Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin V Tyrone - The Replay

• 27-08-2005 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭

I'm surprised there ins't a thread on it already..

Is anyone watching the match?? I missed the first few mins of it. Dublin aren't playing that well, played much better last week. There were two great saves by the goalie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I am currently between the tv and the pc, Dublin are starting to come right now but it looks like puke negative northern football have the capital beat. I was looking forward to maybe Kerry meeting Dublin as both have a history of friendly rivalry and both teams play nice clean progressive football unlike the northern teams ala vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Dublin are playing much better now, brought the gap down to 3 points

Just as i speak, Tyrone score :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

That ginger tosser comes to the rescue.....ha ha!!! :D:D

UP TRYONE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Dublin just after hitting the bar :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Dont worry there is always next year! :):):)

Move aside its time for the big boys to take over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

bennyx_o wrote:
    Dublin just after hitting the bar :(

I couldn't believe when that happened!

Dessie Farrell's goal was great for him! Was that his last match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Dessie Farrell's goal was great for him! Was that his last match?

I'd imagine so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

half time antics of tyrone players was inexcusable.players being assaulted and officials getting pushed and abuse hurled at them.absolutely disgraceful.i witnessed this from the hogan stand and felt like puking my ring.

i'd start a thread on this but i wouldn't waste more time than i already have on that scumbaggery.this official in a white jacket was instructing the players to get off the pitch and go back to the dressing room and suddenly these tyrone players get in his face and start pushing him around.did anyone else notice this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

blackbelt wrote:
    half time antics of tyrone players was inexcusable.players being assaulted and officials getting pushed and abuse hurled at them.absolutely disgraceful.i witnessed this from the hogan stand and felt like puking my ring.

i'd start a thread on this but i wouldn't waste more time than i already have on that scumbaggery.this official in a white jacket was instructing the players to get off the pitch and go back to the dressing room and suddenly these tyrone players get in his face and start pushing him around.did anyone else notice this?

Was this the incident that happened after the Tyrone fellah was taken out by a high tackle to his face on the 40?

tbh, the game overall was a fair one, with a few heated moments. Tyrones experience proved vital. Dublin have a good up and coming team that in a couple of years will be there or thereabouts.

The first half penalty proved vital. It looked in real time speed like a stone cold penalty, but TV slow motion proved otherwise. Dublin never really recovered after that.

Cluxton and Mulligan definitely went up the pecking order for all stars..... that snowball in hell is looky very vunerable now. :)

Best team won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

Culchie wrote:
    Best team won.

agree with u there the best team did win.
    i thought that Dublin were rubbish in the first half and good for bout 10 mins
    in the second half. Dublin were losing by 7 points at half time and in the 10 mins that they played well they got it bac to be only 3 points behind until tyrone scored their second goal. in that 10 mins it thought that we cud go on and win the match until we conceded the second goal. that was a killer blow and after that i knew we were never gonna get bac into it.

we really missed Alan Brogan wen he went off injured(we didnt really have a player to replace him)

but we have a young team and we'll learn from this. so i think we'll be better next year.

next year cud be the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Personally I was disgusted by the carry-on by the Tyrone players, and not just at half time when 4 of them cleaned Jayo out of it in front of the hill after play had been stopped.
    McMenamin struck again when he kneeled on Brogan shortly into the first half...while on the hill I thought that I was just being influenced by the crowd but when I watched it at home I saw that he actually did do it again. He was constantly at Brogan for the short while Brogan was on the pitch.
    Mulligan, too, was a disgrace. The man is a class footballer and has definitely proven himself this year, but he was also at Shocko non-stop. More than once he clearly fouled him, the ref did nothing and Mulligan went on to score a great point.
    The glare he gave the hill after goal 2 didn't make him very popular either...:)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Come on Marie, it is Championship football. There will always be players committed to hard tackles. In fact there would be something seriously wrong if there wasn't. There was nothing malicious in any of Tyrone's play yesterday, they won it fair and square. Mulligan had a blinder of a game. If he keeps that up, Tyrone will win Sam I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Culchie wrote:
    Cluxton and Mulligan definitely went up the pecking order for all stars....

were you watching the game at all? Colm O rourke tore cluxton apart after the game, said he played terrible, he was directly at fault for at least 1-5 through terrible kick outs. giving the ball away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Well if Colm O Rourke said it, it must be true.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Well he kicked two over the sideline, that is terrible for an intercounty goalkeeper.

Cluxton and Mulligan definitely went up the pecking order for all stars..... that snowball in hell is looky very vunerable now.

Definitely not for Cluxton. Maybe for Mulligan. Even then though, he'd have to score another 1-7 in the semi and the final. I can't see him doing it.

Tyrone have played eight matches. Mulligan scored a wonder goal in one and has only performed to his potential in one other game, yesterday's.

He may get alot of media attention because he had his good game against Dublin but I'd be shocked if he gets an All-Star.

The glare he gave the hill after goal 2 didn't make him very popular either...

I wouldn't imagine being popular on The Hill is top of his priority list!

yes it was after that high tackle on the 40 but more noticeably after jayo got a smack in the face.

tyrone should be given the award of scumbag team of the championship.i hope kerry beat either armagh or tyrone.i am very disappointed with armagh and tyrone.sure you see the dirty tactics at full force when armagh and tyrone meet.

kerry for sam.they deserve it more than the other two.kerry play clean,honest football and you don't see any scumbaggery from them..

did anyone watching the tv or anybody at the match see the incident with the official at the tunnel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Thoroughly gutted after this game. We got played off the pitch in the first half. The penalty just killed us! I have not seen the incident since, but at the time I thought it was an excellent tackle, and I had a great view of it. I think you are being harsh on Cluxton, his distribution was a bit poor, but he made a couple of marvellous saves. The better team certainly won on the day but hopefully we can close the gap before next season. Mulligan had an excellent game, and I did not think he put a foot wrong all day. He scored some brilliant points. After seeing Kerry today I think they are close to invincible. They were playing some breathtaking football, and Cork just never stood a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I watched the match in a pub in Roscommon. Not quite the same atmosphere as in Croke Park. It really got going when Dublin got that run of points. Mulligan's goal killed it though. Armagh or Tyrone now, against Kerry. Armagh and Tyrone is a hard one to call. They both really want to win Sam. Armagh's determination may win out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Im stunned people are on here complaining about tyrone being dirty. I thought it was a very clean game.Plus the dubs were as much at fault as the tyrone boys for the half time handbag stuff. It all arose from a dirty tackle too.

I mean this is championship football here. Any more of this crap and we are going down the road of the non-physical sport soccer has turned into; whereby you cannot even touch another player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I too am also rather surprised that some Dublin fans can moan about Tyrone being dirty. There was not a dirty stroke in the game (open to correction) prior to one of the Tyrone players being assaulted by a Dublin player.

I'd give Tyrone a bit of credit. There is no way they are as negative as Armagh.

Lets face facts, Leinster football is very weak at the moment. Most people are saying it all year. No point in Dublin saying they will be back next year. They're simply not good enough with this bunch of players.

I thought the match was clean enough other than the dust up at half time.

It was a Dublin foul tackle that started that off when the Tyrone fellah was absolutely pole axed on his own 40.

Then Jayo got some rough house treatment.

Other than that, it was a fair enough battle, and both teams played hard and fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I didnt think Tyrone were dirty. Tough and fair. I will single out Ryan McMenamin as being a filthbag though. Scum.

I didnt think Dublin were outplayed in the first half either for the most part. After 25 minutes the score was Tyrone 1-6 Dublin 0-5. The game was quite even up to that, both teams playing well, but Tyrone just shading it alright. The scorleine would have been a lot closer but for an error by the ref (re the penalty) and two relatively straightforward misses from frees by Mossy Quinn. Tyrone to their great credit capitalised on these.

Then Dublin's best forward got injured after an illegal footblock by McMenamin for which no free was given. That was a very unlucky blow for us, and for the last 10 minutes our forwards were completely at sea. We still managed to win possession in the back and midfield, but our forwards gave us no options so the ball kept coming back. Fair play to Tyrone for taking advantage and they stroked over 3 more points to give the scoreboard a very comfortable look at the break.

Dublin put in a huge effort in the second half. At one stage we put together 5 unanswered points and were playing brilliantly. Only 3 in it. In that period Tyrone also hit two wides, so they were creaking a bit as most teams do in such circumstances. Then we gifted Tyrone a goal. Punch in the stomach for us, Tyrone's spirits lifted sky high. They followed this up with a couple of big points, and it was game over. Keaney was unlucky his goal chance came back off the bar - but in the end it wasnt to be.

The Dubs did their best and matched Tyrone for a lot of the 140 minutes. We're not that far behind. We did make more mistakes than they did in the second game, and they deserved their victory. A couple of bad breaks went against us, which maybe gave the scoreline a flattering look for Tyrone. But I think Dublin can look back and reflect that we have come on in the last 12 months. Another couple of players and we'll come on again next year. There's 3 ahead of us, but we're doing our best to close the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

As I have said before Dublin lack a consistent free taker. Mossy just isn't consistent enough with his free taking. You have to be scoring them relitavely easy free's at this level.

kerry for sam.they deserve it more than the other two.kerry play clean,honest football and you don't see any scumbaggery from them..

Did you watch the match yesterday? More than a few punch ups in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

I watched the Tyrone/Dublin match in a pub full of Dubs. There was hope at one stage for Dublin when they scored about 5 points on the trot, but the Mulligan goal sealed the match in terms of the winner. It was a good game. Both teams looked as if they could score on each possession and the score as a result was fairly high with Tyrone getting 24 pts. Dublin's late goal reduced the deficit by more than it actually was on the field, if you know what I mean, but you always felt that Tyrone could go up a gear if tasked. Dubs dreams are over for another year, but for the GAA, it was good to
    see them getting this far!

It was not a dirty game. I did think there was a few tackles going in from Dublin at the end when the game was lost, players losing the rag, but it was not a team-wide thing. Brogan going off was a blow, and the missed free's, some of them tappable by Quinn didnt help the cause at all. I felt that Tyrone would have won it anyway, but overall, well done to Dublin for a good run this year. That will give them something to build on next year.

The Kerry/Cork match was a bit disappointing in terms of a contest. However, there was some very nice football played by Kerry. They will get a much sterner test in the final, and whoever wins out of Armagh/Tyrone will be favourites, but Kerry's easier path to the final will mean that they will be fresher to some extent, less mentally weary, and being a bit of an underdog will suit them. If the Ulster team shows any sign of weakness, and if Kerry get their shooting game going, then they could run out winners. Its a final, so both teams have the occasion to play for as well, and that can affect performances. My money is on the Ulster team winning the final, and at this stage its on Armagh.

redspider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Kerry will not be underdogs in the final. They are All Ireland Champions, and are a better team then either Tyrone or Armagh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

Heard off a friend, who was at the game, that Sherlock ran about 50 yards and gave Lally a right bollicking after one of his mistakes. Is this true?

there was a few punches in the cork/kerry match but these were mostly started by frustrated cork players who were down and out.

what scumbag players start on an official who was trying to do his job?

he was shouting for them to get back into the tunnel and into the dressing rooms and he gets shoved around and abuse shouted at him.fair play to him for standing his ground.im surprised because i seem to be the only one on this board who saw the incident with the white coat official.

if some tyrone players are to behave like scumbags in the semis and the final like they did at half time last saturday,then i personally refuse to acknowledge them as classy champions regardless of their greqat style and quality of play.

imagine you are an official doing his job and trying to restore order and then you get started on.if his children/family saw this first hand i shudder to imagine the fear they went through.because at one stage he was lucky to get away without a punch.

what kind of message are these players sending to young children interested in the game?..is it that its alright to intimidate people and act like scum.yeah positive role models.

the majority of tyrone players had the decency to stay out of the fights.don't get me wrong,tyrone won fair and square and i have no quarrel with the outcome bar alan brogan being injured by a tackle that was obviously a foul and the "penalty".not that it would have made any difference to the outcome.those players who felt it necessary to start trouble on the pitch and on officials should watch their behaviour and be ashamed of themselves because i am ashamed of them.the gaa council are also at fault for not handing out suspensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Triton wrote:
    Heard off a friend, who was at the game, that Sherlock ran about 50 yards and gave Lally a right bollicking after one of his mistakes. Is this true?
    I didnt see it, but I'd very much doubt it. If Sherlock did run 50 yards towards him I guess it would have been to try and jee him back up rather than give out to him.

I did see Cluxton have a right go at him after Tyrone's second goal. But then Peadar Andrews ran across from the left full back position to Lally at right half back to pat him on the back and try and jee him up. And Caffrey told Cluxton to button it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

i didn't think that there was too much violence,i only saw the seond half though. What i saw was that Little Brian Dooher had his shirt ripped to shreads and by the end of the game he was wearing the number 33 shirt. Also Ciaran Whelan was lucky not to be sent off at the end of the game, he tracked Eoin and when eventually fouled him Eoin managed to get the ball to Dooher. Whelan then followed Dooher and clapped him one on the face (very obvious on the replay), i understand that it was just frustration but it should have been punished more than a yellow card

Originally Posted by blackbelt
    there was a few punches in the cork/kerry match but these were mostly started by frustrated cork players who were down and out.

Was Colm Cooper not booked for starting a row by winding up a few of the Cork players? He's not a frustrated Cork player.

Originally posted by blackbelt
    what scumbag players start on an official who was trying to do his job?

he was shouting for them to get back into the tunnel and into the dressing rooms and he gets shoved around and abuse shouted at him.fair play to him for standing his ground.im surprised because i seem to be the only one on this board who saw the incident with the white coat official.

if some tyrone players are to behave like scumbags in the semis and the final like they did at half time last saturday,then i personally refuse to acknowledge them as classy champions regardless of their greqat style and quality of play.

imagine you are an official doing his job and trying to restore order and then you get started on.if his children/family saw this first hand i shudder to imagine the fear they went through.because at one stage he was lucky to get away without a punch.

what kind of message are these players sending to young children interested in the game?..is it that its alright to intimidate people and act like scum.yeah positive role models.

the majority of tyrone players had the decency to stay out of the fights.don't get me wrong,tyrone won fair and square and i have no quarrel with the outcome bar alan brogan being injured by a tackle that was obviously a foul and the "penalty".not that it would have made any difference to the outcome.those players who felt it necessary to start trouble on the pitch and on officials should watch their behaviour and be ashamed of themselves because i am ashamed of them.the gaa council are also at fault for not handing out suspensions.

I think alot of people are choosing not to comment on this subject because they know that Dublin gave just as good as they got. That's the way it looked on TV anyway. And the official wasn't started on, he got in the way of the fracas trying to stop it.

And there were just as many Dublin players pushing him as there were Tyrone from what was shown on TV. After all, there was more than a couple of Dublin substitutes making it their business to get involved rather than walking down the tunnel.

You could say that they were sticking up for their team mates, which is all well and good, but you can't blame Tyrone for the entire thing, which is why I think other Dublin supporters have failed to comment on it. Let's not forget the whole thing started when there was a high tackle on a Tyrone player.

You can understand the Dublin players getting angry though when Sherlock got hit. That said, it wasn't just one team involved, both sets of players let themselves down but you cann't single out one group of 15 more than the other, it was six of one and half a dozen of the other.

I haven't commented because I generally agree with you Lemlin on the match.

I didn't think the game was particulary dirty, few incidents, but was half time came in time to cool things down.

We tend to go around in circles alot on these threads.

Regarding you quote on Cooper/Cork players/Fisticuffs, Blackbelt used the word 'mostly'. You keep quoting people out of context and using editing techniques that suit to your point of view.

Just say what you got to say, and let other people have their speak, instead of changing what they say.

Just making the point that Ulster players aren't the only ones whos actions end in fights. People say Kerry play wonderful football and don't get involved in fracas like this but, as you saw from yesterday, they do. That's the point I'm making.

I used his exact quote so can't see how I quoted him out of context or changed what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

(I'm a Dublin fan)
    Lemlin wrote:
    I think alot of people are choosing not to comment on this subject because they know that Dublin gave just as good as they got. That's the way it looked on TV anyway.

I saw it on tv too. I thought that the tackle was fair to borderline. It looked legal, but tough. The fact that the Tyrone player decided to punch Sherlock was disgraceful, and the spark for the situation is very simply that Tyrone player's fault, it's black and white.

Once the handbags start to fly it's hard to control, but both sets of players should have had more restraint. I can understand Tyrone's anger at the tough challenge, but it was fair, and nothing they wouldn't do. And Dublin players were justifiably annoyed at having a player attacked. Both teams, subs especially (as they're not as fired up with adrenaline), should have had more respect for the officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Waylander wrote:
    Kerry will not be underdogs in the final. They are All Ireland Champions, and are a better team then either Tyrone or Armagh.

I take your point, someone else makes the same point on another thread, and Paddy Power back your point up:

Kerry 4 - 7
    Armagh 3 - 1
    Tyrone 10 - 3

The winning Ulster team's odds will come down, probably to 2/1 or so for the final, but Kerry will be favourites at the bookies.

But I had the same feeling last year. I saw that Kerry were favourites from the outset of the championship in the bookies yet didnt look like it on the field and could have lost against Armagh if they would have met them. A lot of people just back Kerry every year it seems.

Maybe underdog is too strong a word. But I have no doubt that Kerry themselves will not feel favourites for the final.

But saying they play better football than both is going too far. The teams play different styles. Id say if Kerry had to play Tyrone and then Armagh, they would not beat both of them ..... and this year, Kerry got a nice draw all the way to the final.

I'm looking forward to some good football ....

redspider

i was in the lower tiered hogan and saw this first hand.i was just slightly to the left of the tunnel if you are looking at it from the cusack.

what i saw was three tyrone players shoving an sideline official in a white coat.regardless of the high tackle and the punch on sherlock,these tyrone players should have more respect for officials.

the high tackle was wrong but there was less intent whereas the punch was pure scumbaggery.i felt very sorry for that official

i was in the lower tiered hogan and saw this first hand.i was just slightly to the left of the tunnel if you are looking at it from the cusack.

what i saw was three tyrone players shoving an sideline official in a white coat.regardless of the high tackle and the punch on sherlock,these tyrone players should have more respect for officials.

the high tackle was wrong but there was less intent whereas the punch was pure scumbaggery.i felt very sorry for that official

No offence but are you colourblind? Could you not see the blue jerseys giving just as much as they got? Or even the tracksuit tops of the Dublin subs?

I've had an argument with you before but I think Dublin supporters on here will agree with me that you are giving unbelievably biased views here.

As pointed out by Trojan and others above, there was just as much pushing and shoving from the Dublin 15, and subs for that matter, as there was from the Tyrone players.

Both sets of players let themselves down but you cannot single out Tyrone.