Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway vs Cork

• 11-09-2005 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭

Who will win this match i am going 4 Galway but Cork are a deadly team but they have won the trophy 2 many times so come on the TRIBESMEN!!!!!!!!! so neway who will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I'm going to the match! Should be good! Come on Galway!!!

Note : I've no maroon clothes but my school uniform is maroon. My bro said he'd give me a tenner if I wore it to the match. Would it be weird or a bit of craic?? I prolly wont go in it though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

my dad and my 3 bros are going unfortunatly there was no ticket 4 me :'( there in the cusak stand

go on in with maroon and run on ta the pitch so we can see lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

any ideas where i can get the radio broadcast online, feckin rte arent covering it! need it in time for the minor match

come on the tribes!

i dunno sorry woohoo i taught every1 wud be going 4 cork lol and im gona watch the minor game now

i dunno sorry woohoo i taught every1 wud be going 4 cork lol and im gona watch the minor game now rte arent covering the match on the radio or on tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Smileylynz

Up The Rebels!!!!! Cork To Win!!!!!!!

No up the Tribesmen lol i think it may be a draw then it will be a close game

ok lets see who can get nearest to the score i think it will be 2-11 to 2-12 to galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Minor game was excellent until the third goal killed it as a contest.

As a prediction I'm going to say Galway 2-14, Cork 1-19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Come on Cork!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Galway came back there and now theres only 2 points in it i think its to close to call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I'd say Galway are going to surprise us at this stage.
    GO ON GALWAY!

ahh now they didnt have a old team so maybe next year just in case some1 didnt get the score it was Cork 1-21 Galway 1-16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

ahh now they didnt have a old team so maybe next year just in case some1 didnt get the score it was Cork 1-21 Galway 1-16

Very very disappointing game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

It was looking very close at about 10-15 minutes to go.
    I was hoping for a tight game at the end. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Cork deserved it they were unbeaten all year and back to back all Irelands.

well cork didnt deservie to beat clare in fairnece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

well cork didnt deservie to beat clare in fairnece

i'll second that, Galway could have won if they'd just thrown over their points they were shoving in for a goal every second time, Moral take your point and you will do better, ok goals are good but there only worth 3 points a few long ones in and you'll soon be in front.

Congrats to Cork even though they are Kerry's bitter rivals. Mr. Sambrero got paddy power to sponsor his poncho and RTE never took the camera's off him all day. Mr & Mrs Joe Soap in the stands hardly got a look in. Free tv ads for Paddy power Ummm :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

Even Sean Og said that Clare should have won that game. In fairness Clare gave us (Cork) a tougher game than Galway and are probably kicking themselves now.
    Galway will be down but they should feel proud of Conor Hayes and his players, they gave everything today.

netwhizkid wrote:
    i'll second that, Galway could have won if they'd just thrown over their points they were shoving in for a goal every second time, Moral take your point and you will do better, ok goals are good but there only worth 3 points a few long ones in and you'll soon be in front.

Congrats to Cork even though they are Kerry's bitter rivals. Mr. Sambrero got paddy power to sponsor his poncho and RTE never took the camera's off him all day. Mr & Mrs Joe Soap in the stands hardly got a look in. Free tv ads for Paddy power Ummm :mad:

yep i agree with that

lukin wrote:
    Even Sean Og said that Clare should have won that game. In fairness Clare gave us (Cork) a tougher game than Galway and are probably kicking themselves now.
    Galway will be down but they should feel proud of Conor Hayes and his players, they gave everything today.

if clare beat cork they may have played bad against galway it would have been a better match to watch the 2 neighbours it would have been a class match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

The better team won, brilliant hurling. Thats a quality galway team though coming along nicely if they don't feature in the next 2/3 years i'd be very very surprised.

yep galway have a good young team and i suppose cork were the best team.

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

So proud to be from Cork. What a match... Ben O Connor for man of the match definitely! Mr Sombrero??? That would be Cyril Kavanagh. Paddy Power has been supporting him for years. He's bacome part of the match at this stage. RTE always show him, every match!

The mans a legend, I'd love to know where he gets his tickets from though. Watched this game in pub full of fair weather galway supporters. I loved every minute of it.

Oh savage, Id love to know too. He possibly gets them complementary from RTE!! Was thinking of getting something like that to wear to the matches too... See would I get tickets, considering there so bloody difficult to get!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

well done to cork.was impressed with Galway,they fought their hearts out.a lot of the time when cork scored a point galway would come right back and score another but the stronger team won.

so we know how good galway are now,where does this put kilkenny who seem to be losing their form of 2002 and 2003.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭anna20

u wud think that since st. marys of athenry are club champions at leasta number of them would make the panel of thirty. why wasnt the best forward in galway prevalent at this stage?cloonan, enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Neil_Sedaka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Up the Rebels!!!!! :D Ah what I wouldn't give to be at home tonight to welcome back the team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You should have gone down, if my county ever wins an All Ireland, I'll be down home until Christmas I think :)

P.S Nice Photos ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

LEGENDS!!

At last this Cork team proves how good they are. Who are Killkenny!!?
    Many were saying here that they were still the best team in the country even though Cork won last years all-ireland.
    Yea right!!

The best team on the day won it and they were by far the best team all year round, even if they didnt put in great performances at times.

Lots of talk in cork for 3 in a row now. It will be hard but this team aint old at all at all apart from Brian Corcoren. Killkenny did 2 in a row. This team wants to do one better! Who would bet against them.

Many great great players on this team especially in defense. Donal Og proved that he is the best GK in the country, the rock took of **** from anybody and Sean Og deserves to be up the Lohans of the world in terms of recognition. The 2 o'connor twins aswell. Brilliant athleats alround.

Galway will learn from this but its no gaurantee that they will make the final next year. Think clare will be the main danger next year.

Edit Sean Og gave on of the best speeches ever!!! Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Firstly I want to congratulate Cork. Superb team and worthy winners. It was again avery tough but clean contest and if all hurling teams adapted the style of hurling dislplayed by both cork and Galway then we will be in for some thrilling games in the future.

I have to say also now that the dust has settled I was fairly happy with Galways performance. They always kept nipping at the heals of cork. ALways kept it at about 2 or 3 points. I think if they had started the game a little sharper then they wouldn'e have to have gone for goals in the finish up. I also felt that althoug there were 5 points in it at the finish that there was one or 2 major turning points. Both in the second half.

First one was when the referee awarded a free to Galway out right hand sidline. If he had allowed play to continue for a second he would have noticed that Damien Hayes had control of the ball and was in a better position for taking a point. Subsequently galway missed the free. That would have brought the game to a point difference. Secondly and more crucially I think Hayes himself hit a shot that was just dropping over the bar for a point but Donal Og blocked it and Cleard it up the pitch and Cork scored directly from that clearence. That was a swing of two points and it left galway 3 points behind instead of 1. After that they began to lose touch and time started running out.

I thought the ref had an excellent game also. don't think there were too many decisions he got wrong and he generally let the game flow.
    jank wrote:
    LEGENDS!!

At last this Cork team proves how good they are. Who are Killkenny!!?
    Many were saying here that they were still the best team in the country even though Cork won last years all-ireland.
    Yea right!!

The best team on the day won it and they were by far the best team all year round, even if they didnt put in great performances at times.

Killkenny are still a great team and will be Corks main threat again next year. And as you said Cork are the Best team in the country and I don't think anyone really disputed that all year. However I would have to say that I strongly disagree with your comment about them being BY FAR the best team. I think people fancied killkenny simply because they weren't trying to defend a title. which is an extremley hard thing to do.
    jank wrote:
    LEGENDS!!
    Galway will learn from this but its no gaurantee that they will make the final next year. Think clare will be the main danger next year.

Agree with the Galway part but I'm not so sure about the Clare part. Great team that they were and with all due respect and all that I think that there time has come. A lot of there players are getting old and they haven't exactly been setting the world alight with underage success. I am hoping and praying that this is the Kind of breakthrough Galway needed. That they build on this for once as apposed to going back to square one as they have done in the past. I think the new system might be the answer they were looking for though. I reckon that the gap between the two top teams in the country and the rest has narrowed though and I think that there could well be and All Ireland up for graps for anyone of Cork, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Limerick, Waterford, And Wexford and please god Galway.

Ah come on...! Ive been on about this all year. Last year, Cork won the all-Ireland. However, the media and the general public portrayed the fact that Kilkenny were the best team in Ireland. Not alone that but were by far the best like, When I questioned them I was told that its because they got two in a row. Surely now that we have it that we will get some credit!!