Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fed up and No Self Confidense.

• 20-09-2005 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

I dunno where to start really but anyway for the past few weeks i have been completly fed up with life. About 2-3 Months ago myself and my Gf broke up,and being honest i was devastated, I wouldnt say i am fully over her i think about her alot but suppose thats normal?

My Friends didnt really like her so i kinda faded out of there friendship throughout the relationship and since then i have tried to becomes friends again but it doesnt seem to be working. I still have friends thats i've known for ages but i miss my friends that i have had before.

But i feel like i need to get away and have a new start because being honest i hate where i live, I am Currently in college which i admit i love and have good friends in my course but i am not happy. I would love to go away to America or someone and Work but i am not finished my Degree, But i feel i will crack up if i dont do something. I am going for the guards aswell always wanted to do it and will get me away and start anew but i cant bank on that.

I no there are people with way bigger problems but i just need to let it out. Also my self confidence or the lack of it is getting a big problem since the break up i have 0% self confidence, Was in a pub saturday and was sitting accross from a nice girl, She was checking me out and seemed very interested as was myself but that was it i couldnt act on it, Even if i am in a Club or anything i am just afraid of rejection, because there is "nicer" looking lads in the clubs. I just want to go away and Start a New life and forget about everything but where to start.....

Thanks for listening.
    D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Chucky

It is quite normal to still be thinking about your girlfriend. I can tell that you like her a lot and therefore when the relationship ended, something good in your life was taken away from you suddenly. You are now having to adapt to your new life. When you were in the pub where that girl was looking at you...well, don't worry about this. You aren't ready to start dating again. Don't rush into it. If you rush you might end up hurting yourself more, or someone else.

It's unreasonable to expect everything to last forever. You know what you need to do now - Start new things. You know this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭dramaqueen

You don't have to run away to America to make changes. As you have worked hard towards your degree you might as well finish it before you make any life changing decisions.
    You are stuck in limbo because you haven't gotten over your girlfriend and you feel that you should move on but you can't.
    Just because someone is checking you out doesn't mean you have to go talk to them. It's ok to be single. In fact it's probably better for you right now anyway.
    Give yourself the time you need to let go of your relationship.
    If you feel fed up, change something. Treat yourself. Join a football team and start training. Take up a martial art. Force yourself to go out and try new things and before you know it you won't be forcing yourself cos you'll be having fun.
    When you're ready to meet someone you will.
    Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I think you're just going through a bad patch at the moment. Breaking up takes a while to get over. And obviously you're feeling a bit lonely now.

Try to keep yourself busy and it'll soon pass. I remember I broke up (was dumped) and I felt very low. I was going out of my mind. I decided to get involved in a political/human rights organisation (Israel related) and I let my mind get caught up in that. It did wonders for me.

So rather than sitting at home letting yourself get depressed, try to get involved in as many clubs and activities as possible - you'll give yourself the best chance to get out of the depression you're currently in.

Good luck!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I completly Agree with all of ye and thanks for the replys... I have started training at my club again doesnt seem to be doing anything but i will have to wait and see, i am back at college again next week and i am looking forward in getting my head down(Someone cant wait to go back to college) weird i no but i feel its the only thing i want to do and like doing...This is abit of a ongoing problem me feeling down, have gone to the doc and stuff but it didnt do much... But thanks everyone for the input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

fed up... wrote:
    This is abit of a ongoing problem me feeling down,

Elaborate?

How long were you with the ex? It's been off 2/3 months and you were reluctant at chatting up said nice chick in pub. Thats perfectly natural, given that you were the one that was rejected by your ex and more than likely fear rejection from another chick. Besides, get some head space and put your energy into yourself and not someone else.

Ooh, and if you cruise around thinking that everyone is better looking than you, your inferiority complex will become tattooed across your noggin, and will turn into a big turn off for people. Try and get over that one and quick.

K-