Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Come on the 'Rossies' !

• 14-09-2005 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

I think it is a real shame what's going on in Roscommon.

I'm from about 300 yards on the right side ;) of the Mayo/Roscommon border, so the rivalry is healthy and the craic is good on match weekends.

I went to school in Roscommon, where the great Johnno taught me (not) so we had the same rivalry there as well, Roscommon V Mayo.

In the 80's they had some fantastic footballers, far better than Mayo at that time or Galway for that matter. I don't know if any readers on this forum seen Tony McManus Jr play football in the flesh, but I can tell you he was absolutely class.... and I mean better than any player of 2005 ....including Gooch, and that's saying something. Your Mayo heart was in your mouth every single time he got the ball, he was deadly, clinical.

Big Pat Doorey would have eaten Francie Bellew for breakfast. My father went to school with Dermot Earley and played on an All Ireland Schools winning team with him.
    Derek Duggan scored the greatest free ever seen in McHale Park Castlebar from inside his own half, last kick of the game.

I hope to see them back soon, their players have been a disgrace to their county the last 5 years or so, and it is no wonder, as their County Board was bent as well. All on the gravy train.

So if by any chance any Roscommon players read this .... Cop on, and put some pride back in that great golden jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

My father is a Roscommon man, and it is from him I got my love of GAA, so I have a strong affinity with Roscommon. They haven't had much success over the years. They pushed Kerry in the 2003 quarter final, but that was their last good performance. They've gone downhill since. Going further back, they had a great team in the late 70s and early 80s. But for the fact that the great Dublin and Kerry teams were around then, they could have won a few All-Irelands. The first All-Ireland Football final I ever went to was the Kerry v Roscommon one in 1980, which had many of those stars you mentioned Culchie. Kerry won 1 - 9 to 1- 6, but it was a match that Roscommon should have won. They changed tactics during the game, getting a little negative and then lost their way, having had a great start.

Jimmy Murray, the only man to ever captain Roscommon to All-Ireland glory, is still alive. He was the captain when they won their only 2 All-Irelands in 1943 and 1944. There was a replay in 1943 and also in the final they lost to Kerry in 1946, when he was still captain, so all in all he has led a team out as captain in 5 All-Ireland finals, which is a national record. I think he is now the oldest living captain of an All-Ireland winning team.

He runs a pub in Knockcroghery in Co. Roscommon, bearing the family name. It is the last town before Roscommon town, coming from Athlone. It could be called a museum to GAA, as in the back room and in the bar there are many photos of various All-Ireland winning teams down through the years. Amongst them there are photos of himself in his prime.

The ball for one of their 2 All-Ireland wins hangs on a string over the bar. It is a number of years ago now, but there was a fire in the bar. The string holding the ball broke and it fell and rolled out the door to safety. I have often been in it and if you are a GAA fan and you are ever in that part of the country, then be sure to drop in and have a pint or two, served to you by the man himself.