Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: Walt

Options
  • 14-09-2005 1:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭

OK, there's no doubt that Walt is special..

but surely, his greatest ability of all, has got to be his... accent. I'm no expert on US lingual regions, but i am a linguist and what amazes me is that he has an american accent.

as far as i remeber, Walt left the US before he was 2 meaning that he should have picked up his accent from his immediate surroundings so it should be either dutch/italian/but most likely australian due to the amount of australian schooling he would have had.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

loon wrote:

but surely, his greatest ability of all, has got to be his... accent. I'm no expert on US lingual regions, but i am a linguist and what amazes me is that he has an american accent.

as far as i remeber, Walt left the US before he was 2 meaning that he should have picked up his accent from his immediate surroundings so it should be either dutch/italian/but most likely australian due to the amount of australian schooling he would have had.

Unless he went to an international school with a lot of american kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭loon

not likely in Oz though!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

maybe his teachers were wizards? :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

His mother is American, no? He was probably home-schooled. Kid is dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM