Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stars Re-Buy tourney - AA, opinions needed. (Not a bad beat)

• 13-09-2005 1:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

I was playing the $10 re-buy last night on Stars and this happened.

It was about half an hour after the re-buy period, blinds about 100 - 200 I think, I was down to about $4.5k in chips or so, with the average at the table about $10k and one big stack (around $35k).

I was UTG+1 and I got dealt AA, I raised my normal amount of 3x BB's as I had done all night, I had been playing quite tight recently, (basically waiting for a hand to try and double up or do some stealing), and I think people knew this, however, about 5 or 6 hands previously in a similar but slightly better position I had done the exact same move with KQs, but got re-raised All-In and so folded.

So my thought was to raise as usual here and pray for someone to go over the top again. Or at least the BB to call, he was the big stack, so I assumed I'd at least get a call.

Was this thinking wrong??
    Should I just have
    (1) went all-in hoping for a caller,
    (2) flat called hoping for a raise,
    (3) done as I did
    (4) something a little more creative???

I've been thinking about this all day and I can't make up my mind.

My thinking is that by doing the same move it looked like I wanted someone to go over the top, and therefore giving away my strength, any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Maybe all in could be the move here. If you went all in i would put you on something like 88 and so would be tempted to call you in a race situation if id a big stack. You didnt do much wong at all, people complain when they dont get action with aces however theres nothing you can really do if nobody else at the table has a decent hand. I guarantee that if someone behind you had AQ or AK they would have come over the top,despite it looking like you wanted someone to go over the top. I hate limping with aces so maybe all in, you prob wouldnt have got called though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I think you played it fine. If the table was really loose I might even me it 800 to go there. Its rare not to get action during rebuy period and the BB would cally 80% of the time there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

this was after the re-buy period though, it was in the freezeout.

Although I'm thinking I was just unlucky there were no other big hands and I got it in such an early position. I'll probably do the exact same thing again if it happens, but I was just wondering was there any one with any other ideas about how to play a similar situation.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

It seems it was after the rebuy period but I agree you played it fine. I assume they all folded if you are regretting it but it doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I dont think there was anything wrong with it either. An UTG all in looks dodgy. The only thing I would say is, there probably aren't too many players who would cop on that you raised and folded earlier. A lot of that info would go over some peoples heads. Just because you knew it doesn't mean they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Ye I was pretty happy I played it "by the book" and was unlucky but I was just wondering if anyone would advocate trying something a little different,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You did all you could.
    Just vary it a little, sometimes go 3*BB, sometimes 5*BB. 5BB's can look like you don't really ;) want a caller.
    I think you have to raise in Freezeout period what ever about limping occasionally in re-buy period in the hope of a raise from another player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

You've got about 22 times the BB, If you go all-in UTG, you'll only get called by KK or maybe QQ/AK, it's quite unlikely that anyone will have one of those hands.

A limp-reraise from UTG is only worth doing if the table is aggressive, and there's nearly always a raise preflop every hand. It also helps if your opponents aren't very observant and won't be suspicious of an UTG limp.

3xBB is the safest option though imo.