it too late to register or?

Culchie wrote:
    Gecko, that's a bit of a daft statement, not even bringing up geographical difficulties, there's lots of social reasons why playing live can be difficult for some.

Such as kids, babysitters, etc. etc.

Not everyone who plays Poker is free and single. Also getting home from work for an on-line tournament at 9 is alot easier and alot different than getting to a tournament in a Casino at 9.

I think I agree with rounders here, I'm not sure the same level of commitment would be found on-line, as in the Live BSOP, As far as I can make out a large part of the appeal of the BSOP (apart from the obvious) is the crack that goes on with your fellow players...

I like the idea of a leader board of some kind, how did that work last time?? And what happened in the end of it, just lost interest??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,316 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I believe muso and imposter were fighting it out for leadership of the boards PokerStars league table, it seems fairly competitive at times! I also like the idea of a boards online event and would rather a €50 once a month than a €10 once a week. I had originally signed up for the BSOP but now realise the my hectic social life (woohoo!) means there is no way I can commit to playing live each month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Sign me up, Like Ollie said a live final would be the job. If people had a good bit of notice, making one live game should be possible.

Maybe a Shorthand E50 FO, with the top two progressing?

ionapaul wrote:
    I believe muso and imposter were fighting it out for leadership of the boards PokerStars league table, it seems fairly competitive at times! I also like the idea of a boards online event and would rather a €50 once a month than a €10 once a week. I had originally signed up for the BSOP but now realise the my hectic social life (woohoo!) means there is no way I can commit to playing live each month.
    The competition got so intense that we were waiting for a 3rd player to come in order to have enough players to play a game! In the end I declared myself the winner :D

I'm not sure a $50 once a month would work. It's a lot of money for some and there's easier $50 games to be found than playing against boards members. The PPP $30 game was a flop mainly for this reason. I'd suggest a lower buy-in around $10 or $20. After all it's numbers, craic and bragging rights we are after and not neccesarily big prize pools. Maybe running a poll would be an idea to see how much interest is there now!

Yeh, I don't propose re-inventing the wheel or anything.

I think the BSOP has a perfect structure and flexibility to work on-line as well ... heats etc... just have an on-line equivalent that all boardsters can play throughout the country

A $10 heat is surely workable, and something to look forward to if only for bragging/embarrassment rights.

Imposter wrote:
    I'm not sure a $50 once a month would work. It's a lot of money for some and there's easier $50 games to be found than playing against boards members. The PPP $30 game was a flop mainly for this reason. I'd suggest a lower buy-in around $10 or $20. After all it's numbers, craic and bragging rights we are after and not neccesarily big prize pools. Maybe running a poll would be an idea to see how much interest is there now!

Amen. :cool: :cool:
    I think you hit the nail on the head there, if you're looking for a nice prize pool and a $50 buy-in, you'll find a hell of alot easier games than this one. :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭jd

isn't there an invite only pigsback competition on pp.com? Perhaps they could arrange something?

Will set up a poll and see.

If we have the numbers Pokerstars or Ladbrokes is probably best with private tables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Culchie wrote:
    Yeh, I don't propose re-inventing the wheel or anything.

I think the BSOP has a perfect structure and flexibility to work on-line as well ... heats etc... just have an on-line equivalent that all boardsters can play throughout the country

A $10 heat is surely workable, and something to look forward to if only for bragging/embarrassment rights.

I think with something like this someone needs to take the lead and start doing something first, e.g. create a registration page or some such or we'll end up talking about it for months.

so culchie..I choose you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

What about a series of online events with a higher buy in main event? Possible prizes for event winners and main prize for overall best performer?

Event #1 $10 PLO
    Event #2 $10 NLHE
    Event #3 $10 7C Stud
    Event #4 $10 LMHE
    Event #5 $10 PLO8
    Event #6 $10 PLHE
    Event #7 $10 Heads Up NLHE matches
    Event #8 $30 NLHE (Main Event)

We'll get player's names first and take it from there ??

There's only a few that have all your poker repetoire Nicky. :)

Culchie wrote:
    We'll get player's names first and take it from there ??

There's only a few that have all your poker repetoire Nicky. :)

I just think dragging it out over such a long period is a bit much for online tournaments. We could do this over a a few weeks.

That's also fine by me.

Maybe twice a month or something.

Let's see if there is a demand first, and take it from there.

I'd be up for this. A shorthand NL (or PL) Holdem game would be good too! We could call it the BCOOP! (ahem)

Imposter wrote:
    I'd be up for this. A shorthand NL (or PL) Holdem game would be good too! We could call it the BCOOP! (ahem)

BCOOP sounds great! Not sure if I can set up shorthanded games on Stars.

We could do 2 events a week so it runs over a single month.

???

Ye I agree here with Nicky, I don't think the same format as the BSOP will work on-line, e.g. what's the story with the money for the grand final, who'll be collecting that, when will it have to be paid, etc. etc.,
    If it was over a shorter period or a different set-up, possibly a series of events culminating in a Main Event,

Any chance PPP Pit-Boss could sort something out for us??? Possibly some added prizes, :D:D doubtful, but you get nothing if you don't ask, :rolleyes: might get a few of us back to PPP ;););)

EDIT:
    Just caught up on the latest, I think the two events a week for a month is a brilliant idea, if possible to set up,

Good Stuff .... left in your capable hands then Nicky .

Do we have to get it sponsored?

Stars has all the games, and the blinds and the private tables.

Don't have to, just thought might get some free money added in,
    PokerStars is fine too, I'm just going with the flow.
    Leaving it to more capable hands than me. Just my 0.2c......

Culchie wrote:
    Good Stuff .... left in your capable hands then Nicky .

Well I only suggested this format because I've done somthing similar for another site and it was a lot of fun with a lot of players going into the main event still with a chance of taking the overall lead. We used the points system from twodimes.net but they've since taken it away. I think I still have the formula in an excel file but we could use the Bodog system which is basically the same OR we could just go by who wins the most $ as the overall winner whcih would probably be easier.

I can set these tournaments up on Pokerstars for the month of Novemeber but its just a suiggestion. Majority rules.

Sound good to me Nicky, fair play.

Now, Omaha is that game with all the grey hair people playing it isn't it? :)

Culchie wrote:
    Sound good to me Nicky, fair play.

Now, Omaha is that game with all the grey hair people playing it isn't it? :)

Yeah the one where you play all the hands that look pretty and fold the ugly ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

count me in lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Culchie wrote:

Yeah agree with you on the social reasons, thats why my post stated "WORK" but lets not get bogged down in a play on words

The significant other was a bit of a joke "a la dell boy" (I will try harder)

Basically you can either commit to something or you cant for what every reasons (you may miss one now and again but thats life) and I reckon if you take the proposed format of the BSOP Live were you pay for 2 games at the first game people will organise there diary fairly swiftly. The point made on the fact that there are easier games for $50 is true but i would hope the social aspect of a live tourney would be of value...

As for an online tourney would be well up for it - havent played in Nickys suck out fest but could that act as a test run for the numbers?????? How many play in it every week?????