Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holy crap, a 6.8GHz laptop with 2TB RAMdrive?!

• 09-09-2005 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭

Is this for real? :eek:

Gimme!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Pretor

Wow!
    Talk about next generation hardware :D
    Well its not one for gaming i think:Video & Graphics: "Two Integrated graphic controllers [Intel®855GME internal graphics, support Intel® DVMT (Dynamic Video Memory Technology) and AtomChip® DVM (Dynamic Video Memory)]"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

It seems too good to be true, and their technology seems like it came right out of a DS9 episode...
    WHAT IS QUANTUM-OPTICAL TECHNOLOGY?

This Quantum-Optical technology, which is the advancement of the Quantum technology (U.S. Patent No 5,841,689, and one new patent pending.) is based on the discovered magnetic quantum-optical phenomenon in porous silicon, entitled after the name of its discoverer, the Gendlin Effect. The Quantum-Optical technology has a minimum sustained write speed of 6 gigabytes (GB) per second and a read speed of 8 GB per second.

On the other hand, GIMME! :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Looks like BS to me, it'd be all over every IT news site in seconds if it was even remotely close to being made. Also I'd love to know what that (relatively) big f**k off lens is doing sitting in the middle of their supposed CPU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

it was all over some IT websites - http://www.theregister.com/2005/09/07/atom_chip_miracle_machine/

and if you still think its real, check out this - http://atomchip.com/_wsn/page3.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Pretor

stevenmu wrote:
    Also I'd love to know what that (relatively) big f**k off lens is doing sitting in the middle of their supposed CPU.

To capture the look on ur face when u find out its not a super computer u payed $15000 for, then transmit it to "Worlds Funniests Reactions" website :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

So tell me how windows can address 2TB of RAM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Found it on The Register
    Edit: and was beaten to the link

From that article:
    We must admit, we're a trifle sceptical, but Gendlin has his patent - and more pending, apparently - and so we look forward to seeing Atom Chip's kit in the flesh at CES. The company is scheduled to demonstrate its wares on Booth 36604.

Fair play to him.

If it's fake, at least we still have Go-L laptops (amongst other things) to drool and dream about. ;)

Meh, it's fake.

But at least they're having good times, with their plastic chairs.
    teacher7eq.jpg

Also, shut up Ed. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭beller b

Don't believe a word of it...There will be too much money to be made from 4 & 5 ghz processors .There is no way we would get that sort of a jump.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 QC

BopNiblets wrote:
    Also, shut up Ed. :p
    Not to mention, they are not wearing gloves in a cleanroom.

That guy with just the smock is wearing Jeans. Must not need to be as clean a process as current chips.

He must be great, reprogramming windows and all :p

Wonder what bill thinks of that?

I'm on to you Campo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭TimTim

Yes, an air conditioning unit just makes a perfect air filtration system.

And who the hell uses a "clean" room for a training room?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

That RAM technology isn't new but the lasers and scanners required to process the i/o are neither advanced enough nor msall enough to fit in a laptop....this is cold fusion all over again.

FFS I could make a webpage that looked more professional....also, where's the contact info, phone numbers, eMail addys, copyrights. You can patent a dead cat in the US patent office if you wish....having a patent means SFA.
    If any of this were remotely true the big corps would have been all over the guy ages ago...the end for the lucrative harddrive and volatile RAM industries? Theguy would have been into the back of a balck van and getting flashed by Will Smith...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

They might have had me believing if it was in a desktop, but in a laptop?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

dont diss it until you have the balls to go out and buy one to prove your case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Jakkass wrote:
    dont diss it until you have the balls to go out and buy one to prove your case

I have some lovely beachfront property in Cavan for sale if you're interested...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Bs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

I've bought two. Heres some benchmarks attached... Its bargain at that price! Its not going to go out of date for at least 15 years!

EDIT: And no, as you can plainly see i did NOT photoshop my results. I'd never stoop that low! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

lol

tbh ive never seen ram hit 256GB nevermind 2 TB

is there even HDD on the general market that are 2 TB's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,823 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I'm not sure which is funnier: the guys that came up with the hoax, or the eejits that believed it for even a second!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

I've bought two. Heres some benchmarks attached... Its bargain at that price! Its not going to go out of date for at least 15 years!

EDIT: And no, as you can plainly see i did NOT photoshop my results. I'd never stoop that low! :rolleyes:

Thats a damn good skin you've got for windows there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Complete 100% Grade-A Premium Bull ****! :D:D:D:D

It would be a pretty stupid business plan to start selling at 6.8Ghz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

i'm surprised ye didn't just thro it out based on the specs, they are far too lobsided to even be half real, wtf would a high spec laptop with those write speeds have 100mbit ethernet port for?

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

The guy is a genius, perfect way to get worldwide notoriety: have brass balls.

Sure he doen't have some sort of magical laptop from the future, but if he ever releases something else people are going to be watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Loved the chip with a lens on it to make it optical. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well i wasnt so sure if it was for real but after those benchmarks lol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Serenity wrote:
    i'm surprised ye didn't just thro it out based on the specs, they are far too lobsided to even be half real, wtf would a high spec laptop with those write speeds have 100mbit ethernet port for?

Well theres so much wrong with it, I just picked 1 thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thejovialhost

WOW :eek:
    Talk about raise the bar for everyone else

WOW :eek:
    Talk about raise the bar for everyone else
    *cough* Might want to read the rest of the thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The 486 was built by Intel and AMD. They both went on to create CPU's, leapfrogging over each other...

But what if someone created a different approach?

the_syco wrote:
    The 486 was built by Intel and AMD. They both went on to create CPU's, leapfrogging over each other...

But what if someone created a different approach?
    Aren't they doing that already?

Actual quantum computing is still a long way off as far as I can gather, but the principle behind it is incredibly interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

CuLT wrote:
    Actual quantum computing is still a long way off as far as I can gather

Actually....Actual quantum computing has been done. :eek:

It's just not practical for the mass market yet (or anywhere even remotely near practical).

That may have been what you meant....but others may not have read it that way. :)

Khannie wrote:
    Actually....Actual quantum computing has been done. :eek:

It's just not practical for the mass market yet (or anywhere even remotely near practical).

That may have been what you meant....but others may not have read it that way. :)
    Yes, grammatical slip on my part, practical quantum computing :)

Wertz wrote:
    You can patent a dead cat in the US patent office if you wish....having a patent means SFA.

looks like these guy knew some people at SCO or at least robbed their idea :p

most patents are meaningless. unless you can actually produce(or licence) the product you are patenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

classic, i like the pictures on this page:
    http://atomchip.com/_wsn/page3.html
    cant believe people thought it was real :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

What a load of cock. If they could make a 6.8Ghz processor, wouldn't they have released lesser speeds and incrementally increased them to milk the market to compete with Intel/AMD?. A terabyte of RAM, LOL, pull the other one, it's my knob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Laguna wrote:
    What a load of cock. If they could make a 6.8Ghz processor, wouldn't they have released lesser speeds and incrementally increased them to milk the market to compete with Intel/AMD?.
    If they got a 6.8Ghz CPU, they'd sell it, cos they'd know Intel of AMD wouldn't be able to catch up for a while.
    kerbdog wrote:
    classic, i like the pictures on this page:
    http://atomchip.com/_wsn/page3.html
    cant believe people thought it was real :)
    http://atomchip.com/db4/00366/atomchip.com/_uimages/1TBram.jpg
    But it looks real. It looks like 16MB memory, with a nice sticker on the front of it:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

the_syco wrote:
    If they got a 6.8Ghz CPU, they'd sell it, cos they'd know Intel of AMD wouldn't be able to catch up for a while.

Yeah I suppose. It's still a load of bollox though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

I liked this bit.
    IN THE WORLD GENIUS CONVENTION, WHICH WAS HELD IN TOKYO, JAPAN SHIMON GENDLIN WAS AWARDED A GOLD GENIUS AWARD, SPECIAL GOLD AWARD AND GRAND PRIX FOR AN EXCELLENT SCIENTIFIC INVENTION:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

the_syco wrote:
    You're joking right ?

If the world & its mother has 3 to 4 GHz processors, then Intel & AMDdefinitely are at least onto first run of 6 to 7 GHz.