Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest waste of money ?

• 31-08-2005 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭

What was the biggest waste of money for yea ? What pricey item did yea buy that was crap ? What concert did you go to that was a disaster ? ETC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Yore ma.

(I'm so sorry, but it had to be done.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

incompetent hitman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I haven't made too many consumer mistakes but I'll make a prediction of my debs.

I've spent a good bit on crappy CD's, clothes that get worn once, oh, that's it clothes that get worn once. My biggest waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Until I played Burnout 3, I would have said my Xbox, now I'm not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The Dubs in croker last Sat.
    Jaysus... bleedin bruuuuutal!
    Worst 30 quid.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

£120 (english pounds) on a Panasonic GD67 <mobile phone> a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Paying to go see "war of the worlds" in the cinema :mad: dreadful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

biggest waste of money IMO, is paying rent in Dublin-so overpriced for poor quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

Nightwish wrote:
    biggest waste of money IMO, is paying rent in Dublin-so overpriced for poor quality

Rent anywhere, All dead money.
    oh and like another said cloths that I only were once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Last year I spent €36 on a Street Fighter cartoon box-set thinking it was the ultra-violent cool one. Turned out to be the old kids one (box had no rating) :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

ill predict debs too, already major money spent and it's not till next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

I'd say my playstation...although i've gotten a gud bit of use out of it I always feel bad about spendin money on games etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Oh another thing, my mobile phone.....they cost too much :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Trading my college fund for some magic beans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

ooh yeah, college. all that money spent on a piece of paper that has in recent years become less and less valuable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

dogg_r_69 wrote:
    Rent anywhere, All dead money.
    oh and like another said cloths that I only were once.

I rented a car when I went to the US on holidays earlier this year - didn't see that as 'dead money'

and what about people who get the bus everyday - they pay their fare every day and have no bus to show for it when they stop working. Is that not 'dead money'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I rented a car when I went to the US on holidays earlier this year - didn't see that as 'dead money'

and what about people who get the bus everyday - they pay their fare every day and have no bus to show for it when they stop working. Is that not 'dead money'?

I reckon dogg_r_69 was talking about renting accomodation in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Crucifix wrote:
    incompetent hitman.

rofl, funny because it's true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Tusky, you should read the charter on starting useless threads without commenting on your subject matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

qz wrote:
    I reckon dogg_r_69 was talking about renting accomodation in Dublin.

Pretty much. I meant rent of a house anywhere if you're going to live there was anything other than a short period of time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Tusky, you should read the charter on starting useless threads without commenting on your subject matter.

Mod on Mod owning :D . I love it

Mods are normal people outside the forums they moderate. Or so rumour has it....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 199 ✭✭fun bus

Got plane tickets to go to a stag in liverpool with 29 other lads to discover there was no accommadation for us,so we had to get new tickets to belgium instead! AND the dates were the same, so ryan-air are gonna have thirty free seats on a plane because of us and their "no refund" and "extremely expensive to transfer flights" policies!!

PS-It was not i who was charged with organising said weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

They always over sell flights anyway so all the seats might not be empty.

Spent a fortune on a designer shirt in England but I didn't mind so much cos I liked it and it looked good on me. The waste of money was it shrank in the wash and I can't wear it any more. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Giblet wrote:

Its on my to-do list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

A remote control airplane that i bought 2 years ago...

I brought it home and later that day i had it on my bed, i forgot that the engine was still in idle so silly me picks up the remote control, hits forward and guess what? The plane launches forward and takes off two of my finger nails and leaves a nasty little cut

Now to the reason why it was a waste of money, with blood driping, i lost my cool and fecked the thing at the wall...i broke it and to this day haven't flown it once...that reminds me, i got to sort out the repairs for it soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The last 4 pints of a saturday night after you have blacked out, and the massive abrakebabra meal you ate, the only reminder is a receipt for €20 and a wicked dose of ring sting and the jet black trots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

debs would be up there at the top of the list, along with all those ****ty school books and uniforms. and of course i would say fones but id really mean to say theyre too expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

The U2 gig in Croker...

Sound? What sound?

all i heard was a skipping record for 2 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Drink-sure it often adds to a good night out but sometimes all you can be left with is and empty pocket, a headache and embarrassing scenarios you'd rather forget....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

Staying with 02 for about six months too long when I should of changed to Meteor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

First debs dress, disastr zone, blue and shiney-not in a good way. Subsequently I just wore the other one for the other 4 debs, meh, different accessories and dry clean, all you need to do.

Also, really expensive couture stuff I bought from work once, also a disastr, couture my ass.Looked pretty, but was a disastr. I also have a suit in my wardrobe for some unexplainable reason-can't remember how, when, or why it got there, but I reckon it could have cost me two weekends worth of drinking...

Too many albums to even begin with-head automatica, wtf was I thinking, and my never-ending collection of handbags, which is fast approaching the 150 mark...not a waste of money AT ALL, but it does eat a hole in my pocket...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Gonzolas

Crazy Frog - Crazy Hits CD (What was I thinking???)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Gonzolas wrote:

I'm too shocked to post....

....guess it would be my DVD collection. Possibly my games collection - it goes like this. Buy game, 50/50 chance of playing it for ten minutes if at all, before returning it for about half value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Biggest waste of money ?
    qz wrote:
    Yore ma. (I'm so sorry, but it had to be done.)
    Well it was teh only way you could get any. :p

Gonzolas wrote:

I thought everyone who bought that was illiterate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Triton wrote:
    Staying with 02 for about six months too long when I should of changed to Meteor.

Tell me about it! I have been with Vodafone for the past couple of months and only changed over to Meteor today...damn i was stupid paying Vodafone prices for that long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

rent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

A limp Bizkit album.... :(

*shudder.... it was my "not so cool" phase...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

A college course I didn't finish a few years ago. Bloody awful course, didn't learn a thing the year and a half I was there and I'm still paying for it. Bastids :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Paying to go see "war of the worlds" in the cinema :mad: dreadful

/nods in agreement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Cars (VRT, Insurance, NCT, VAT)
    Drink
    Not changing to Meteor sooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Buying a crap-load of reproduction Soviet era posters for 25 Sterling a pop in a shop in Regent's St. London, when I could have got them for 5 Sterling on ebay. Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Random clothes that I like the colour/feel of at the time, but secretly know I'll probably never wear. I then end up with them lying about taking up space in my room for bloody ages because I can't bring myself to get rid of them, until the memory of the cost becomes vague enough to hand them on to someone else who'll make use of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Gym membership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Gonzolas

An acre of moon. What use is that ever going to be to me. Sigh.