Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AUL Tonight?

• 16-09-2005 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

Is the AUL going ahead tonight or is shortstack in barcelona?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

It will still go ahead, Drogheda went ahead last night with 93 runners, getting bigger and bigger each week.

Go along, good tourney, good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

What time does it start at?

Might go along. What time did the game end last time?

First card dealt 9pm, finished about 1.45-2am as far as I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Anyone at this from boards tonight?

I have to say, I don't think I've ever witnessed anything like it in my life, the strangest game of poker _ever_ and the weirdest final table I've seen online/live.

What I learned tonight is, you don't need reads, you don't even need to understand the rules of poker or know anything about it, simply get a lobotomy, give some of your chips away at the break, (because you don't need them) get to the final table, call/raise/go all-in with every single hand you get dealt, 5/2 7/2 doesn't matter.

when the blinds are huge post yours, when it gets checked around to you, instead of checking/calling/raising just fold them and give your chips away without even waiting and having a look at the flop, do this loads of times even when your told you can see the flop as you posted the big blind no no ignore all advice, and then with a big cheesy smile walk away with the prize money.

Poker is a strange strange game, and people who play it even stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

yeah was there last nite, friend made final table and was in the three was split for 1st at teh end, told me about some of the hands, crazy.

went out when three tables left, seems all the good players where knocked out early ;):D

only paid top 4? +there were more runners >40 this time???

yeah was there last nite, friend made final table and was in the three was split for 1st at teh end, told me about some of the hands, crazy.

went out when three tables left, seems all the good players where knocked out early ;):D

40 odd I think yep, your friend wasn't the all in on the blind and he ended up hitting two pair with 2's and 3's? monster hand 2 and 3 :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I could not make it this week....sounds like you all had fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Normally we would only pay 4 up to 45 runners. We payed 5th as there were more re-buys the previous week. Once then numbers reach 60+ then a full final table will be paid but 7-9 will only get €100. That is if the re-buys are consistent with the Drogheda tournament, which incidentally averages €75 spend per player in the same structure. You tight City dwellers are only on about €60 ish :p

Also people were asking about card cuts for dealing and chip racks for table changes. They have all arrived and will be in use for all tournaments in the future.

Just a few quick feedback questions;
    Does the location put anyone off attending this tournament?
    Would a more central Northside location be significantly better?
    Is Friday a good or bad night to have it?

Only on 3 weeks Mike, 33 runners to 45 ish.... 50% increase, good going.

Friday is good for me normally, unless heading West as I did last week , and indeed this weekend.

Location is fine as well, end of M50. Beer is cheap at €3.70 a pint, even though wasn't drinking the time I was there, but will be anymore :)

Lighting is poor ... my only complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭califano

Shortstack wrote:

location is good for me anyway. and venue seems ok.

friday is a good day but id be more inclined to go more often on a saturday as theres no good tournaments on saturday in dublin for some crazy reason.

only 1000 starting chips would put me off going more often. any chance of more chips or else 25 min blinds to make up for the slow dealing being a self deal tournie?. and can the AUL tournie at least have the same 200 bonus chip offer that applies in the drogheda tournie?.

travelled out to the drogheda tournie last week btw and some guy early on made me tilty by calling my huge raise and cracking my aces with 5 6 :rolleyes: . only took a rebuy because i had travelled too far to be out after 20 minutes :D

Shortstack wrote:

The location doesn't put me off personally, but I would imagine it's putting a few people off.

A more central location would be best, but the AUL is growing on me :)

Friday/Saturday is fine for most I'd say.

I think what rounders mentioned should definitley be taken into consideration, being self dealt it can be very very slow, so more starting chips or extend the blinds.

Apart from that it's a great night, very well run cheap enough drink and a great bunch of lads for the craic!

I agree with the 'bonus chips' proposal as well, what's good enough for those Dundalk headers is good enough for the Dubs. :p

i'd also prefer to see it put forward an hour and start sharper. is there need to start so late anyway?.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

This tourney has been good to a group for us who head to it,we have taken 1800 euro in three weeks which is not bad and if it was not for my bubble the first week the figure could have been 2300.I could not make it last week but should be ok for this week,so we will try and improve this figure.

A couple of points on the first 3 weeks (even if I was only at the first 2 :) )

I was talking to mike in an old thread about the location before the tourney started and I said I had a few concerns about how "out of the way" the AUL is.And I stand by my claims,now I think if you continue to use the AUL the tourney will still grow but maybe at a slower rate.One of the problem's is at these pub events you get alot of people who are out for a good night first and a game of cards second especially on a Friday night,nothing wrong with that but at some stage they have to go home...and I would say they find it hard to get a taxi.This could be holding the numbers back.As well as people not knowing were the AUL is...you would be amazed how many northsiders don't know were it is.Somewere on a main road would be fine....but not to close to the city as then you are in compaction with the card clubs,I sent mike a PM abit before the AUL started and I recommend the new Hilton airport hotel,great location on the malahide road and a huge catchment area ie:coolock,baldoyle,malahide,donaghmede great bus servers from outside the door and a taxi rank.But again the AUL could still grow,its a tough call mike.

Friday night is fine,if you move it to a midweek night you will lose some and if you move it to a Saturday night you will lose loads IMHO.Even the clubs in the city stay away from big games on a Saturday night.

As for the chips,ideally I would like to start with 1500 as you can find yourself under pressure very fast if you play a few hands and you miss the board.

Thats my cents for what its worth.All in all you have a well run tourney and have to be thanked for bringing it to the northside.A few little tweaks here and their and this will be flying.I also like your ideas for the future.

Dub13 wrote:
    All in all you have a well run tourney and have to be thanked for bringing it to the northside.A few little tweaks here and their and this will be flying.

yeah i agree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

shortstack are u one of the organisers?

Friday is good, midweek might see drop off with ppl working the following day etc. AUL is fine, Gr8 for northsiders :D, well run touranment. The card dividers and chip racks good idea, especially the deck dividers as they need to be used to cover the bottom card when dealing.

The blinds are fine imo but some of the players cant deal to save their lives, one guy at our table misdealt 3 times during his turn, so the speed of dealing the cards can be slow, maybe one person could deal for the table whos competent, or maybe last three tables could give a few quid to a knocked out player to deal? etc.

9pm is ok doesnt need to be started earlier unless the touranment gets much bigger numbers. Overall while the venue has no frills, its a good touranment.

One final suggestion the smallest payout imo should always be twice what most tight northsiders :D average spend would be €150(€120) nothing worse than playing all night just to get your money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Thanks for the comments. Keep them coming.

The bonus chips will come in within a couple of weeks. We need to give people notice that they will get less if they are late so it will be announced on Friday.

The structure will not be messed with too much though. It works well once the player numbers build and generates about the right size of prizepool for both the players and us and finishes about the right time. There will however be a monthly freezeout starting soon which will be dealer dealt. This will be at a lot higher buy level though.

The location may change or it may not we will give a little longer before we make any decisions.

If the time changes it will only be brought forward to a 8.30 pm start at the earliest. We just can't get there and be set up for an earlier start some weeks so best to have it at a time we can always make.

As for poor dealers, this will improve, it has got better in Drogheda where it was worse to begin with! We have no problem with one person dealing for the table as long as everyone at the table agrees.