Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finally a win

• 13-09-2005 1:30am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've made some final tables in the past but never cashed big. Tonight I finally crossed the line in the Fitz €100 freezeout.
    I played reasonably solid poker throughout and one hand stands out from the early play. I limp with KQ in mid position, SB and BB (Mike Shortstack) checks. King on the flop and I bet. Called by Mike. Turn is another King. I bet Mike raises all-in and I call. Unlucky for Mike he has the weaker kicker with a Jack. I'm sure he'll recount the tale for anyone who wants to listen.
    Anyway from then on I was steady and kept my stack rising. With 2 tables left my stack started to dwindle and stole the blinds successfully a few times to stay in it. Finally with 10 left and on my BB the button goes all-in and is called by largest stack. I look down and see 99. After some thought I decided to fold. I was rewarded with the button's Q9 being beaten by the big stack's AJ (hitting a Jack so I was lucky I folded).
    So down to 9 and I am the shortest stack. I'm happy to be there and know that I'll just be pushing first chance I get and hoping to get lucky. So sure enough I'm one off the UTG who folds, I raise all-in, the chip leader calls and the BB re-raises. The 42o I have made my move with is looking very bad. Cards are turned over. BB had Ah8h, chip leader KK and I sheepishly turn over my rags to amazement. Flop 56x 2 hearts. I have a gutshot with 3 outs because the 3h makes the BB a flush. You guessed it a 3c on the river triples me up. Well you have to get lucky. In time honoured fashion I never looked back, pocket 7s making a set on the flop and a house on the turn and I knock a player out who has hit trip 10s, pocket 6s hitting the set also and winning another large pot.
    I look down after winning a pot with top pair and I've got 90,000 in chips, massive chip leader. With 4 of us left we did a deal and I got 1350 for first, 1100 to second and third and 900 to fourth. I was happy enough with the deal as the other 3 were close enough on roughly half what I had so it was good enough and of course I have never been in a situation to deal anyway, 5th is my best finish I think, possibly more willing than most to accept a deal but I did tell them I was not willing to split it evenly as was suggested at first. So I'm a happy man. This one goes out to my homies of the shamrock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

fair play yo, representin the FOS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

i was admiring everything u wrote up until the part where u mentioned the deal and the fact that u were massive chip leader down to 4, but well done, nice win.

actually sorry i suppose i shouldn't really be commenting on deals after giving away 4k back in May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Congratulations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Nice one Brian, any other boardies make it to the final table?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Congrats Muso,

Good start to representing the sham :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

great result Muso, well played mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Well done Musician, great feeling isn't it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

well done muso, nice result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Great result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Nice one buddy, I knew my chips would be lucky for you :D

Does this mean we will see you in Barca?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Nice result Brian, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Well done Muso, great result.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Congrats.....very tough tournament,keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Well done muso.

How many of ye lot are going to Barca? Are you all playing the big one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Good Job Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

yeah very nice result there. its my goal to be ITM in the fitz asap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

well played!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Thanks folks. Luke, I don't know of any other boards folks at the final table. Mainly regulars. One guy in the last 4, Bob, was quite a character, who plays alot but I didn't recognise. Lets say he loves to play hands. Saw him crack Aces with 78s for example. The others were saying be careful you don't get bob'ed. Nice fella.
    Mike, Barca is very tempting now but I have a few things tugging me in different directions. A mate in London wants me over for a party on Saturday, my credit card, the Esb, Eircom etc. are also pleading with me to help them out :)
    I have to decide soon I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Just re-reading your post Brian, what were the chipstacks when you did a deal? Am I right in thinking that the nearest stack to you had half your chips? What were the blinds ? What were the payouts had you played it out?

Still a good score to get €1350 but I am thinking you missed out on a lot more, call me greedy but I would never deal in that position unless the others were happy to chop 2nd-5th leaving me with 1st's money. I've only played with you a few times but I doubt anyone had that much of an edge over you.

And you had my 'lucky chips' which would have almost guaranteed a win :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Smallest stack had 30,000, next had 50,000, then 2nd had about 65,000 approx. and I had 90,000. Blinds were at 3000-6000 (or about to move to that level I think). It may have been unwise to deal but I was getting tired and a bit too happy to be there to think too much about it. We had all played very good poker at the final table and I would be confident in my play but it was close enough that it could change very easily imo. But for 1 of 3 cards I was long gone. Live and learn I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Great stuff Brian. Sitting here at home feeling sorry for myself, but that cheered me up. Well deserved and not before time. Good game as well to cash in as its normally tough. Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Great stuff Muso, could be like what they say about strikers. Once you get the first goal, you'll be bangin them in.

musician wrote:
    Thanks folks. Luke, I don't know of any other boards folks at the final table. Mainly regulars. One guy in the last 4, Bob, was quite a character, who plays alot but I didn't recognise. Lets say he loves to play hands. Saw him crack Aces with 78s for example. The others were saying be careful you don't get bob'ed. Nice fella.

haha good old Bob...he once got me to fold top set on a flush board at a final table (only God knows what i was thinking at the time) and last Friday's Scalsp game he crippled me blinds 150-300, 2 limpers, gets back to me in the BB with KK I put 1000 on top both of them call, flop comes J73 rainbow, I bet 2000 Bob raises all in another 1500 to call, which i do, he turns over J7o! Next hand he calls a huge preflop raise from Gavin (tight solid player) with 63o hits trips and wins a monster pot. It's actually quite scary playing against him because aside from all that madness he's a very good player.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It was a good game alright. Final table was tough characters. Bob started off massive chip leader on about 65000, then went down to less than 10, and brought it back to about 50 by the end. As Brian said chip stacks were roughly.

Brian 90 odd
    Joe Giblin 55ish
    Bob 50ish
    Me 33500

I was happy with my 900. Never had any intention of asking for an even split, would have understood if Brian had wanted to play on too, and wouldn't have minded, but as he said, chip leads like that don't always last. Everyone seemed happy so all were winners.

5starpool wrote:
    It was a good game alright. Final table was tough characters. Bob started off massive chip leader on about 65000, then went down to less than 10, and brought it back to about 50 by the end. As Brian said chip stacks were roughly.

Brian 90 odd
    Joe Giblin 55ish
    Bob 50ish
    Me 33500

I was happy with my 900. Never had any intention of asking for an even split, would have understood if Brian had wanted to play on too, and wouldn't have minded, but as he said, chip leads like that don't always last. Everyone seemed happy so all were winners.

Ah face to the name and all that. Well played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Well done.