Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AA Roadwatch presenters

• 06-09-2005 3:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭

Does the AA deliberately hire presenters with a high irritant factor to annoy already stressed motorists? There's one girl on Today FM whose delivery is so nasal you can't understand what she says and also makes me want to clear my nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

yes to all of the above. only Arts degree dropouts with the accent need apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

y'mean like the Red Cow "roy-ndebout"
    WTF kind of accent is that anyway? It sounds like an irish person trying to be "posh" by trying to imitate a scumbag English person who is also trying to put on a posh accent (or something like that)

"scumbag" is not used in a perjorative type of way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

y'mean like the Red Cow "roy-ndebout"
    WTF kind of accent is that anyway? It sounds like an irish person trying to be "posh" by trying to imitate a scumbag English person who is also trying to put on a posh accent (or something like that)

"scumbag" is not used in a perjorative type of way ;)
    it's a DORT accent, innit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

it's a DORT accent, innit...
    No doubt it is. But what can we do to eliminate it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

a question that has bothered me for a long time. why do they always take people from that street to do traffic reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

christ those biatches are annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭kennier

Ah Jaysus ye've just ruined my infatuation with Alison Byrne. I had a hot little blonde number in my mind. Thanks a lot. Feck sake :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ifconfig

This is a pet annoyance of mine too -- ie: this accent that is seeping
    into mainstream media. It isn't just the AA presenters -- some of
    the younger business presenters are adopting it too. It isn't the "Dort"
    accent which I remember when I was at college in the late 80's it
    is some kind of transatlantic/sloane ranger London/D4 concoction.
    I suppose Miriam O'Callaghan would also be an exponent of this
    accent and that Labour TD Joan Burton has been infected with it too.
    Tom Dunne might be too (debatable). It is widespread and contagious

selection = s-al-ahction
    eleven = e-lah-vahn
    roundabout = rewn-da-bite
    house = hice
    and lots more beside.

The Brits have already a name for this phenomenon see...

http://www.phon.ucl.ac.uk/home/estuary/home.htm

Estuary English.

Olivia O'Leary had a 5 minute radio piece about it about a year and a half
    ago on 5-7 live. Her daughter and friends were talking about
    "Ashtown shopping". She eventually found out it was "out of town shopping".
    It reminds me of the time during the 1980s when most radio advertisting
    had to have an English accent to have credibility. So Alan Stanford
    and the likes did a lot of voiceovers (no offence to him - fine actor)
    but to me it showed the low self esteem we had as a people for our
    own accents and charm that we felt compelled to import in other
    accents as the de-facto accent for credible advertising...

Christ.. this is turning in to a rant. I'll zip up now.

ifconfig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

There is nothing worse than someone trying to disguise their accent. Once someone has a clear way of speaking and is easily understood, it shouldn't matter if they have a regional accent, be it Dublin, Cork, Donegal, Midlands or whatever. If people feel compelled to replace their own accent with the abomination that is the Dort accent, what does that say about us? I'm sure English language purists would say people with regional accents mispronounce words but it can't be any worse than the aforementioned hice and rewn-da-bite. And the AA presenter who's doing my nut in at the moment (Sinead Acton) seems to be mispronouncing words as well as she talks through her nose. Listen out for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭RevBlueJeans

Eric Keogh speaks too quickly and slurs his speech. Very annoying.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

And how come they're all ugly too? I thought AA girls are supposed to be bimbos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Is yer man Eric a steamer??? A tenner says he is !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Forget all the worst/best polls...

If you had to chose one, which one would get it? ;)

BigDragon wrote:
    Forget all the worst/best polls...

If you had to chose one, which one would get it? ;)
    Nicola Hudson would get my vote, she's a cutie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭HSo

Dervla Byrne's not bad either. Mind you Emma Caulfield has good upper body structure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭leche solara

I think Lisa Armstrong sounds sexy and she has a great laugh. Her picture is somewhat disappointing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

Whatever about their looks...

When was the last time the gave correct traffic information. Every morning I think they read out yesterdays traffic.

"The N4 Lucan road is backed up to the Newcastle road juntion." Really well then WHY THE F@CK am I stopped before the Leixlip bridge, well WHY??????

Drives me crazy (Pun intended)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The fact AA feels we might be interested in how these dopes look says it all.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

HSo wrote:
    Dervla Byrne's not bad either.

She's a stunner. The pic on the website doesn't do her justice at all.

deRanged wrote:
    She's a stunner. The pic on the website doesn't do her justice at all.
    I guessed it was a bad pic. I'd like to see a better one, lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nicola Hudson has a very neutral accent and very good diction.... she can shed my load anytime....

Eric Keogh does run his words into one another .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 mick70

Nicola Hudson has a very neutral accent and very good diction.... she can shed my load anytime....

Eric Keogh does run his words into one another .....

Yeah, your one Nicola is pretty hot alright! Derv is a bit of a stunner too. I listen to Eric all the time on 2FM with Ruth and I think he sounds fine…great voice for radio and funny sometimes. Their information is renowned for being crap…why are people still talking about it after 15 years???!!