Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing something really stupid

• 09-09-2005 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭

Ever do something blindingly stupid?
    I was out last night and got talking to this girl outside the club. We seemed to be getting on pretty well. Her friends were grabbing a taxi so I asked for her number. I entered her number in my phone, showed it to her for confirmation and then put the phone in my pocket.

Grand I thought and headed home. Earlier today, I get out the phone to give her a ring. Her number isn't in there. I tried to remember last night and it horrifyingly dawned on me that I had literally entered the number showed it to her and put the phone in my pocket without ever actually saving the number!

I just hope that thats my stupidity quota used up for the next year. So if you're a 3rd year NUIG arts student from Mayo, thats why I didn't ring you :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

....as she sits, waiting with bated breath by the phone, longing, longing, hasnt eaten in a while, possibly days. She picks up the phone reciever to make sure it's still working. "DAMN! What if he called the second I lifted the reciever!" Rocking back and forth, longing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Nightmare!!
    Hey maybe if you're at that club again she might be there again too? Might be a local stop for her?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

larryone wrote:
    ....as she sits, waiting with bated breath by the phone, longing, longing, hasnt eaten in a while, possibly days. She picks up the phone reciever to make sure it's still working. "DAMN! What if he called the second I lifted the reciever!" Rocking back and forth, longing....

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

That's the survival of the fittest rescuing her from polluting her genes with yours. If you can't even store a number how are you going to look after her kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭ando

stupid is stupid does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

larryone wrote:

Just switch my sarchasm detector on... BOOM!

Sarcaligious.

Is a bit of a stupid thing to do. I dont think I've ever done anything that stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

larryone wrote:
    Sarcaligious.

Is a bit of a stupid thing to do. I dont think I've ever done anything that stupid.
    Oh no, you have.

You just can't remember it.

Maybe you repressed it or something! :D

Oh crap.
    There were witnesses.
    Going to have to do something about that.

Amongst the cavers I cave with, there is an annual "muppet of the year" award, for general muppetry, and occasions where the recipient of the award has preformed certain rediculously stupid acts that go above and beyond the realm of general muppetry. I have recieved the award for the last two years running...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ahh I'm sure you had a fair bit of drink on you, so it's ok -- I understand! :D

Bit of advice for ye vorbis:
    If you take someones number, the second you've finished dialling it in, call the number. That way, they automagically get yours, and it gets stored under dialled numbers on your handset.
    So you didnt put in her name... Do you actually remember her name? Did you at the time (asuming you were drunk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's only one thing for it vorbis. Go to the same place, same time next week. If she's there, go up to her and tell her the story, good icebreaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

vorbis wrote:
    I was out last night and got talking to this girl outside the club. We seemed to be getting on pretty well. Her friends were grabbing a taxi so I asked for her number. I entered her number in my phone, showed it to her for confirmation and then put the phone in my pocket.

Grand I thought and headed home. Earlier today, I get out the phone to give her a ring. Her number isn't in there. I tried to remember last night and it horrifyingly dawned on me that I had literally entered the number showed it to her and put the phone in my pocket without ever actually saving the number!

I just hope that thats my stupidity quota used up for the next year. So if you're a 3rd year NUIG arts student from Mayo, thats why I didn't ring you :-)

Ahhh! I feel your pain. I'll just make matters worse by suggesting she could have been "the one" :D

Nah, you'll bump into her again. Or if you can remember her name, you can probably guess her college e-mail address...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Ah that's a real pain in the ass!

Put tbh take the advice Seamus gave you, it's your best bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

With my phone you type in the name before the number so i do remember her name Larryone. I had a bit to drink but I wasn't that bad. I will make sure to ring the number in future though. I'll probably be back at that club again so I might bump into her. Galway ain't that big. Its just galling when you do something so stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

if it is ment to be, you will meet her again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

larryone wrote:
    Sarcaligious.

Kissy-kissy hunny.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

meh i gave my number to the wrong somebody in cuba the other night vorbis,sometimes you are better off when it is just a one night thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thejovialhost

Sickner vorbis. Tough break.
    But think of it as a positive, she could be a TOTAL NUTTER and you're better off not contacting her again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

To OP: I'd hardly call that 'doing something stupid', id call it 'being pist'

Chill! Where did ya meet her? Was it a pub or a cattlemart like CP? You'd be surprised.. and ill tell you why.

Last year I met this girl in a club in town, got her number. I txt her, never got a reply. Sent her aonther txt about a week later saying 'Was it just a drunken thing blah blah' and never got a report.
    A few weeks later I met the girl in the same place, turns out she lost her phone and was actually mad into me. It lasted a few months and I got bored :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

But think of it as a positive, she could be a TOTAL NUTTER and you're better off not contacting her again
    Or she could have been the best sex of your entire life! She could have been the perfect woman! Breakfast in bed every morning,a cool beer in your hand as soon as you run out,threesomes or even foursomes with her and her female,Swedish porn star friends......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

that doesn't always happen,just occasionally in galway and when i turn up to the beers in dublin ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭ando

talk about doing something stupid.... some great looking girl asked for my number today, and I said "what for" ..... D'OH with a capital D. My excuse is she took me totally off guard

omfg,that beats the op hands down.it's the equivalent of when some girl asks you if you like anybody at the moment and you look around,saying,i don't know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

omfg,that beats the op hands down.it's the equivalent of when some girl asks you if you like anybody at the moment and you look around,saying,i don't know :)

Wow that hasnt happened since 5th class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

ando wrote:
    talk about doing something stupid.... some great looking girl asked for my number today, and I said "what for" ..... D'OH with a capital D. My excuse is she took me totally off guard
    That's quite staggeringly incompetent, in fairness.
    Big feckin' eejit! :p

Oh, and to LadyJ: That isn't helping. Unless you wanna help make the OP feel WORSE, in which case I suspect that your post is helping a great deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

LadyJ wrote:
    Or she could have been the best sex of your entire life! She could have been the perfect woman! Breakfast in bed every morning,a cool beer in your hand as soon as you run out,threesomes or even foursomes with her and her female,Swedish porn star friends......

Wow! What crowd do you hang around with?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Wait, are you saying that's a come one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stag39

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tar.Aldarion
    omfg,that beats the op hands down.it's the equivalent of when some girl asks you if you like anybody at the moment and you look around,saying,i don't know

0utshined wrote:
    Wait, are you saying that's a come one?

LOL!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

vorbis wrote:

Exact same thing happened me before,was gutted as that bird was a cracker as well,oh well :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

LadyJ wrote:

Suppose we can all dream of stuff like that,unless you wanna do it for me :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

LadyJ wrote:

Thanks for that LadyJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

vorbis wrote:
    Thanks for that LadyJ
    What I mean is that anything that "might have been" has equal potential of being terrible or mind-blowingly fantastic.
    Don't dwell on it,just look for something else to hit! The next has as much potential as the last. ;)