Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving a cat

Options
  • 19-09-2005 1:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭

Hi, I have a question regarding bringing my cat with me to a new house.
    I'm a student and am planning to move from a rural area into the town where I'm at college, which of course means that this won't be a permanent arrangement and the cat will have to be moved again in a few years.

Brief background info: the cat is predominantly an outdoor cat and sleeps outside more often than not, though has no problem with being inside. She was brought up with another cat, which I still have (I'm not even considering moving this cat as she is quite content where she is and is too wild to adapt easily to life in a town), but the two cats don't get on at all (so from what I can see it wouldn't be a problem to separate them).

My main reason for wanting to bring her with me is that she has recently been the victim of various attacks (I posted a thread about whiskers being cut), both from humans and from local cats, and she has suddenly become extremely unsettled and nervous. I'd like to take her away from the problem, as changing the circumstances where she is now (such as having her live inside) isn't an option.

Basically, I'm wondering if it would be cruel, or if it would even be realistic, to attempt to take her with me when I move. Bearing in mind her background, and the fact that she'll have to be moved again in a few years.

Note: the other cat will of course be well looked after by my family, it's not a case of "leaving one behind".

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Goffie