Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

attempted break-in by pulling door back

• 12-09-2005 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

Went to the car this morning to find the passenger door bent back, obviously in a bid to break into the car. the door is now bent back about 2 or 3 inches from the door frame.
    haven't seen the likes of this since it used to happen to to olg Nissan Micras back in the nineties.

Has anyone any experience of getting soemthing like this fixed? Is it just a case of knocking the door back to it's original setting? Or a bigger job?

And what sort of money would we be talking?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

What kind of a car is is???

Should be able to get the door bent back into place by a good panel beater.

If not go to the nreakers yard and see if you can pick up a door, as a last resort go to the Main Stealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭kmoon

Mid-nineties Mondeo saloon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Happened to both my girlfriend and my mate! was a Suzuki and a Fiesta! with the Suzuki the Garda that came out ended up jumping up and down on it and bended the door back in......mate just dropped his car off to garage to and got it bent back it....still starts Fiesta with a screw driver! haha! says its not worth fixing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

This happened to my gf old car (Ford Fiesta).............

Got my Uncle to reset the door, but it has to be done right otherwise you may break the window, or have a horrible draft coming in through the door.

I honestly would not have a clue how much it might cost to repair, but i could not see it being expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Oh yeah forgot but got the little feckers that broke into mates car....neighbour came on them trying to start it and they ran off down the road....I came out and was trying to check out damage when I seen the two little f**kers coming back up the road......just hid behind car and waited for them to pass.....neighbour followed them and I sent Garda up road after him(Garda came within 2 mins of call which impressed me) and they nabbed them......of course usually bullsh**t where the Garda car came back after a while and they knew the 2 lads......one had to be let go because was underage......not sure what happened to other fellow but was charged!!!

Fiesta seems to be one car which they hit......was talking to neighbour next day and says he knew what they where up to because his wife had a Fiesta as well and the same thing happened to hers! broke in same way as well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭kmoon

cheers guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Last night must have been the night for it! I came out this morning to find exactly the same situation, door peeled back and ignition is ****e. It's a Prelude Si 3RD Gen.

Little scrotes were obviously beginners but they did this in my driveway !!

You're not in Swords by any chance kmoon are you ???

ZEN :mad:

Edit: Can anyone recommend a good breakers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭mondeoman

kmoon wrote:
    Mid-nineties Mondeo saloon

nearly all mondeos have a factory fitted alarm,did it not go off?
    & most have dead locks too,
    if remote locking press lock button twice,if using key turn to unlock then to lock quickly then indicators should flash or beep(early beep).
    with deadlocks on it would be quite hard to gain entry(i would think?)
    sorry to hear your trouble hope you ket it sorted. ;)