Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jumper (Person- not clothing!) from the Ilac

• 05-09-2005 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭

Hmnn, was just on Parnell Street and seemingly someone threatened to jump from the apartments by the Ilac Centre. I don't think they did in the end as it happens.
    I wonder is this kind of thing going to become more common now, as it is in other countries, notably the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Didn't tourist visiting Guinness break away from the main group and jump to thier death inside the building recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah, it's the latest craze... straight from america... all the cool kids are doing it now.
    Especially since there was never anything high enough to suicide off before the ilac center apartments were built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I thought this thread was going to be about a nice top you bought in Unique or something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

whiskeyman wrote:
    I thought this thread was going to be about a nice top you bought in Unique or something....

haha so did I haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

whiskeyman wrote:

Fraid not whiskey. I did want to mention in somewhat more detail that it does seem to be a common thing in America and now it's happening here, but with all the Pro/Anti America opinions being expressed on boards, it's best not to go into too much detail.

And don't start me on Unique and the mens shops on Liffey Street. The sales assistants in there are annoying/pushy b*stards! They don't know what, I'll give ya a shout if I want anything means!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

whiskeyman wrote:

LOL:D
    me too untill i seen the name change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Gob****es. Jump from the tallest building in Ireland and you risk a sprained ankle.
    I remember reading some tips on suicide, mentioned hangman nooses made from piano wire connected to your various limbs, the crowd below get showered in body parts,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

rubadub wrote:
    Gob****es. Jump from the tallest building in Ireland and you risk a sprained ankle.
    I remember reading some tips on suicide, mentioned hangman nooses made from piano connected to your various limbs, the crowd below get showered in body parts,

Lovely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

eo980 wrote:
    I did want to mention that it does seem to be a common thing in America and now it's happening here
    Really though, do you think americans were the first to discover you could kill yourself by jumping off something really high?
    We've had the Cliffs of Moher for a long time.

Although I think I see what you're getting at... most of the suicides I've heard about in Ireland were self-drownings, hangings, slit wrists or OD's... I'm not sure about the statistics, but that's just my own casual observation.
    But there again, maybe you don't hear about the jumpers as much because they're so often attention-seekers who've no intention of killing themselves and it ends up as a non-event.
    Who wants a big crowd gathered around you when you top yourself anyway?

A few years ago there was a guy who climbed a crane in Dublin (a few times AFAICR) because he couldn't get x, y, z... never jumped though.
    I wouldn't say it's on the rise just because you saw someone doing it though... I'd say it happens more than we think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

originally posted by rubadub
    Gob****es. Jump from the tallest building in Ireland and you risk a sprained ankle. I remember reading some tips on suicide, mentioned hangman nooses made from piano connected to your various limbs, the crowd below get showered in body parts,

But how do you get the piano out the window??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

But there again, maybe you don't hear about the jumpers as much
    Usually because the media self-regulate themselves pretty effectively on these things (Blair's recent troubles being a case in point) because it can give others ideas.

But it is shameful that we have one of the highest rates of young-male suicide in this country while the government seem more concerned with plastic bags and smoking bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

eo980 wrote:
    Fraid not whiskey. I did want to mention in somewhat more detail that it does seem to be a common thing in America and now it's happening here, but with all the Pro/Anti America opinions being expressed on boards, it's best not to go into too much detail.
    ah yeah, sorry for that. Couldnt resist though :).
    I guess it's more common in America as there's simply more high rise building there.
    It's also rather common in Japan - especially after the economic crash there.
    The figures rose so high in 2001, that the Government was forced, for the first time ever, to allocate funds towards suicide prevention groups.

Ahh perhaps, your right, but there have been a few stories in the press in the last year or two about people threatening to jump. My point I guess, is that usually we hear about people who drowned themselves, or hung themselves, but it used to be rare to hear/see someone jumping, as it's such a high profile thing. They rarely do it straight away and let a crowd build.

I was just curious, with the rise in tensions and stress in our economy, so many more immigrants, taller structures being built, those apartments, the Ulster Bank complex, and more planned buildings, is it something that will happen more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

whiskeyman wrote:
    ah yeah, sorry for that. Couldnt resist though :).
    I guess it's more common in America as there's simply more high rise building there.
    It's also rather common in Japan - especially after the economic crash there.
    The figures rose so high in 2001, that the Government was forced, for the first time ever, to allocate funds towards suicide prevention groups.

i think one could argue that there are more death by suicide in these countries becasue the population is much higher, not because of the size of the buildings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Apparently someone commited suicide by jumping off the multi storey car park at teh square a few weeks back. was on hliday at the time so dont know details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

There are a lot of suicides via jumping every year in this country. You just don't here them mentioned in the press very often. A very close friend of mine's father threw himself of a bridge last Christmas. But it wasn't mentioned in the press. The press respected the family's right to some privacy and did not name the mode of death.

friend of mine jumped off dalkey quarry a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Maybe a lot of the incidents are mistaken for accidents.

Tomohawk wrote:
    But how do you get the piano out the window??
    :D I meant piano wire, sorry

Cianos wrote:
    Yes. Many cops/doctors will put it down as death by misadventure to save the family & friends the grief of suicide. many commiting suicide will make it look like an accident for the same reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

Cianos wrote:

You could push yourself in the back to make it look like murder - that would puzzle people.

friend of mine jumped off dalkey quarry a few years back.

well, i think the note he left behind in this case kinda ruled out 'death by accident from jumping 80 yards to your death after writing a note saying goodbye to your family and leaving it on the dinning room table'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

A friend of mine was working in guinness' when a girl jumped and killed herself. He actually saw her jump which im sure is an image that wont leave him for the rest of his life. I really hope this doesnt become a trend in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

rubadub wrote:
    I remember reading some tips on suicide, mentioned hangman nooses made from piano wire connected to your various limbs, the crowd below get showered in body parts,

You really are an idiot arent you? You can die from a 2 story fall let alone a 10 storey etc. Seriouly man cop on.

i live beside a bridge over the shannon and 5peple have attempted suicide there over last 4years!1 succeeded :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

eo980 wrote:
    They rarely do it straight away and let a crowd build.
    Or maybe they have mental problems or are frightened?
    rubadub wrote:
    Yes. Many cops/doctors will put it down as death by misadventure to save the family & friends the grief of suicide. many commiting suicide will make it look like an accident for the same reason
    Coroners decide such case, not the Garda and not doctors. There is a presumption against suidicide unless there is evidence that it was actually suicide.

I think you might have missed my point Victor. Sure enough they might very well have mental problems or be frightened. When people commit themselves to jumping off of a building it's VERY public and quite often they don't do it straight away and without a doubt, a crowd forms to watch.

In the last few years this means of suicide seems to have been on the increase, and is definetly more common in other countries than here. I was just speculating that with the influx of new people, new nationaliites, rising tensions for people, the stress of hectic lifestyles, is it something that will become more common like it is in other countries.

Don't get me wrong Victor, I don't condone such actions, nor do I take any twisted glee or satisfaction from such an act. Any suicide is a tragic loss of life and a terrible thing.