Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dinnerparty's

• 26-08-2005 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭

I was talking to a girl there the other night whos couldnt stop talking about dinnerparty's, organising them, cooking for them, which friends to invite and all of this.... I just had to laugh at her because the girl is only 19 and is a blatent attempt to try to be mature, she responded in shock because she cliamed that alot of girls her age do this. This made me laugh even more, as surely this was all lies!!

Can i have your opinions on this. I always thought dinnerparty's was for the older folks ie 40s to 50 etc etc.

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

having your mate and his gf over for a bit of grub and a few drinks is the most a 19 yo should be thinkin bout imo...wheres she from???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Perhaps she has them in her back garden with a bunch of stuffed animals and imaginary tea?

Actually... anytime I've felt the need to throw a dinner party I've enlisted the aid of a teenage girl... so guess it is something they can do... my dinner parties are usually murder mystery ones though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's one of the features of the new Ireland. In an attempt to be cosmopolitan (both the magazine and the attitude), young women feel like they need to do what New Yorkers do and entertain their friends over a civilised dinner and wine. Dinner parties are a self-gratifying way of showing your friends just how successful you are.

I don't see anything wrong with them at all however, the age of the person makes no difference. Irish dinner parties aren't waiters, fine china and expensive wine. It's good mates, good homecooked food, and a load of drinks. Still very Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sorry, but it's house parties only for me at the moment.
    The only food your likely to get is peanuts and pringles... however, I have been known to bake rice krispie cakes and choccie buns on special occasions!
    The fridge is solely used as a means to keep the beer chilled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

yeah it is but at 19 you'd assume that she'd be out partyin or whatnot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

As long as she has Ferrero Rochet then its fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

petes wrote:
    As long as she has Ferrero Rochet then its fine.

It aint a dinnerparty without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jcoote wrote:
    yeah it is but at 19 you'd assume that she'd be out partyin or whatnot
    Well, that's why it's called a dinner....party..?

Lads, clearly you've never experienced one of these in Ireland. Here's what happens.

1. Person buys/rents a house/flat
    2. Decide they want a dinner party.
    3. Goes out and buy loads of food and drink.
    4. Invite their good mates + partners over.
    5. Mates turn up, dressed up in going out gear.
    6. Dinner is cooked and served. A laugh is had over dinner.
    7. The drink and craic continues to flow long after dinner.
    8. Sometime between 10.30 and midnight everyone piles into two big taxis and heads into town.
    9. When the pubs are closed, the most awake all pile in another big taxi and back to the original host house.
    10. Beer and wine continue to flow until everyone is unconcious, and the last man standing somehow orders himself a taxi.

What's wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It aint a dinnerparty without it.
    dont forget the flagon of tinker juice in the ice bucket.
    Oh ambassador, with this linden village you are really spoiling us.

19 is young, is it only her girlfriends who go or are the boyfriends forced to go too, I saw forced cause at 19 the last thing I would have wanted to go to was a dinner party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I know I went to a few (and ended up doing the cooking at one for a mate) when I was in college and I've had one or two myself since I started working. I wouldn't call it a dinner party, I'd call it having friends round for dinner but what's in a name?

Sitting around your kitchen table with some good friends, good home-cooked food and a few good bottles of wine is a great way to spend an evening and considerably cheaper than heading out to a pub for the night in Ireland. Any my after-dinner cocktails are a thing of legend! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ive been to a few. Great craic. Cheap booze. Only people there that you like(supposedly) and a big feed whats better? Actually how many people have been to a barbeque during th summer and then headed out afterwards? A form of dinnerparty no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Nothing wrong with them. I just dont like callin them dinner parties. Sounds too stiff.
    it's just some mates round for dinner. Usually a very good laugh and a lot cheaper than a big night out. You should try havin one yourself, or maybe you should go to her one.

I think theres a mix up here.
    Many people invite mates / partners around before heading into town.
    Its done in many countries.
    In Iceland, it's normal to go to a mates house for food (and drink) until around 12am and then everyone piles into town.
    However, a proper Dinner Party involves everyone *staying* in the house/flat for a meal and drinks.
    It's catching on fast as we are getting more and more fed up with the high prices for drink in the on trade.
    I guess some people dont really like the thought as they expect a big lavish affair with a lot of work!
    Perhaps for some, when the good cutlery comes out... thats crossing the line :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I think I get your irritation though OP, there's something very pretentious about calling having friends around for dinner a "dinnerparty". The name Dinnerparty brings to mind the notion of twenty people that barely know each other sitting around a long table in their finery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

And I think it is "dinnerparties" you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

rubadub wrote:
    dont forget the flagon of tinker juice in the ice bucket.
    Oh ambassador, with this linden village you are really spoiling us.

roffle

whiskeyman wrote:
    I think theres a mix up here.
    However, a proper Dinner Party involves everyone *staying* in the house/flat for a meal and drinks.

Yes this is what i meant, what she was talking about seemed to be more of a proper dinner party, ie with all thoses forks and knives that no one knows when to use etc
    I mean shes 19 not a 40 year old "Lord Of Shewsbury" type!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Anything up to and including two knives is okay, in my book. Multiple forks and spoons aplenty are over the line, Smokey.
    Also, dress codes kill parties. (except possibly at hallowe'en and weddings)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I'm a 19 year old girl, and it is more common than you think. I wouldn't be into throwing them myself because I am lazy, I will cook but would not be bothered cooking a three-course meal for a load of people. Some of my friends really like them though, and I don't see a problem with that. One friend threw her first one at her parents' house when she was 17 - she chucked her parents out for the evening and cooked us all dinner. They aren't formal silver service kind of dinner parties though - more like smorgasbords I guess, a few people bring over pavlova or potato salad or whatever and we all help ourselves to the food along with some bottles of wine. Why would there be a dress code though? We're ususally dressed up slightly because we go out afterwards, but not blacktie or anything

fondue party anyone? :D

im 22 and never heard of this before and hence never been invited to one either, i guess im too drunk and foolish perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

"If I'd known it was going to be this kind of party I'd have stuck my dick in the mashed potato..." etc etc

Dinner Parties are for people too old to have the kind of party where people sit on the stairs saying "have you read this poem, its really good I wrote it myself" while a load of people you don't know shotgun cans in the kitchen and piss in your hoover. They're also for people who own their own houses who don't want their hoovers pissed in, their cupboard doors kicked off and 10000 cigarette butts in their new carpets.

Seamus is bang on the money with his descriptions, except my mates are too old/lazy to go into town, so we just get mashed on wine/port/madeira/whatever booze is left in the house at 4.00 am and a good time is had by all.

"someone put The Cult on..."
    im 22 and never heard of this before and hence never been invited to one either, i guess im too drunk and foolish perhaps?

No, you're 22 so your mates are busy throwing house parties in rented kips in Rathmines which revolve around trying to build a vodka bong from a 2 litre of coke and some tin foil. I was that soldier. :)