Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

texas hold em tourney in dublin 13

• 14-09-2005 2:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭

I'm not the organiser of it or anything I just saw the poster and thought some of you guys would be interested in this.

texas hold-em tourney in racecourse inn , baldoyle, d.13 on Monday 19th sept at about 6.30pm

dont need to be a member or anything, €30 registration and €20 re-buy
    tickets can bought on the day AFAIK8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.

Gaurenteed prize pool of €3,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Any idea who the organisers are? There are good ones and bad ones out there. If you do go along to this tournament be sure to ask about the prize structure and how the prize fund is allocated. Also ask about rules and blind levels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

im plannin on heading along to it alright, tbh i cant remember the name might have black something or other

ill be sure to check out the name when im down the pub next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sounds like Texas Nights from the buy-in and re-buy and prices. If it is, I seriously doubt there will be a prize pool of €3000, and beware they allow unlimited re-buys and the blind levels are a joke.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I have seen the posters,it is Texas Nights and my advice would be to stay away.The racecourse is only a 5 min walk from my house and I would love nothing more than to have a good tourney that close to home.The poster says "if" they get a full house they will pay out 3000,the racecourse is a big big pub.Mike had 4 tables out in the AUL last week and paid out 2,500...much better option if you are on the northside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Texas nights ... the blind levels are a joke.
    Could you elaborate on this please? Why are the blinds so bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You'd be nuts to play this when Mikes tourney offers such value

ApeXaviour wrote:

First off most pub games have to be over at closing time...this often leads to the organizer's skipping levels or making them shorter.These kind of nights are ok if you are a beginner or just looking for a night out,otherwise stay away.

ApeXaviour wrote:

They're pretty much doubling every 15 minutes, if not quicker. The last game I went to run by them had about 40 players yet the winner only took €400.

Well then here is an almost direct comparison then, and it speaks volumes.

Last Friday 39 runners, 1st €1000 :) 2nd €600 3rd €350, and I think it was 4th €200 and 5th €100

Blinds were frozen for 30 mins or so on final table as well.

The pub games are a complete crapshoot on the final tables, don't get me wrong, good fun to have a few beers, but you can do that at the AUL as well... at €3.70 a pint I might add for pint of Heineken. €3.70 for Rock Shandy as well, I paid €5.70 for Rock Shandy in Anglers Rest.

thanks for the warnings guys but ive never played a poker tourney before (in the real world) so this might be an ok one for my first one judging by one of the posters above

Was there a chap with a cowboy hat working at it?

_raptor_ wrote:
    thanks for the warnings guys but ive never played a poker tourney before (in the real world) so this might be an ok one for my first one judging by one of the posters above

lol, you were always going to go weren't you. Where is the poster who advised you to go, must have missed that.

BTW, this has gone up, these tourneys used to be €20 entry and €15 re-buys....oil prices I guess :rolleyes:

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Was there a chap with a cowboy hat working at it?

Not at this particular one (which was at Lamb Doyles), but I remember seeing him in Rathfarham alright.

Dub13 said these are fairly alright for a beginner or should I just avoid this completely?

Not at this particular one (which was at Lamb Doyles), but I remember seeing him in Rathfarham alright.
    In the Goat? Yeah that'd be me :)

_raptor_ wrote:
    Dub13 said these are fairly alright for a beginner or should I just avoid this completely?
    If you're a beginner in Dublin then the Fitz should be your first stop for some live game action. Cheaper too.

is that the fitzwilliam hotel or where is it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

The Fitzwilliam casino is on Lower Fitzwilliam St, just off Merrion Sq. Most of the regulars here play there. A good game to start off in is the 30euro freezeout on Sundays at 4pm (4.30??). There are also freerolls on Thursdays and Sundays.

http://www.fitzwilliamcardclub.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

If it's texasnights, I'd steer clear.

k guys gonna pop along to the fitzwilliam, it is a texas night run tourney so ill steer clear like you all say

"Wondered" why my work's been getting easier and easier. It's all yous telling people not to turn up ;)

If this continues I'll be out of a job soon..

ApeXaviour wrote:
    "Wondered" why my work's been getting easier and easier. It's all yous telling people not to turn up ;)

If this continues I'll be out of a job soon..
    You work for texasnights?

Aye. If you were at any of the nights I wear the cowboy hat. I'm not going to argue for them however.

not to start an argument or anything but will you not argue on their behalf because the abover posters are right or wrong???

I'd really not prefer to say anything really. Which should make it quite obvious..

it speaks volumes ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pen0s

I work for Texas Nights, and I would like to tell super furry that we only have 2 re-buys, and one top up and the there is no way out of 40 people that there was only 400 prize considering i do the prizes, Can i ask people how much they would spend in town for a nights entertainment?? Alot more. Our posters do not lie they clearly say " Full House, 3000 Prize Fund" Declan... dont bad mouth us!!!!!

----This is Peno's girlfriend.......not me!!!

How much do you deduct from prize pool?

Pen0s wrote:
    Our posters do not lie they clearly say " Full House, 3000 Prize Fund"

A full house from pub to pub can be a Huge difference,its not very transparent.

Dub13 wrote:
    A full house from pub to pub can be a Huge difference,its not very transparent.

Its Says on the posters min20/max80 so our full house is 80, if there were 40 in a night we give 1500 prize fund and so on, anyway the posters are changing very soon( no because they r wrong) because of our Tourney coming up, Each winner of the next 100 events get a free seat into a big tourney which will b held in town, the winner will win a trip for two to The Balagio hotel( i think thats how you spell it!!) the best hotel in Vegas, I think you get spending money not to sure but you get there and back anyway for a week, free!! We have lots of very good feed back about our nights from lots of people so anyone out there give it a try!!!

What % do you take from the prize fund?

i.e What % of the money you receive do you pay back out in prizes?

We take what we are legally allowed wages and a % for charity, ALL the others are the same trust me they just do there tourneys different, we do prize money every night others dont they do it over maybe 3 or 4 and then do do a huge prize but it works out the same.

Why don't you answer the question ...how much do you take?

Pen0s wrote:
    ALL the others are the same trust me they just do there tourneys different, we do prize money every night others dont they do it over maybe 3 or 4 and then do do a huge prize but it works out the same.

So you take 12.5% like the Green Joker Poker lads....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Pen0s wrote:
    I work for Texas Nights, and I would like to tell super furry that we only have 2 re-buys, and one top up and the there is no way out of 40 people that there was only 400 prize considering i do the prizes,

I played in the one in the gallops in ballyogan, 32 runners, and the winner was to get 400. the final two split the prize for first and second between them (325 each). My mate had three rebuys and a top-up,and another lad had 5 rebuys. So whats that all about?? or are you actually just lying?
    Can i ask people how much they would spend in town for a nights entertainment?? Alot more.

That is irrelevant, sure you spend more on a night out, but you get value for money.
    Our posters do not lie they clearly say " Full House, 3000 Prize Fund" Declan... dont bad mouth us!!!!!

You have only recently started to put that on your posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Pen0s wrote:
    We take what we are legally allowed wages and a % for charity, ALL the others are the same trust me they just do there tourneys different, we do prize money every night others dont they do it over maybe 3 or 4 and then do do a huge prize but it works out the same.

Can i just say on behalf of any poker players with half an ounce of sense, that you idiots are really pi$$ing us off. With your bullsh1t tourneys, and just general muppetry, you're giving poker a bad name. You should stick to running karaoke and bingo nights, because it is obvious that there about the only things you have sufficient aptitude for.
    And while i'm angry, will you please learn how to punctuate in a post. Your amateurism and general ignorance towards the game is highly irritating to people whose intelligence you are insulting by posting such ridiculous things.

With the explosion of pub/hotel run tournaments in the last few months I think tournaments that don't give value will soon be under pressure to improve their games.
    Give it six months to a year and the legitimate operators like Pokerevents and Green Joker Poker will way out number the cowboys.
    It'll only take poker players a while to realise where the value is. The amount of people who have realised the situation from reading this board alone is probably considerable.

Healio wrote:
    I played in the one in the gallops in ballyogan, 32 runners, and the winner was to get 400. the final two split the prize for first and second between them (325 each). My mate had three rebuys and a top-up,and another lad had 5 rebuys. So whats that all about?? or are you actually just lying?

That is irrelevant, sure you spend more on a night out, but you get value for money.

You have only recently started to put that on your posters.

We never worked at the gallops so u should get your facts straight.

Cool bump :rolleyes:

oldposts.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i was just wondering where exactly AUL is and if some one could tell more about this.
    i know Mike runs it but compare to Europa,is it a bigger field or smaller?
    blind levels the same?entry fee?rebuy rules?
    also i live in swords so does any one know of any good games there?
    how do i get from swords to AUL?

Gholimoli wrote:
    i was just wondering where exactly AUL is and if some one could tell more about this.

It finished last October Gholi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Gholimoli wrote:

No longer running, this is the problem with bumping ancient posts

I am afraid the AUL game has being canceled,it was abit out of the way and the numbers were low.It was a nice little game and only up the road from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Gholimoli wrote:

There are games run by a group called akaholdem in fingal if your interested?
    They have a game every second tuesday in the star but the turnout is always crap. so i think they stopped it not sure. ill find out if you want

They also run a €15+5 with €10 rebuy or top-up in the donabate community centre on a wednesday. starting chips are 4000 with blinds at 50/100 up every 15 mins. it starts at 8 now so it doesnt really have to be rushed to get it finished. it gets about 25 runners each night and top 6 are paid.

They have a game in The Strand Bar,rush on mondays. its €15 with three rebuys and a top-up. starting chips are 2000 with your first rebuy at 2000, your second is 2500 and your third is 3000. a top up of 4000 also. blinds are up every 15 mins. there were 41 runners at it last monday and the pay-outs were like this i think(not 100% on a 7,8,9)

1st - 600 + 50 ticket to bigger tourney
    2nd - 300 + 50 ticket
    3rd - 150 + 50 ticket
    4th - 100
    5th - 75
    6th - 35 + 15 bubble to any akaholdem tourney
    7th - 25 + 15 bubble
    8th - 10 + 15 bubble
    9th - €15 bubble