Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic aftermath!

• 04-09-2005 9:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭

What did everyone think? I just went yesterday and god do I regret not driving down - the JJ Kavanaghs buses toook the most congested route and it took three hours to get there - 2hours just to get to Kildare town!

Aside from that, I was so impressed at how well organised the EP was, loads of beer counters, loads of (clean) toilets, really efficient stage staff etc.

My favourites yesterday were Goldfrapp and the Arcade Fire, who were unbelievable! But to the little 16 year old spotty f*cktards who started mosh circles and pushing the crowd forward at T.A.F - you're a bunch of retards who ruined that gig for a lot of people. There was even a crazy psycho standing behind my friend who seemed to want to ruin the gig for her just because we were right at the front - the nutbag had a wineglass around her neck, what fun if that shattered!

I was really looking forward to seeing Doves but again found them a bit dull...I think that's just how they are live. Just felt like giving them a boot up the bum to liven them up!!

Kraftwerk was a disappointment for me. For a start...they should have been on the main stage instead of Fatboy Slim who, for me, is just a glorified "niteclub deejay". Then they could have had their laser light show which, tbh is what people want to see when they see Kraftwerk...just watching four guys hitting buttons on their laptops is a bit boring.

One bad thing - no bins?? I saw ONE bin the whole time i was tehre! There weren't even any bins outside the food stalls/vans! By the time I left there was a blanket of litter on the ground :-(

But all in all, 8/10! Roll on next year!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

yeh i went down yesterday had great fun

mixmaster mike was excellent that tent had about 10 people in it when he played the first song by the end of the second song the place was full really got the day started

thought arcade fire were brilliant although i agree there did seem to be an awful lot of idiots intent on storming their way up to the front. they had great stage presence aswell which i wasnt really expecting and the smashing of the mic stand at the end of that song was quality

i enjoyed kraftwerk saw most of it although i agree that they should have been put on the main stage after the flaming lips and give fatboy slim the electronic tent

left after about 5 minutes of rokysopp didnt realise they just did full on dance music live

i was wandering around waiting for the flaming lips heard some of the doves tunes ive never listened to them but the songs sounded pretty good

goldfrapp were good aswell they played the stuff i liked and then the newer stuff aswell which was worth getting through to hear black cherry

anyway all in all quality day out, with a bit more thought put into the timetable it will get even better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Arcade Fire were amazing.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭klingklang

Brilliant day on Saturday and none of the usual festival horror stories re organisation, drinks, toilets etc. KRAFTWERK were incredible and the highlight of the day for me. Their visuals were the same as their other 2004/2005 shows so Electric Picnic punters missed absolutely nothing apart from a shorter set. Thousands of people in a huge tent going bananas to four robots on stage is a sight to behold. Long may they twiddle their knobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

eth0_ wrote:
    My favourites yesterday were Goldfrapp and the Arcade Fire, who were unbelievable! But to the little 16 year old spotty f*cktards who started mosh circles and pushing the crowd forward at T.A.F - you're a bunch of retards

I thought it was supposed to be over 18's eh?

Damnit I really really wanted to go see Bob Mould but i didn't think I'd get in because of the age limit thing..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Kraftwerk were head and shoulders above everything else there yesterday. Agree that it was a shame that they weren't on the main stage and move that Fatboy Slim gom in to one of the tents. He should have been kneeling at the altar of Kraftwerk as without them, he wouldn't exist.

Thought the organisation was spot on with the exception of the litter. They had people picking up litter but it was like Ciciphus and his rock...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Pugwash

Can't believe no one's mentioned the Flaming lips yet. they were fuggin amazing! I think i came about six times.

Amazing songs, visuals, props, enthusiasm, stage presence, humour, genius.
    They had EVERYTHING.

Would you have caught any other band there have the lead singer crowd surfing inside a giant plastic bubble and then tear into a cover of Bohemian Rhapsody for their opening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Pugwash wrote:
    Can't believe no one's mentioned the Flaming lips yet. they were fuggin amazing! I think i came about six times.

Amazing songs, visuals, props, enthusiasm, stage presence, humour, genius.
    They had EVERYTHING.

Would you have caught any other band there have the lead singer crowd surfing inside a giant plastic bubble and then tear into a cover of Bohemian Rhapsody for their opening?

I just can't stand the flaming lips, hate that guys voice and the retarded things he does on stage like pouring blood over himself. Sorry :-(

I did, however, see him in Wagamama's yesterday! Wearing the same clothes he had on on Saturday, smelly!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

flaming lips were awesome.. war pigs! .. can't go wrong with a bit of black sabbath... other honourable mentions go to redneck manifesto for a rocking sunday morning performance.. the best way to get up and moving.
    Arcade Fire was excellent, incredibly packed at the front, but so so good regardless... err what else ehh Mercury Rev were as per usual excellent live, Soulwax were a great end to the weekend, lots of jumping around.

I think I need some sleep though.. up at 5 still completly ****ed to pack up and go to work .. not cool.

durka durka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Electric Picnic really showed Oxegen up for the group of filthy filthy 14yr olds on their first weekend without mammy that it is. Lovely venue, excellent layout, nice crowd, great music etc. Its not Glastonbury by a long shot but they made an effort most evident with the body and soul area which was really nice.

Fastest time from car park to camping anywhere Ive been with no queues at the security area. Ditto coming home...straight on a coach at 9.50am back in Dublin before 12, and comfortable air conditioned coaches too! Everywhere was a real short walk from everywhere else but still plenty of space and things to see.

Nice selection of booze if you avoided the Bud bars but the diageo license meant that pepsi was the only cola available and they had no diet drinks at all. Also very little drinking water/hand washing facilities.

Toilet facilities were grand by the way... just people all ended up queuing for the same ones rather than walk the 2 mins to the next set.

Anyway with no Glastonbury 2006 I bet this will sell out within weeks next year and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Kali wrote:
    durka durka.

hahaha. The whole campsite seemd to be saying this! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

What was Fatboy Slim like????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Fatboy Slim was retarded.

ClareBear wrote:
    What was Fatboy Slim like????

Not very good at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭sinus

what a weekend, having been to all the "wit-egens" i was looking forward to a change, a different experience and well joop joop thats what i got.

We drove to from galway, and didnt get stuck in any delays, got straight into the free car park and 5mins walk yo.

Just arriving in the door it looked pretty class! with the pictures thumbed to the trees. It felt special. Very short q for the armbands. and they didnt take the tops of my bottle (buckie)
    I wasnt camping at this stage so straight into the main while the mates went to campsite

The athmosphere was defo different. friendlyier, more alternative, alive. At not too many skangers at all.

Dont really remember much outside of goldfrapp, the first 2 songs of TAF and dancing the crap out of myself to music that i was then told was Mr.Slim, could of been anyone, but I looked posessed! no complaints there.

Walked straight into campside (....lost..... :P) without so much as a glance my way, and persuded to have mighty craic of all sorts

Day 2: the mighty redneck manifesto (RAWK) and met ritchie later after he stole a beanbag from backstage. Excellent. DJ format blew me away. F**kin amazing set, danced my dangly legs and had about 5 people come up to me to ask me could they have some of what i was on, disappointment when i told them i wasnt! :P
    Mr. Scruff who i have been waiting to see for about 2 years, was mid-range, more for chillout rather than dancedance
    The band that played in the lost vagness(sp?) the 4 ladies playing rock'n'roll songs was pretty cool although the guitarist was slighly on the manly side i think! its was fun!
    Nick Cave made me dribble, but got lost and somehow ended up at soulwax ( excellent) and then got lost again and ended up back at nick cave :confused:
    On to bodytonic! chill out! still noone looking for armbands!
    It was great that noone was around really early shouting at people to get up, relaxed!

also rocked (coz i am only starting to remember things now:
    lemon jelly, yum yum
    Best Band of Weekend: LCD Soundsystem (i was an LCD virgin till yesterday!)
    Best Dance of Weekend: either dj format or toots and the maytals
    Worst Band: do i even have to say his name...it rhymes with munt
    Oh the lads in the camp site who had a sign on the side say BLUNT GO HOME hilarious! brill! roll on next year and make it 3day and i am there!

yiiiiiipppp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭antifyre

Great were:
    Nick Cave (god like experience, especially when the guy in the middle set off the fire extingusher in time to Red Right Hand :)
    Arcade Fire (damn near God-Like Experience)
    Goldfrapp (one of many albums I have to now buy)
    Blue Ghost (cheers for the tip, Linda)
    Flaming Lips (always special)
    Husky Rescue (Bloody hypnotic female Norwegians!)
    Toots and the Maytals (H-Energy!)
    Anything going on in the body/soul camp.......hmmm Apple beer!
    Lost Vaugeness Strippers!
    Pie-Minister Pies (now thats good pie!)
    And at least 4 other bands who I will now spend the week trying
    to remember the names of!

Bad were:
    Fatboy Slim (glasses were fairly cool, but was bored with the set
    after an hour)
    Toilets in the camp site not being cleaned enough!
    Hangover on Saturday and forgetting mostly everything I was
    meant to see....

Bring on Next Year!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

3 totally different types of music and 3 of the best gigs I have ever being too.

Arcade Fire where what i expected and more. There is a live concert of theirs on the internet but they where so much better in the flesh. Never seen a crowd so up for it before.

Toots and Maytals where just pure brillance. Perfect entertaintment for a Sunday afternoon in the sunshine(or was it overcast) anyway i was right up the front dancing away with freinds and other people who became freinds! (you cant beat a reggae gig for happy people)

And of course the legends...
    (they dont just push buttons ya know)

fgfg_by_Hantori.jpg

gfdg_by_Hantori.jpg

Another mention goes to Redneck Manfiesto,
    Why arent these guys famous yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

only went the saturday. saw be your own pet, chalets, arcade fire, doves, kraftwerk

the crowd for the arcade fire was quite drunk, lot of beer throwing etc. but i did not care and that guy who crowd surfed over me i apologise for the monsterous wedgy i gave you..You DID deserve it. Their show was simply amazing. something i will never forget. And that girl who said 'is this the canadian band that everyone is talking about'. I hope you rot in hell.

be your own pet were very good also(seemed like they were all 15 years old). bass guitarist had a great afro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Anyone see Damian Dempsy's 'it's all good' tripped out dance finale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

i have a vid of wayne coyne from the lips walking over me in a big inflatable ball have most of the song too.

its about 80 megs pm me if you want the link its up on yousendit a few of my mates have downloaded it so only a few more downloads left. took me ages to upload so dont really want to have to do it again

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Just curious, did anyone see Channel One on Sunday? They were playing the Crawdaddy tent at 4.30. One of the lads in work is in the band but he won't be back in for a few days and I was just wondering how well they went down as they were pretty good the one time I've seen them.

was james blunt there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

apart from all the obvious people, well, for me the Flaming Lips, Arcade Fire, Damien Dempsey, Mercury Rev, Nick Cave..

what did anyone think of the Human League? caught the last 4 or 5 songs and sounded fantastic, especially Electric Dreams :p

didn't see James Blunt but did see someone wandering around with a sign that said "James C**t",

dunno what that was about, did he not show up or is he just shocking (I have heard the cheesy single alright)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

yeah, i saw the "James C**t" sign as well, in the electric arena for Soulwax/2 Many Djs.

it think it's because he's, well, more than just a bit crap.

i mean seriously, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Mercury Rev and James Blunt, which one of these is not like the others...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

200509031742_00046.jpg

Working backstage is fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭klingklang

That's great!
    The suit waits patiently for those pesky robots to get off stage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

gott give a mention to the silent disco. that place was bananas on friday night!
    qotsa on one channel and dutch gabber on the other. :p

band of the weekend for me would have to be the audio bullys - ****ing superb live show.
    dj of the weekend was dj sneak - pure quality from start to finish.
    stereo mcs and toots & maytall were also quality

vitalic being a no show (as far as i could tell) ruined my saturday. i was in a bit of a state at that stage and didn't want to miss him, so i ended up missing both royksopp and him. ****ing frenchies :mad:

2 many djs were extremely ****. did they get any better after the first 2 tunes?
    i just went back to dj sneak and hada good old stomp after that :)

superb festival all in all. friendly people, great layout and some great music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

tman wrote:

band of the weekend for me would have to be the audio bullys - ****ing superb live show.

They were amazing. One minute the place was empty the next minute it was kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Norinoco

tman wrote:
    2 many djs were extremely ****. did they get any better after the first 2 tunes?
    i just went back to dj sneak and hada good old stomp after that :)

They had sound problems at the start and about 4/5 tunes in to the set they had to stop the music and fix the sound.
    The crowd started the usual "ole ole" chant.
    When the music started back up, everyone went nuts up the front, so it ended well

yeah, i saw the "James C**t" sign as well, in the electric arena for Soulwax/2 Many Djs.

Saw this sign aswell - got a pic of it - will post it up tomorrow!

zaph wrote:
    Just curious, did anyone see Channel One on Sunday? .

Yep - went to see the Rakes and this Band came on stage. I really liked them. Thought they were very good.
    Couple of the lads works with albert from the band - not sure if you know the same guy.

Overall, the music, atmosphere, set up (except for the loos sunday morning in the campsite) was all excellent and a million times better than oxegen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Great festival. My rundown:

Friday Night:
    Unlike Oxegen there was stuff happening on the Friday night. Silent Disco was great although everyone seemed to be listening to the one DJ. I was listening to the guy playing Beastie Boys and Depeche Mode, when he asked people to put up their hands who were listening to him me and only about four others did. Hmmm. Body and Soul area was very nice. Chilled out music and great vibes. Nice selection of beers too. Lost Vagueness tent was fun but the DJ seemed to run out of records and play a few of the songs a couple of times.

Saturday:
    Disappointed by a lack of Mixmaster Mike. Did he cancel or play at a time not listed on the timetable? Saw a bit of the Matthew Herbert Big Band. I'm only familiar with his sample work so this was completely unexpected. Went to the Wayne Coyne interview, very interesting and he seems like an amiable chap. Went to Arcade Fire and thought they were ****e. I don't get the hype, I hadn't heard them before and they just seemed like another "The" band. The Killers with violins. Went to Amp Fiddler who was much better, had a bit of a dance to him (amazing bass sound!) and then hopped over to the main stage for the Flaming Lips. What can I say? One of the finest live bands I've ever seen, their performance this time beat the last time I saw them which is some achievement. When they ended I ran over to Kraftwerk and saw from Radioactivity onwards (I felt I was missing less at Kraftwerk considering their shows are fairly uniform). The crowd were really up for it at Kraftwerk but the tent wasn't as packed as I expected it to be. Went back to the campsite and got up to shenanigans rather then go see Fatboy Slim Pickings.

Sunday:
    Started the day with The Redneck Manifesto. Not bad but a lot of the time they sounded like a band rehearsing without their singer. Props to the bass player for the SunnO))) t-shirt though. Went to Declan O'Rourke, wasn't impressed at all. Watched a bit of Toots and the Maytels but got cold so I went back to the campsite for a jumper, what I heard was deadly. Came back for LCD Soundsystem. Danced my ass off. ****ing amazing band, really tight and have that rare ability to rock and groove at the same time. "Losing My Edge" was the highlight of my weekend. Saw Bob Mould later, never heard any of his stuff (from any of his bands) before. Was impressed but he was a bit samey. Finished the weekend with Nick Cave. I've seen him before and this was the least best performance of his I'd seen. Can't say worst because it was still a great show. Although I would wish he'd change his set a little, as much as I love the Ship Song he does have other equally brilliant songs in his arsenal. The Weeping Song was nothing with Blixa. In fact most of the old songs seemed to highlight his absence. The band has gotten too big, Tupelo has lost its edge. Too many cooks (and backing vocalists). Warren needs a shave too. Still, these are all minor gripes, it's Nick Cave and you have to be a corpse not to be caught up in the rapture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

KevIRL wrote:
    Not very good at all.

Ah no, I thought he'd be brilliant. Glad I went to the Stereophonics instead so.

John2 wrote:

Saturday:
    Disappointed by a lack of Mixmaster Mike. Did he cancel or play at a time not listed on the timetable?.

He swapped places o nthe bill with the band that were meant to be on before him. So he played earlier. Was pissed off rightly when I got down to the tent to find he had finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

KevIRL wrote:
    He swapped places o nthe bill with the band that were meant to be on before him. So he played earlier. Was pissed off rightly when I got down to the tent to find he had finished

That's really really annoying.

John2 wrote:
    That's really really annoying.

Yep, one of the things they need to change for next year is some sort of way to communicate to festival goers any changes to the official schedule. 2 out of my 3 must sees at the weekend (Vitalic and Mixmaster Mike) didnt play their appointed times. Well Vitalic didnt play at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭bumblebeemouth

Anyone see the bouncers beat the absolute **** out of some guy towards the end of the soulwax set - really wasn't on, the singer even stopped to ask what was goin on!! I hate those fukkers, they're always pickin on somebody to get their power trip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

Saturday:
    Disappointed by a lack of Mixmaster Mike. Did he cancel or play at a time not listed on the timetable?

yeh mixmaster mike ended up playing at 3p.m. fecking brilliant set and the place was going fairly nuts. started off empty for the first 2 minutes then suddenly the place was full

the nirvana and rage against the machine bit was especially fun really got the day properly started for alot of people

but yeh alot of people seemed to arrive expecting to see him at 4 and were rightly pissed off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

I can't beleive that not one person has mentioned Bob Mould yet.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

John2 wrote:
    Saw Bob Mould later, never heard any of his stuff (from any of his bands) before. Was impressed but he was a bit samey.

There you go. I would have liked to see him for his Sugar stuff. Don't have any Husker-Du yet.
    Can't believe I missed the festival but I was broke.
    And to think it was all happening less than 10 miles from my house.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

John2 wrote:
    Saw Bob Mould later, never heard any of his stuff (from any of his bands) before. Was impressed but he was a bit samey.

I went over to see him at quarter to something (the advertised time), but JJ72 were there! Must have been running late, took me a while to figure out who I was acutally listenting to and when I did I ran away, far away! Had a wander about then forgot to return for Bob :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Tommy Tiernan - Hilarious and I got right up the front

The Arcade Fire - wow - what a live act. Fantastic

Vitalic - I was so angry that he didnt play :(

Lauren Garnier - Absolutely amazing set. Danced my arse off

Fatboy Slim - His mix of 'sunshine of your love' was absolutey ****ing fantastic. Overall I didnt think he was all that great though. The 3d glasses were cool, as was the stage show.

2many DJs - ****ing deadly rapid & also savage. I completely disagree with the poster who said they were ****e.

The Human League - 80licious. Great fun.

Overall it was leagues ahead of Oxegen on all counts including atmosphere, organisation and things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭timmyjimmy

how ye all doin? what a weekend! i was workin there, only got back today-still wrecked! did any of ye see fatboyslim in da silent disco-that was pretty good. overall for me do would have to be arcade fire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dwightshowman

why aren't more ppl raving about nick cave? from what i hear, it's not as good without blixa but it's still nick cave!!! i loved the way he made it rain when he sang tupelo. genius.
    lcd soundsystem and kraftwerk kicked ass also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Stephmurph

My favourites have to be;
    Nick Cave (he shoud be ruling powerful nations)
    Royksopp (bloody beautiful)
    Redneck Manifesto
    Lemon Jelly
    Des Bishop (heh heh heh)
    Bosco (man, I think I cried)

Fat boy slim was rubbish
    James Blunt put in a hell of a performance. He's not as bad as I thought - and he sang the Pixies.
    Dublin Gospel Choir were brilliant.
    Flamming Lips singing Bohemian Rapsody....
    The Chi tent became my home for four days.

I loved everything about that festival, and anyone who's been to the Leetrum festival would not have noticed the state of the toilets. I though they were grand, for toilets that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Goolay

Stephmurph wrote:
    Bosco (man, I think I cried)

I couldn't make it, please explain!