Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spitting in Public

• 01-09-2005 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Since theres a thread on farting in public,I was just wondering what do people think of spitting in public.

Your opinions please.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's idiotic, moronic and it spreads disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Absolutely disgusting and anybody who does it obviously wasn't brought up well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

No, I think its a bit nasty. Could land on someone or something.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

A favorite pastime of knackers, sknackers & scum everywhere. I've also noticed spitters share the same type of haircut and wear reflective sportswear. The female of the species thankfully do not spit, being far too occupied with being pregnant. Someone ought to tell them that its a womb, not a clown car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Unlike farting in public, under some old law in Ireland spitting is actually illegal. Something to do with curbing the spread of TB back in the early 1900's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

grimloch wrote:
    No, I think its a bit nasty. Could land on someone or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

kmart6 wrote:
    Since theres a thread on farting in public,I was just wondering what do people think of spitting in public.

Your opinions please.......

What about your own opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

people who spit in public are ignorant idiots .

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

It is disgusting and skangery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Spitting is horrible, especially snot-rockets. Bleugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Eh, why would you?

Okay, maybe you've got a nasty chest infection and stuff's coming up from your lungs into your mouth that's too thick to swallow or something, and that makes it understandable (though hardly less unpleasant), but otherwise, why?

Talliesin wrote:
    Eh, why would you?

Okay, maybe you've got a nasty chest infection and stuff's coming up from your lungs into your mouth that's too thick to swallow or something, and that makes it understandable (though hardly less unpleasant), but otherwise, why?

Because it makes you look shmad. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I think there's some cultural differences. With the new wave of tourism I've seen two foreign women (on seperate occasions, both looking eastern european) walking along the main streets of Galway and spitting. One of them even loudly coughed up a big greener first!

It was disgusting and they didn't seem phased by it at all. The woman that was with her didn't seem to take any notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I think it's disgusting and really ignorant. A mate of mine did it in front of me recently and I thought it was a one off and commented and he said he does it all the time. I was a bit horrified tbh.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My Dad saw some woman blow her nose onto the street. As in she just closed one nostril with her fingers and blew through her other nostril, so that a jet or snot came flying out onto the pavement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Maximilian wrote:
    The female of the species thankfully do not spit, being far too occupied with being pregnant. Someone ought to tell them that its a womb, not a clown car.

Please bring back the rep system. This deserves respect.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

never have done it,never will.disgusts me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭THEZAPPA

i hate it,its horrible.
    never done it and don't tend on doing it ever.

A girl i used to know did it and it was horrrible.
    Its not attractive at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Talliesin wrote:
    Eh, why would you?

So what exactly do you do in that situation? I'm currently getting over a bad flu/cold/virus thing and have a lot of phlegm lying in my trachea; I sure as hell amn't gonna swallow it.
    Ok so you spit it into a tissue or whatever....maybe you run out or forgot to take one with you....I think that is forgivable; there's no point in being highbrow about it.

However there is the other brand of spitting where only saliva is involved and in some cases it seems to be a competition as to who can produce the most or make it go the furthest distance.
    BTW whoever said about "yung wans" that don't spit hasn't a clue....I see just as many girls as guys spitting these days.

Lastly, how many of those who are so quick to criticise have had to relieve themselves whilst pissed out of their heads of a weekend? Lack of inhibition is not an excuse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

It is rather funny though to see some cool dude skanger going to spit, a bit of a breeze whips up and the spit ends up on himself!! hehe I've witnessed that once or twice. hehe

A lot of smokers spit as well, I have noticed.

If you're gonna spit, spit into a tissue and dispose of it!

Please bring back the rep system. This deserves respect.

Agreed, excellent post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

It's so horrible and disgusting. If someone I'm with does it, I usually tell them I think so too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Yes it's very stupid, but it's even stupider when people spit in the handdryers in bathrooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I do it if I have a bad taste in my mouth, but I make sure nobody's looking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I hate it, it looks disgusting and vulgar especially when you see women doing it

What i really really hate is when you see people bringing up phlegm and spitting it out...now that's just nasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

when in the countryside i have spat into a ditch once or twice. in an urban setting i really cannot do it at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

I think its lovely.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Well, when you have to fart you have to fart. But you rarely, if ever, HAVE to spit. Can you not just swallow the saliva??? Easier and cleanlier. Everyone's a winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Giblet wrote:
    What about your own opinion.

Ohh yeah forgot that :) I think its disgusting especially when theres people around.

But one problem I have is when playing a football match,and tou spit,you always have one person on the sideline that makes a comment bout your being disgusting or the likes. I think this is going a bit to fair because it is nearly necessary to do so while running around!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Ugh... swallow it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Maximilian wrote:
    . Someone ought to tell them that its a womb, not a clown car.

Nomination for phrase of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Me being a smoker and as a result often have alot of phlegm I do spit. Not generally in front of people or at people but I absolutely refuse to swallow phlegm, that's bloody disgusting. If I do that too much I'll start to feel very nauseous and tbh me not feeling like crap is more important to me than joe public being disgusted for all of 3 seconds

• It's a really disgusting, foul habit. If a friend did it I'd def say something. Whats with the need to spit anyway? I don't have a problem with giant balls of phlegm caught in my throat..... does everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭bang_bang_rosie

Hate spitting too. The only time I find it acceptable is when a fly/wasp/beetle etc gets in your mouth. or worse!

Swallowing phelgm may disgust you for 3 secs but it disgusts friends/onlookers/potential parters for a lot longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

Spit or swallow, eh, In public or not? I think taking a mouth full in public is more of an issue than whether to spit or swallow ;)

... bad joke aside ...

Anyone who does proper exercise will find themselves needing to spit and worse (shooting snot out your nose/puking in the long grass/generally acting the savage). It seems in say a cycling or running environment, these little social hang ups disappear, perhaps the physical strain takes us to a higher ('lower' I hear you say) plane where this polite bullsh*t is put in it's place ... out the window/your gob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

"Coughs and sneezes spread diseases"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

To be honest i always spit! and probably won't stop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 janet

I suggest that no-one who abhors the sight of spitting visit the far East. In China it's quite the norm to hawk in public in many places - not just on the pavement, either. I've seen people do it in restaurants and karaoke bars too. From what I saw there, it's almost a national pastime. That's not to detract from China, mind you - it's generally a fabulous country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

Anyone else spit in the urinal? My ... friend, he says that even though there's nothing phlegm-wise to spit, he's often caught himself spitting in the urinal before taking a pee. Luckily his spidey sense keep him from doing it in a crowded toliet. Would you say there is some psychological urinary dysfuction there just waiting to appear?

emm ... so, I guess I better log off and head over to PI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

I spit quite a lot... especially if I have any sort of chest infection or cold. I don't really have a problem with anybody else doing it either, I'm not being forced to get on the ground and lick it up. And if there is ever a disease that breaks out in these hygeinic times then spreading by spitting is going to be the last of peoples worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

janet wrote:
    I suggest that no-one who abhors the sight of spitting visit the far East. In China it's quite the norm to hawk in public in many places

Similar situation in Japan - which is kind of odd in a country in which sneezing or blowing your nose in public can be considered rude. Gob all over the floor of the subway station all you like, but god forbid you put hanky to nose :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭eyebrows

rob1891 wrote:
    Anyone else spit in the urinal? My ... friend, he says that even though there's nothing phlegm-wise to spit, he's often caught himself spitting in the urinal before taking a pee. Luckily his spidey sense keep him from doing it in a crowded toliet. Would you say there is some psychological urinary dysfuction there just waiting to appear?

emm ... so, I guess I better log off and head over to PI?

yeah do that all the time. Dont usually spit much but if I feel like it I would. never even thought of it as being disgusting. never will... once its not on something(handle of a door, public seat... someones face)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 BIG DAWG

rob1891 wrote:
    I seem to always spit in the urinal as well, don't know why though, just habit.