Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry National at Listowel

• 21-09-2005 10:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭

As you can see I'm very idle here lately as I am back in college in Tralee. I just got a tip from one of my mates ( as promised ) for the Kerry National today. This tipster was the same person who gave me that winner in Uttox a few weeks ago. He said Garvivonnian will win the national, and that he has been set up for this race all year. Now, don't go crazy on it, I'm just going to do a small each way bet, because personally I would be backing Euro Leader if I didn't have this tip. A small e/w if you are going to get on it. It is currently trading at 25/1.

Best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Sure I will give him a €10 e/w, have been doing well of these tips recently, hopefully the luck will not run out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

what odds was the uttoxeter winner jonesy?

looking at the form horse will have it all to do today! but you just never know, is this inside info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

wens this on jonesy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Got him @ 33/1 in Ladbrokes, €10 E/W.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

If the ground detoriates then Garvivonnian will have a good each way chance. He has decent form on soft ground and stays extreme distances. If the ground stays as good then I can't see him coming anywhere. My two against the field are Pearly Jack and Bizet.

Can anybody confirm the current going at Listowal? It's bloody impossible to find up to date going reports for Irish meetings anywhere on the web, the best you can ever get is the night befores going or if you're lucky the going first thing in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

my fancy was junior fontaine at 12/1 but i went with sjones on this one only for the fact that every time i dont go with him they end up winning but it is a very wide open race so you have to go for an outsider.

got him at 54/1 (€5) to win and 8/1 (€15) to place on betfair so fingers crossed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I'm fairly new to this board so forgive me for butting in with my moneys worth. I must say the selections flying around on this board have been impressive and I only wish I'd backed a few of them.

I was told to back Flood's horse (he didn't know the name at the time) in the Kerry Grand National. It now turns out to be Bizet. The only good reason that was given at the time was that Flood is retiring and would dearly love to win this race before he does. Whether thats a good enough reason to back the horse I don't know.

Anyway I hope to contribute more in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

anyone thinking of backing this should have a look at Betfair for prices. I backed it at 49/1 - only available at 20/1 with Paddy Power.

Its available at 79/1 as I type (maybe a true reflection of its chances !!)

imagine it wins :D someone gettin 79/1 has to be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Pearly Jack has to have a serious chance in this. He's getting a stone from Euro Leader which gives him every chance to turn the tables. Was the subject of a major gamble at Cheltenham this year and was going well until he was brought down....I dunno...he wouldn't be one for the mortgage but I'd give him a massive chance today.

I see the favourite is Monterey Bay...getting in on a very nice weight....It's these two for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

fade2black wrote:
    Pearly Jack has to have a serious chance in this.

agreed - he was my original choice - have backed him. stuck a few quid on the tip here for the craic (and also cos I missed the last few good ones!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

I backed pearly jack and howaya pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Well it looks like ruby's still on his national run!! :p

Well no luck at all this time :mad:

Listowel 4.10

1st 1 Euro Leader (IRE)
    2nd 18 Monterey Bay (IRE)
    3rd 9 Pearly Jack
    4th 5 Howaya Pet (IRE)

Maybe next time!

Healio wrote:
    I backed pearly jack and howaya pet.

Hope you had them on an e/w bet

2nd and 3rd....that's a great performance from a top weight tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

How did Garvivonnian run........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Apologies lads, I should have followed my own advice on this one.

How did Garvivonnian run........
    Didn't see the race, all I know is that he came in 6th place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

6th is fair enough with the ground against him. I'd keep an eye on his next appearance. He's probably well fit if prepped for this race so a good testing race could see him prevail and at a decent price too.

Garvivonian wins today at 33/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 bignialler

Hope ya had him... he seems to like the aintree fences

I'll give ya 1/33 that he didn't back him....:D

Garvivonnian runs in the National, and as already stated it seems to like it over there. I'm not too confident about it winning, but it is a very good each way bet in my opinion. I'm having two bets in this race, Garvivonnian and Clan Royal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

i'm also having two bets in the big one.. garvivonian and hedgehunter.. my only worry about hedgehunter is the brief rest he gets between the gold cup and national..