Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

set as "Away" on online tourny.

• 09-09-2005 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭

played an STT last night where some1 was set as away for the entire tourny. ended up finishing third without doing anything.

just wondering if this is a common thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

yeah if a player is marked 'away' but has enough chips to survive into the money then thats allowed even if the pilot isnt at the controls.

recently i was in a huge chip lead in a stt with 6 players left and the electricity went dead in the area. i tried to ring my brother to log on and play for me even though he only played 'play money' and mobile phone holdem but he wasnt in(probably luckily). i later found out that i finished 3rd anyway!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Once entered a $1 game with over 1299 runners a friend came round. So I told them I was on the phone upstairs and to watch telly for 5 min and
    i'd be down.

I wenr all-in every hand. After 5 min I was a massive chip leader, posted my blinds and finished in the money for $0.82 profit. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I've played a good 200+ STTs over the past year and have never seen anyone in that situation (away for the entire game) finish ITM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

Hi guy's

On a side note, while playing last night I Notice there was a lot of 6 max cash tables with one or two players sitting out. One table I was on a person joined sat out for about 5 minutes then left. I find the blinds come around very fast with people at this.

BB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

ionapaul wrote:
    I've played a good 200+ STTs over the past year and have never seen anyone in that situation (away for the entire game) finish ITM.

I've seen it alright, although not common.... the sites with the longer blind levels and 10 player tables rather than 9 are sites you see it. e.g Betfair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Rodge

It happens a lot more in lower limit and play money STT's as the play is generally a lot looser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Yes it happens although VERY rarely does a player end up in the money on sitting out. Really it is simply equivalent to folding every hand so if the players at the table are even average it shouldnt happen. Very rarely in TURBO low limit and fish ponds the sitting out player can finish and get paid. Not at my table..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 dexem

Isn't this related to that moral question a while back? If you know someone is sitting out, should you raise to get them to fold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Yes. Where exactly is the moral dilemma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 dexem

I don't think there is, but I seem to recall it being discussed before.

Yep it is a moral question but you must split it into two.. If a player becomes temporarily discon due to connectivity is it not poor etiquette to steal his blinds? I would have thought so but that is merely my personal poker playing opinion.
    If someone is sitting out the whole tourney? Feck em what ya gonna do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

no moral dilema with me online at all. heads up i will steal with great haste and i'll make no bones about it. i look at him being disconnected because he's giving his mistress the time. so im to wait around as long as i can while he gives his mistress the time, no thanks.
    now live its different i can see the player isnt up to any mischief but had only been loading up at the buffet and violently ill in the jacks as a result, then i would give him a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I also see absolutely no moral dilemna here either, it's just a part of on-line poker, I expect it done to me if I disconnect, and I expect most other people do too.

no moral dilema with me online at all. heads up i will steal with great haste and i'll make no bones about it. i look at him being disconnected because he's giving his mistress the time. so im to wait around as long as i can while he gives his mistress the time, no thanks.
    now live its different i can see the player isnt up to any mischief but had only been loading up at the buffet and violently ill in the jacks as a result, then i would give him a break.
    LMFAO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

I was playin a low buy in MTT , 10 dollars i think and had to collect my brother after his first teenage disco at 12, so was non negotiable leaving him outside. so knowing i had to leave becams a bit more aggressive and found myself chip leader by 2k or so by the time i had to leave. collected him in record time, and dropped his friends home aswell and made it back to the comp in about 25 mins to find out i was still in the top 15 chip lead. 200 entrants, came back to finish 6th after losing to races (AQ v 33, 77 v A 10) whilst tryin to rob blinds! totally expected my blinds to be robbed while i was gone, and i even clicked "away from table" so as to not have the other players having to wait until i timed out. i think its just a part of online poker, and would be very suprised if anyone did any different that early in the tournie. on the bright side came in the money, and found out all the details bout my wee bro's first kiss!!! haha, young casanova!
    D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

I'm embarassed to admit that I came 3rd in a STT behind someone who was away from the table. He was away for ages, and with 3 people each of us were fighting to take his blind. It ended up that I made some silly mistake and ended up pot committed and ... well...