Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Changes for Kerry

• 24-08-2005 6:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

Dara O'Cinneide and Mike Frank Russell out Bryan Sheehan and Paul Galvin coming in, what do yis reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Class replaced by more class, with wounded class left on the bench, ready to come on and kick ass.

I feel sorry for Kerry. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Paul Galvin to get sent off in the first 5 mins cause his a filthy fecker. :)

Derek Kavanagh injured for us, oh oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭damienom

How do yis reckon it'll go?

Word on the street is that there's **** all tickets sold, they should have played it in Killarney but then again the corporate deals make the world go round.....

Tight game, should be anyway. I think Kerry are going to beat us, a semi final place is a great season for us at the moment. If the Cork half backs can cut lose I think we can trouble Kerry but if our big guns are kept quiet it could be a long day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think Kerry will win, but it is a close enough call. I kinda fancied Cork to have a good year this year back in April, and they have. They could still make the final but either way, they can be happy with a semi final slot, and hope to progress from there next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Kerry by 4 or 5 points

Of course, if Lynch, Master, O'Sullivan and Clifford play like they did last time out we win. TBH I've a sneaky feeling we could pull something out of the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Cork are a lot stronger and more confident than they were when Kerry beat them by just a goal in the Munster championship. I don't care what happens on Sunday or what players line out, as long as Kerry are out of the championship by Sunday evening. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

GreenHell wrote:
    Tight game, should be anyway. I think Kerry are going to beat us, a semi final place is a great season for us at the moment. If the Cork half backs can cut lose I think we can trouble Kerry but if our big guns are kept quiet it could be a long day.

" a semi final place is a great season for us at the moment"?
    Sorry but I don't agree.This is just the sort of defeatist talk that has given us the tag of nearly-men. I won't view this season as a success if we are beaten on Sunday. I expect us to win and will be disappointed if we don't.
    You can bet your bottom dollar that Billy Morgan won't be happy with anything less than victory either.
    Although I think what you mean is that to get to an All-Ireland semi-final has to be viewed as as success at this present time. I agree with that, I just don't want to be beaten by Kerry twice in one year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Of course you will be disappointed Lukin, but you would have been happy witha losing semi-finalist talk at the start of the campaign, as would I for Dublin, and that should also be kept in mind. I don't think Greenhell is being defeatist, more realistic

I'd love to beat Kerry, oh you've no idea how much I want us to beat Kerry! Its been so very very long since we beat them in the championship. But Kerry are rightly favourites for this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Head says Kerry, heart says Cork. I think Cork could sneak it so, what the hell, Cork to win by two points - I've seen bigger shocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Huge blow to Cork to lose Kavanagh from midfield.

To counter this they need to take the bull by the horns and be aggressive rather than defensive. The defensive thing to do would be to leave the team as it is, but bring in the next best midfielder - who obviously would be a standard below Kavanagh.

However, Kerry havent been great at midfield this year. Daragh O'Se has had a particulary poor year (not dissimilar to Sean Cavanaugh at Tyrone - when many people at the beginning of the year would have said they're the best two in the country). Playing a new midfielder will not expose O'Se. The solution is to move Graham Canty from full back to midfield. Ok, full back is a bit weaker, but young O'Sullivan looked alright the last day, and if Canty dominates like he's capable of then it wont matter much anyway ;)

We still have Nicholas Murphy, great man for fielding ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

my neighbours from kerry don't fear this sort of rivalry match,they embrace it but i feel we are in for one or two more shocks this year like cork possibly beating kerry and dublin beating tyrone(not much of a shock but to the critics).

i feel that if kerry lose to cork it will be only by one point.if kerry win which they are expected,it will be by 3 points.goals to be scored by each team.this is gaa,v unpredictable.sure look at galway beating kilkenny.i didn't see that coming.

a lot of kerry fans have the belief that kerry will be in the final and that they hold off to go to the final.however when they meet cork they could be knocked out.cork have a very good defensive line.however kerry are very strong all over but i feel this one is not as clear cut as made out even though kerry are big favorites.i have a feeling cork might win but i decline to say who will win because its not fair.kerry didn't look as strong as they did last year early on in the season.struggling past limerick and cork and mayo were one kick into the back of the net of forcing a replay.by all means every team has there lag period eg dublin for 10-15mins in the 2nd half,laois for the first half.i expect that if cork are to win they will steal it in the last 5mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It'll be close. Kilkenny were expecting to be in the Hurling final last week. Let's hope Kerry have a similar experience to the one they had on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

kerry to win by 3 or 4 points. i'd like if cork won though