Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

September Diving

• 23-08-2005 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=291164

Seems Borzoi's going diving. Me I'd doing a skills refresh and then some dives too.

Anybody else interested?

September Diving in Co Clare 1 vote

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 1 vote
    Atari Jaguar
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Not exactly on top.... what the ***** is an Atari Jaguar....??

<edit>
    Why can't i say f-r-a-c-k?
    </edit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

We went, we dove, we saw, I got sick and missed Sunday's diving so Borzoi will fill you all in on the details.

For Peace -> http://www.boards.ie/wiki/index.php/Atari_jaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Well jasus lads, yis kept that one quiet.... i might have put in an appearance if i'd know about it!

<edit>
    I just looked at the other thread and all the info was in there.... As it turns out, I'm the muppet... why does that happen every feckin time???
    </edit>

I know they did a Cliffs of Moher dive which sounded cool. Hopefully I'll go back down before the end of the year and get another shot at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Evil Phil wrote:
    We went, we dove, we saw, I got sick and missed Sunday's diving so Borzoi will fill you all in on the details.

Saturday looked dog rough at Gleninagh, so rather than go diving there, we headed around to Doolin for two shore dives. Sea was beautiful, so after checking our entry points in we went. Lovely first dive - didn't look at much because I was doing my navigation skill.

Lunch of sea chowder in McGanns, then back for me Peak Bouyancy, for Phil, free diving! Tide had gone out a bit, so a longer walk but great conditions. Depth about 14mtr, viz about 8mtr.

And completed my AOW

Sunday was pure class. We left Gleninagh pier (near Ballyvaughan, Clare)about noon, back about 6. Water was like glass - no swell, no chop, excellent viz. 5 divers on board, 2 involved in a OW course, and a local Divemaster (Rob), myself and Paul forming another buddy group. 20mins in BA's rib saw us around at the Blow Hole (off Fanore). We moored in 6-8 mteres at the edge of a wall that went down to 20-25. Diving down we followed a high ledge, then dropped to about 18mtr looking for a swim through, but we were too far away. Viz about 10mtr. Saw enourmous ling, spider crabs, loads of life.

Had a sandwich on board, stopped in Doolin for hot dogs, puttered down to the Cliffs of Moher. Stopped at the sea stack, and landed for a few mins to look around, (see here for a photo) then carried on to an U/W pinacle for more diving.

Descended to abotu 17mtr and followed a very tall (about 6mtr) wall along, before it ended in some enormus boulders, came back along at about 12mtr. Again great viz, lots of surge fun along the wall. Saw a lovely dogfish about 3ft long, and plent of life of various types.

Surfaced and headed back to Gleninagh - with a quick stop to put Paul ashore in Doolin.

Overall excellent weekend, made so by good company and ecellent crew of Burren Advenntures, and top conditions

I could see the rib from the top of the cliffs, must have been cool to surface there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Evil Phil wrote:
    I could see the rib from the top of the cliffs, must have been cool to surface there.

Absolutely fantastic! Did you wave?

The wall we were on was so steep and high it was like it was cut from the cliffs themselves.

BTW thanks for the sun tan lotion - but for it I would have been lobstered