Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone heard of Texasnights.ie?

• 29-08-2005 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭

They're hosting a game in my local pub this week, and I was figuring I might go along, but their website only shows that the URL has been registered, and I can't find out anything else about the crowd (a search on this forum reveals nowt)..

It's 30 euro (plus 20 euro rebuys), so I'd like to make sure the whole thing is kosher before I drag my friends along. Anyone been to one of their events / have any feedback?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

would that be Vegasnights.ie...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

poster defo says texasnights.ie.
    It says max players 80. with a €30 buy in and €20 rebuy, and says prize money of 3000+ with a donation to charity. It looks seriously dodgeball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭jd

I think i saw this crowd advertising in the spar near dcu-think it was being run in the slipper.
    jd

The poster i saw was for the gallops in ballyogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Went to one of their tournaments in Rathfarnham,
    Wasnt too happy with it.It was mostly regular drinkers
    from the bar downstairs who were half pissed.
    My table was ridiculous,with a group of 3 guys rebuying
    a minimum of five times each.A couple of my friends
    came first and second in one of there tournaments
    in the Goat pub.They got just under a grand between them.
    (around 35 runners spending average of 80)Not sure how
    many places were paid. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Yeah, pretty sure it was texasnights.ie.
    Pub is Byrnes in Shankill by the way (tomorrow night - 31st).

Details are pretty much the same as per Helio's post, cept'ing it's a minimum of 30 players, max of 80, 4k+ in the prize-fund (assuming a full 80 person reg), with the obligatory donation to charity (I assume this is how they get around the gambling/licensing laws).. Its hard to tell what they're creaming off the prize-fund..

Given that it starts at 8pm and must finish before closing time, just wondering if it'll be one of those 'up the antes every 5 minutes until only 1 player is left' kind of things.. Well, think I'll go along anyway.. I'll let you know how it goes..

Tonight it started late at around 8:30, probably because lack of players. At 8:30, 32 started off, at around 10:30 there was a break 12 left. Went on for another hour+ whittled down to final table of eight. Top four were paid:
    1st - 400
    2nd - 250
    3rd - 100
    4th - 50
    (a good load seemed to be skimmed "for Charity" there was at least €500 in rebuys and top-ups, so be warned!)

The guy tonight said the wrong website was put on the posters???
    Starting stacks were 1500, blinds 25/50 up every 20 mins (or so).
    Rebuys were €20 for 1500, and top-up were €20 for 2000, €40 for 4000.

In the end the final two split it tonite. Wasnt great poker played but it was enjoyable. Just thought id share, as its been said they are running one tomorrow.

Given that it starts at 8pm and must finish before closing time, just wondering if it'll be one of those 'up the antes every 5 minutes until only 1 player is left' kind of things.. Well, think I'll go along anyway.. I'll let you know how it goes..

On that point the blinds skipt two levels when the last four were sitting down.

The orgainsation of their website (can anyone find it??) gives a good indication of their organizational skills for poker events. It was a very enjoyable night, despite the organizers best efforts to fnck everything up (and they were trying really hard)...

It was a big turnout (90+). It was free seating, which to be honest was a bit of a cluster feck, with groups of lads either sitting beside their mates, or spreading out to try and improve overall chances.. The organizers obviously couldn't count as they were short an entire table.. It was all self-dealt (and with the money that didn't make it into the prize pool (more about this later), they really should have forked-up for a few dealers.

Play standard was poor, but with a nice bunch of people.. You don't mind someone hitting their straight on the river, when there's a bit of good natured banter! Blind levels were supposed to be 20 minutes, but there was a bit of randomness introduced at several stages of the night. Organizers new the basic rules, but made the rest up as they went along.

Most important part - the money. They had 90+ punters, which gives around 2,700 euro. I'd estimate at an average of 2 rebuys per person (some re-bought only once, other tables had individuals with 5+ rebuys). So let's say 90 punters x 2 rebuys @ 20 euro per rebuy = 3,600 euro.. The prize pool on the night was around 2,750 euro (1.5k, 500, 300, 200, 100, 50, 50, 50 - or something simillar). So, looks like they kept all of the top-up and rebuy money for themselves (oh, and of course a 'charity'). So, on my estimation, about 43% of the money handed over by the punters made it into the prize fund, with the rest (around 3.5K) going to the.... er, um,... charity.

Summary:
    Pub poker nights = Good craic
    Texasnights.ie (?) = Steer clear

Well, I'm off to buy a few table tops and print up a few posters...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

It was free seating,

What a complete joke... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

with the rest (around 3.5K) going to the.... er, um,... charity.

Love to see the receipt from the "Charity" for this donation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Did they mention anything about the charity? Even the name, just so that a concerned punter could make sure the donation went through ok...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

It's getting to the stage where some of these events need to be black listed if they

(a) do not give a detailed run down of the amount of entries, rebuys and top-ups and total money taken in.
    (b) if they do not state where exactly the skimmed cash is going.

They should quite simply not be supported.

Lafortezza: Did they mention anything about the charity? Even the name, just so that a concerned punter could make sure the donation went through ok...
    No. someone may have asked, but I didn't. I think the reference to the charity is simply a veiled attempt at making the event look legal. But to be honest, I don't think anyone playing was under the impression that it was a charity game.
    Musician: They should quite simply not be supported.
    I don't think they are supported, unless by supported you mean attended. I certainly wont be attending any more of their hosted events. However, there's an infinite line of drunken punters ready to queue up to hand their money over. Googling for texasnights.ie now brings you to this thread, so hopefully others will avoid this mess.

I intentionally made no reference to some of the other rumours I heard during the break, of chip-passing from the organisers to certain players, as I didn't witness this myself... (oops.. too late...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭ionapaul

musician wrote:
    It's getting to the stage where some of these events need to be black listed if they

(a) do not give a detailed run down of the amount of entries, rebuys and top-ups and total money taken in.
    (b) if they do not state where exactly the skimmed cash is going.

They should quite simply not be supported.
    Are these events even legal, if the organisers are keeping X% of the prize pool for themselves? Do they keep proper records? How is the donation transferred to the nominated charity? I suspect Revenue will crack down on these people at some stage.