Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

7 reasons I hate Dublin GAA.

• 10-09-2005 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

1. They have the worst fans there is. Seriously half of them are complete scumbags.
    2. Almost none of the fans are true supporters. People on the northside put soccer first people on the southside put rugby first.Take for example the Dublin fans staying in pubs to wtch Man U before the Tyrone Game and getting the match delayed.
    3. When Dublin are doing well they act like the teams biggest fans but if arent they go watch soccer instead.
    4.They expect to win everything.
    5. They always get more space in the papers than anyone else whether or not they are playing.
    6. If they arent doing well they just boast about "Heffos Army".
    7. And last of all if they lose to a more rural county(Shock Horror) they just complain about "Culchies" and "Bogland".(by the way I have 2 new words for them. "Scumbags" and "Drugland")

Do you agree? 7 votes

Yes!!! I hate the Dubs.
    0% 0 votes
    No!!! The Dubs are great( if a bit over rated)
    100% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

HA! Galway beat Mayo!

What is it with Mayo people and complaing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

dublin are the england of the gaa. so much potential with population. and every year they're gonna win the all ireland, when they loose, then, there's calls for the managers heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Daft thread.

Dubs are OK, so are the other 31 counties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Aw whats the matter? Is the Mayo bogman suffering from a case of the green eyed monsters?

I have to laugh whenever I run into a culchie who (after he's let of a bit of steam by slagging my city - "why are you living here then"?) starts slagging off the Dublin football team/supporters to my face as tho I am supposed to get all offended and take him to task about it for prides sake.

Bottom line is that I (and the VAST majority of people in this city I'd venture) don't really gives a damn about about GAA (which includes Dublin GAA) and we're proud of it too! Long long may it continue I say! There's too much going here to need to worry about it or buy into it too seriously the way you country folk do.

I have to laugh at all these culchies who really buy into that Guinness mentality that 'gaa is life'. Yeah Gaa is a life if you have no life I suppose. I see yis 'comin up for the match' like it's the 12th of December already and you're all excited like you've never had a day in your life that was anything other than mundane.

You and your sport might as well be from another planet as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Pigman II wrote:
    I have to laugh whenever I run into a culchie who (after he's let of a bit of steam by slagging my city - "why are you living here then"?) starts slagging off the Dublin football team/supporters to my face as tho I am supposed to get all offended and take him to task about it for prides sake.

Bottom line is that I (and the VAST majority of people in this city I'd venture) don't really gives a damn about about GAA (which includes Dublin GAA) and we're proud of it too! Long long may it continue I say! There's too much going here to need to worry about it or buy into it too seriously the way you country folk do.

I have to laugh at all these culchies who really buy into that Guinness mentality that 'gaa is life'. Yeah Gaa is a life if you have no life I suppose. I see yis 'comin up for the match' like it's the 12th of December already and you're all excited like you've never had a day in your life that was anything other than mundane.

You and your sport might as well be from another planet as far as I'm concerned.

If you don't care about the Dublin team or the GAA, why did you respond, and on the GAA board too?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

first of all kieranustyranosaurus or whatever,

how dare you dis the dublin gaa fans and tar them with the one brush.You are the first @$$hole i have ever heard of in mayo.great people and you make a stupid thread about dublin and their people.my family is from mayo and all there friends and not one of them have anything bad to say about dublin and neither do my team mates,friends or anybody else have anything bad to say about mayo.

all of us on this board have some respect for each other and their counties.i respect culchie for having respect for dublin and i have respect for mayo and lemlin and pornapster from cavan and laoisfan etc

Us true supporters do not put soccer or rugby first so shut your pie hole.

why would the indo/the times have a column about dublin if they aren't playing.thats pure stupidity.

so if you are from dublin you are a scumbag?? i would tell you to go f*ck yourself but then you would write back saying "know what i mean".

so do we all go watching soccer when we are losing?...don't think so.

do we all expect to win sam every year...hell no.

dublin fans are the worst fans?..... don't think so.if anything we are the best fans.Hill 16 is dublins stand.the atmosphere being there is great.you wouldn't understand though.you hear dublin singing on their team and chanting.i don't hear this much when you have tyrone and armagh playing or kildare or any other team in croke park.we encourage our team more than any other county in croke park.

heffo's army........yeah back in the 70s when we were winning all irelands against kerry and armagh.in case you haven't realised,Paul Caffrey is manager of Dublin.Its 2005,its Caffrey's army.we all talk about how bad/good we performed when we win/lose/draw.so tell me a pub to go to to listen about heffo's army and i will agree with you on that point but for now shut it.

I didn't see us losing to a more rural county this year.(shock horror) :rolleyes:

there are and always will be scumbags in every county.welcome to Earth.Yeah like there is no drugs in Mayo?get real.As lovely a county Mayo is,there is certainly drugs in Mayo.I was in Westport in January and saw them and was asked and offered.i didn't take any and I'm from Dublin and I'm a "scumbag" :rolleyes:

Pigman 2,you can defend Dublin all you like which is fair enough but don't dis those who love the sport.I fall into this category but my whole life doesn't revolve around gaelic games.

KieranusTyranus,you have made the most stupid remarks I have seen on this forum.I am ashamed it had to come from a mayo man.

how would you like if somebody started a thread and poll about Mayo and what a kip it is and started running rough shod over the people and its gaa fans?you wouldn't like it one bit......and neither would I.

first of all kieranustyranosaurus or whatever,

how dare you dis the dublin gaa fans and tar them with the one brush.You are the first @$$hole i have ever heard of in mayo.great people and you make a stupid thread about dublin and their people.my family is from mayo and all there friends and not one of them have anything bad to say about dublin and neither do my team mates,friends or anybody else have anything bad to say about mayo.

all of us on this board have some respect for each other and their counties.i respect culchie for having respect for dublin and i have respect for mayo and lemlin and pornapster from cavan and laoisfan etc

Us true supporters do not put soccer or rugby first so shut your pie hole.

why would the indo/the times have a column about dublin if they aren't playing.thats pure stupidity.

so if you are from dublin you are a scumbag?? i would tell you to go f*ck yourself but then you would write back saying "know what i mean".

so do we all go watching soccer when we are losing?...don't think so.

do we all expect to win sam every year...hell no.

dublin fans are the worst fans?..... don't think so.if anything we are the best fans.Hill 16 is dublins stand.the atmosphere being there is great.you wouldn't understand though.you hear dublin singing on their team and chanting.i don't hear this much when you have tyrone and armagh playing or kildare or any other team in croke park.we encourage our team more than any other county in croke park.

heffo's army........yeah back in the 70s when we were winning all irelands against kerry and armagh.in case you haven't realised,Paul Caffrey is manager of Dublin.Its 2005,its Caffrey's army.we all talk about how bad/good we performed when we win/lose/draw.so tell me a pub to go to to listen about heffo's army and i will agree with you on that point but for now shut it.

I didn't see us losing to a more rural county this year.(shock horror) :rolleyes:

there are and always will be scumbags in every county.welcome to Earth.Yeah like there is no drugs in Mayo?get real.As lovely a county Mayo is,there is certainly drugs in Mayo.I was in Westport in January and saw them and was asked and offered.i didn't take any and I'm from Dublin and I'm a "scumbag" :rolleyes:

Pigman 2,you can defend Dublin all you like which is fair enough but don't dis those who love the sport.I fall into this category but my whole life doesn't revolve around gaelic games.

KieranusTyranus,you have made the most stupid remarks I have seen on this forum.I am ashamed it had to come from a mayo man.

how would you like if somebody started a thread and poll about Mayo and what a kip it is and started running rough shod over the people and its gaa fans?you wouldn't like it one bit......and neither would I.

That goes for anyone else on this board.Some people are forgetting this is gaelic football and hurling not a slagging war between people of different districts/counties whatever.we come here to discuss football and hurling events.we occasionally remark about players/fans who behaved disgracefully.kieranustyranus,you have used gaa games as a disguise to disrespect dublin and its fans/people.if you don't like dublin,fair enough,leave.go back to mayo when you can or any place else.

this is a sport forum,not a prejudice forum.so if you have nothing constructive to say about gaa football or hurling then don't come here because we don't want you and any other flamestarters.

your poll was fair enough but your reasons..... stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 KieranusTyranus

First of all Pigman if you dont like football why are you on this section of the site?
    Secondly Blackbelt read the sunday world(or for that matter the independant) on a weekend when Dublin arent playing and you will see they still get more press than the counties who are playing. Also Dublin lost to Tyrone who ARE a more rural county. Also the word Culchie is an ignorant word used by Dubs so I reserve my right to be ignorant about Dublin.
    And last of all Dublin fans are the most intimadating gang of assholes to attend a football match ever. They insult other fans and hurl abuse at the opposition and the ref. As well as that I see you have no reply to the Tyrone match being delayed. Why?? Maybe because its the undeniable truth.
    And I know Caffrey is manager but if the Dubs lose they boast about the late 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

1. They have the worst fans there is. Seriously half of them are complete scumbags.
    2. Almost none of the fans are true supporters. People on the northside put soccer first people on the southside put rugby first.Take for example the Dublin fans staying in pubs to wtch Man U before the Tyrone Game and getting the match delayed.
    3. When Dublin are doing well they act like the teams biggest fans but if arent they go watch soccer instead.
    4.They expect to win everything.
    5. They always get more space in the papers than anyone else whether or not they are playing.
    6. If they arent doing well they just boast about "Heffos Army".
    7. And last of all if they lose to a more rural county(Shock Horror) they just complain about "Culchies" and "Bogland".(by the way I have 2 new words for them. "Scumbags" and "Drugland")

1. I am prefectly respectable with a good job thanks.
    2. Thats why i travel to the arse end of mayo to get pi**ed in feburary for a league match,
    3. You never watch soccer?
    4. We want to, we dont EXPECT
    5. Thats the press not the fans.
    6. We boast about "Heffos Army" cause they were great and we do it win lose or draw.
    7 "Culchies" and "Bogland" -vs- "Scumbags" and "Drugland" = give and take banter. I have nothing against mayo men plenty of friends from most counties, Sure isnt it only a bit of craic.

any more questions?

First of all Pigman if you dont like football why are you on this section of the site?
    Secondly Blackbelt read the sunday world(or for that matter the independant) on a weekend when Dublin arent playing and you will see they still get more press than the counties who are playing. Also Dublin lost to Tyrone who ARE a more rural county. Also the word Culchie is an ignorant word used by Dubs so I reserve my right to be ignorant about Dublin.
    And last of all Dublin fans are the most intimadating gang of assholes to attend a football match ever. They insult other fans and hurl abuse at the opposition and the ref. As well as that I see you have no reply to the Tyrone match being delayed. Why?? Maybe because its the undeniable truth.
    And I know Caffrey is manager but if the Dubs lose they boast about the late 70s.

Cop on will ya?

And I bet you haven't a clue where the word Culchie came from.

and there's nothing wrong it either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

I'm actually surprised this thread wasn't locked...an unprovoked attack that reeks of the worst kind of generalisation...I hate that ****e

EDIT: OK I just read his profile...a lot has been explained!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Blackjack wrote:
    If you don't care about the Dublin team or the GAA, why did you respond, and on the GAA board too?.

I got here via the boards.ie frontpage where I spotted a new thread titled "7 reasons I hate Dublin .... " so natually I decided to click the link have to take a look and see what was to be said. It's pure chance that I landed on the gaa board.

Also if you want to go down the road of 'what are you doing here if you don't want to discuss GAA' then may I point out that one could be forgiven for accusing you of exactly the same thing! Despite your thread being titled (ironically I presume?) "7 reasons I hate Dublin GAA." not a single one of your reasons seems to have anything to actually do WITH Dublin GAA (neither the team, the management, infrastructure etc)!

So I have to conclude by asking why exactly are you on this section of the site?

*marie* wrote:
    I'm actually surprised this thread wasn't locked...an unprovoked attack that reeks of the worst kind of generalisation...I hate that ****e

EDIT: OK I just read his profile...a lot has been explained!

LOL, 14 years of age and doesn't it show !

Kieran Duffy, were you drinking in Julians again? tut tut, or maybe Tanseys or Bonners.

Run along to bed now, or I'll tell Daddy what you are doing on his computer.

How are the Shamrocks doing this year?

kieranistyranus,

you can't compare the term scumbags to culchies.so take your head out of your @$$.

the term culchie,which my grandfather explained to me originated from kiltimagh or in irish coillte maith which is in Mayo.Scumbag is a derogatory term,being called a culchie isn't.sure there is a mayo man on this board who's username is culchie.or have you been so ignorant you didn't notice this.the man is proud of where he comes from and is proud to use the name culchie.i have culchie blood in me and im proud of it.

You call me ignorant to not responding about the reason the game was delayed,the press,tyrone,heffo's army etc. well lets try one..you are ignorant of the fact that you used gaelic games to attack Dublin,its people and whatever else.

And like mayo fans don't shout abuse?every county has fans that does this,from kerry,cork and galway to mayo,dublin,tyrone and armagh.all 32 counties do.

i have never heard one fan rant about heffo's army when we won/lost/draw.that period is over.it was 30 years ago.You probably resent the fact Dublin have a dvd with colm meaney talking about dublin gaa in the 70s.

i was in corfu at the time watching the match between dublin and tyrone when it was delayed.they never said what the reason was,so if a few people on here can convincibly inform me why then I will get back to you on this point kieranustyranus.i'll just call you k cause im sick typing your name,its too long.

we never expect to win everything.as pointed out before,we'd like to.Why don't you complain about the press if you think dublin is getting too much attention,thats not a proper reason to have a go at dublin and its people,thats not their fault its the papers fault.but i will pick up the star or the indo and see what columns there are of dublin when kerry and tyrone play.and what do these columns talk about k?relevant stuff?stuff people want to read about?

face facts,you hate dublin people and the city itself.thats why you are here to have a go.when we are losing,we don't start watching soccer.when we are losing,we either leave croke park early because we know we are finished,switch off the tv or keep watching til the end.

can you speak for every dublin gaa fan k?no.you can't speak for me or my nextdoor neighbour or my friends.we go to league games as well as championship matches.dublin fans didn't expect to win sam this year but there was hope we would.we were tipped to win some silverware this year and we did.we had high hopes because we were doing really well.

your reasons for this thread are stupid,unjustified and makes you out to be prejudiced.this thread should have been locked but now that we are all talking about it theres no point.k,if you want to complain and stir sh*t then go on a chatroom because this is a gaelic games forum not slagging forum.you want to talk about scumbags,well prejudice is a word also associated with scumbaggery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

what next kieranistyranus? you going to call us northside soccer nackers who wear celtic jerseys and smoke johny blue? your probably hiding in flannerys as I write!!

The most enjoyable game I was at this year was Dublin V Mayo in Parnell Park, when 'we wuz robbed' ;)
    Great bit of banter, and atmospehere was great in the floodlights.

Take no heed of him lads, we're not all like KieranAnus, lol, he's in bed now for school in the morning anyway.

Probably only been to Dublin on a school trip to the 'AZoo' anyway. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

locked.

OP banned for a week for complete and utter tripe.