Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best place for a part time job?

• 23-08-2005 10:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭

Where is the best place to get a part time job? I'm not looking for a job or anything, but from personal experiences what was the nicest place you've ever worked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭ross_castle

Probably ICT Eurotel in Eastpoint. Worked there about 3 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

The Vision, Xtra-vision to others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

ah, yes, the vision... back in its heyday, best job hands down. by the time i left last summer, it had turned into a pile of bóllox! are they still doing that "active selling" mullarkey?
    still, i bet it beats taking cráp from drunk people in a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

mcdonalds - great food, treated like royalty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 face kicker

Face kicking is pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I must agree, im in xtra-vision nearly a year now and it is the best of a bad bunch as part-time jobs go. They do have some dreadful ideas in head office which are forced upon the "customer sales representitive" such as "up-selling" which if i hear on another voicemail i will rip my ears clean off, as to the advantages......free rentals, the latest you are finished at is 12, no drunken assholes (i worked in a bar for 5 years so its was quite refreshing) and an all round good vibe about the place.

Although i wouldnt consider a career with them for a second as they are a bunch of eejits trying to make out like its a huge corporation but in reality its just a micky mouse player!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 cmaclo

id recommend getting a job in a hotel or a pub...ive always worked in either during school and college.. its good craic and never boring (well, rarely).. very flexy hours cos in hotels theres night/morning/day shifts to suit whatever hours your busy...
    .. and best of all if ur stuck for cash mid-week some serious ass-licking can get you alot of tips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

I must agree, im in xtra-vision nearly a year now and it is the best of a bad bunch as part-time jobs go. They do have some dreadful ideas in head office which are forced upon the "customer sales representitive" such as "up-selling" which if i hear on another voicemail i will rip my ears clean off, as to the advantages......free rentals, the latest you are finished at is 12

Have Xtra vision introduced a "test your movie knowledge" thingy and you only get in if you pass or is that blockbusters or someone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭MB44

Do Not Apply For A Job In Reads Of Nassau Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My favourite part-time job during college was as a night porter in a hotel. Unfortunately, the manageress was a thundering biatch. Sher refused to let me swap shifts with the other night porter for my 21st birthday for no reason whatsoever! He'd offered to swap as soon as he heard my birthday was coming up, it wouldn't have affected the business in any way but she was just the sort of childish bully that got a kick out of it. Obviously I quit that night and did it by eating the head off her in front of the whole bar to a standing ovation from the regulars :) Was thrilled to hear that her cousin sold the hotel recently so she lost her job :D

Most Galway people could guess the hotel due to the frequency at which they always advertised night-porter positions in the Advertiser! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Wheres that Sleepy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I can't actually identify it in the thread as it could land boards.ie in trouble even if the place has changed hands. Answer PM'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

McMurders,digusting food and i wont even go into the rest.. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭ccd

Spent 4 summers workin in Mosney it wa a blast, Drinkin and parting all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

VUGames in Eastpoint! :D
    Playing PC/Console games all day long! Fabulous! So much craic.
    Loved it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Although i wouldnt consider a career with them for a second as they are a bunch of eejits trying to make out like its a huge corporation but in reality its just a micky mouse player!

Haha very true, i've with being them for three years now. As soon as I finish college im getting the hell out of there.
    What gets on my nerves aswell is all the crap they are now trying to sell.
    Tv's, Dvd's, Home cinema systems, mobile phones, mp3 players, digital cameras, digital camcorders, game systems and feckin rentals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

ccd wrote:
    Spent 4 summers workin in Mosney it wa a blast, Drinkin and parting all night

worked there aswell - great fun, but the pay was just incredibly bad - something like a pound an hour!

No I definaly made more then That how long ago did you work there and what idi you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

ccd wrote:
    No I definaly made more then That how long ago did you work there and what idi you do

worked as a waiter/glass collector in 1995!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

i worked in a cyber cafe during college years.. was best job could have, easy, paid enough.. had till fixed with fellow co workers ;) its how i found this all those moons ago..

talk&surf gardiner street, dublin 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Im working in a hotel at the moment. As said already, the hours can be flexible and its never boring. Also everyone else there is really really sound out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

my part time job came about as as a necessity rather than finding a "good" job. I tried waitressing for a few days in Bewleys but I hated the work, the pay, the boss and my working conditions in general so I quit after 3 days.
    My job now is pretty good-but the managers are complete idiots and I get a fair bit of sh!t from customers but it pays very well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Gross Halfwit

Xtra-Viaion was great. i worked there for a month though cause the Manageress was a chunt! But other than that it was a piss easy job.

Atlantic Homecare was great too. Worked there for 2 years. So much fun! I think it was the people that made it fun though not the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Undercoverguy

Tan.ie and Chartbusters.... Great Craic. Twas Manager..... "Memories..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Toy Store - great fun - rallying around on all the kids wheel toys, destroying things in the forklift, pissing off and tormenting small children.

Ahh the memories.

I worked as A red coat in mosney. I would of been there in 95. Anyone else work in Mosney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I was just about to post that Superquinn isnt too bad.... but then the b*stards rang me asking me to come in at 7 2moro morning. So now I'm going to say, NEVER EVER work in superquinn :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Redneck_Rebel

Well for me it would have to be drawing silage, the crack you can have with the lads and even the boss is massive. If anyone can make any shape at driving a tractor and trailer this is the job to go for. You will be doing long hours but where else can you show up in the morning and in the process of grezzing the tractor cover the boss and not get in serious trouble. He might be in abad mood for 10 min but then you ll have to watch you back for the rest of the day as he will be thinking of ways to even the score. Once the roof of the cab was opened back and he filled it with silage to my shoulder, I was itching for the rest of the day, what a basterd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Not sure about the second bit, but yeah you get fed tasty food and you have a great laugh

Anyway, best part time spot by far is Dunnes. Over 12 quid per hour for working Sundays! On a bank holiday you get something like 30 quid for actually turning up, and then 12 quid an hour for every hour you work. Now THEY treat you like royalty (well, sort of, alot of the managers are **** apparently, but Dunnes is full of rides, so the high pay coupled with the general ridability of the young female workforce far outweighs any wankerism)

Unfortunately I failed my Dunnes interview. Still, I have a good laugh in mackers
    Mind you, my pay is utter ****e, Im on 6.75 per hour between Monday and Saturday, 8.50 or something per/h on Sunday and 13.50 odd per/h on bank holiday Mondays. In a few weeks when I turn 19 I move up to the grand sum of 7.25 per hour. Brutal wages considering we work an awful lot harder than the Dunnes crowd but whatcha gonna do

BeanyB- Ive never understood people with your attitude, Im thanking god if I unexpectandtly get called up for extra hours, the way I see it its either work and get paid or I sit in the gaff all day watching sh1te daytime tv and smoking my way through a quarter i.e unemployment begins to COST me money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Not sure about the second bit, but yeah you get fed tasty food and you have a great laugh

Anyway, best part time spot by far is Dunnes. Over 12 quid per hour for working Sundays! On a bank holiday you get something like 30 quid for actually turning up, and then 12 quid an hour for every hour you work. Now THEY treat you like royalty (well, sort of, alot of the managers are **** apparently, but Dunnes is full of rides, so the high pay coupled with the general ridability of the young female workforce far outweighs any wankerism)

Unfortunately I failed my Dunnes interview. Still, I have a good laugh in mackers

Worked there for two years and hated it.
    Fair enough the pay is good, but the managers are all on their little power trips and are complete and utter pr*cks (except 1).

EXAMPLE -
    Facing off the chilled meats section one afternoon the head manager came down to me and told me that the "chicken fillets werent straight enough" and i'm talking about individual fillets FFS, needless to say I handed my notice in about an hour later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My worst part-time job was in Super Valu... the managers were assholes, the place was a kip and the money was bad (3.08 an hour in 2000). Only worked there for a few months though.
    My best part-time job is in GAME... where I currently work. Money's not bad, the guys I work with are fantastic, I get to talk about games all day, there's plenty of attractive young male customers and staff discount is great :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 neady

Dunnes was great..worked there for a couple of years..the social life there was excellent..we'd often (to my shame) end up in a nightclub wearing our dunnes uniform. Also worked in Xtra Vision for a summer which i also enjoyed, the perks were good but god do you come across some weirdos ("do you have the dirty films under the counter")