Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cirrus, ATM card abroad

• 22-08-2005 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

Hey, i was in the bank today and she told me about that Cirrus card thing (goin to Crete in 2 weeks). No charge for students to use it in an EU country (thats me!) etc etc.

So was just wondering has anyone ever used it before? And would ye recommend travellers cheques instead or anything like that?

(Also more specifically, if anyone's ever been to Hirsonissos or Malia, is there any ATMs round those parts at all?)

Thanks for any help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Was in Hersonnosis last summer, just used my AIB ATM card, didn't get any bank charges either.
    Loads of ATMs in hersonnosis, you'll have no problem finding one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Went to Hersonnosis / Piskopiano in 2001 and 2004 - loads of atms.

Greek banks are hilarious. We went into one last summer because my wife got a ripped €50 note from the machine. No smoking signs all over the branch.

Just five staff - all male - all with cigarettes hanging from their mouths. Overflowing ashtrays behind the counter. Open place office.
    The manager had a McDonalds coke which he was sipping from while interviewing some local guy about a loan.

It's a lovely spot - would love to go back again next year.

Star Beach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

happy days. Did you bring money or travellers cheques or anythin like that?

Just dont trust the ATM for some reason!

edit: sorry that was for RB.

By the way, sounds like my kinda place!

I wouldn't leave cash or anything around.I hid my ATM in the fire blanket in the kitchen and only took it out when i needed to get cash, then would take out enough to do a day or two and put the atm card back.
    We didn't rent a safe and left the passports at reception.
    Every one of our neighbours was robbed, one even had the safe taken from the wall of their apartment...another guy had put money in the attic, and that was robbed.
    I didn't trust the cleaners, little bits and pieces went missing on a daily basis(nothing too big, we had all the expensive stuff hidden).
    So, the ATMs are probably the most trustable thing in the city!

coyle wrote:
    happy days. Did you bring money or travellers cheques or anythin like that?

Just dont trust the ATM for some reason!

In 2001 I brought some drachma,
    In 2004 - had around €150 in cash going over and once that ran out I used the ATM. Also had credit card anyway.

Euro travellers cheques would be your best bet. Shouldn't have any hassle cashing them.

rb_ie wrote:
    I wouldn't leave cash or anything around.I hid my ATM in the fire blanket in the kitchen and only took it out when i needed to get cash, then would take out enough to do a day or two and put the atm card back.
    We didn't rent a safe and left the passports at reception.
    Every one of our neighbours was robbed, one even had the safe taken from the wall of their apartment...another guy had put money in the attic, and that was robbed.
    I didn't trust the cleaners, little bits and pieces went missing on a daily basis(nothing too big, we had all the expensive stuff hidden).
    So, the ATMs are probably the most trustable thing in the city!

We went for the safety deposit box. Worth the money I think. Keep cash and wallet in there and only bring them out when needed.

sh1t thanks for the heads up man! Was just randomly down the bank cos i found a 20 pound note the other day, and asked her bout the ATM thing abroad.

Glad now ill tell ya that! Some of the lads were there last year and said they noticed bits and pieces goin missin and that too. Reckon dont bring anythin valuable then? (to be honest i dont really HAVE anythin valuable but there ya go.)

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    We went for the safety deposit box

Would they be in the hotel or somethin like that?

The apartment complex down the road from us - funny sh*t happened.

Last day - everyone kicked out at noon, bus to bring to Heraklion airport not due til 2am. So everyone leaves their bags by the swimming pool where the dude at reception can see them.

Apparently he went into the back room for a while and some of the guests came back drunk and threw all the bags into the pool. Bar their own of course.

Major anger by those who owned them - soaking wet luggage going home.
    Bad vibes on the bus back to the airport.

Our apartment place was small - just 10 rooms. We paid the owner €25 to have the room until the bus came (beats having nowhere to go for 14 or 15 hours)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

Yeah, my friends apartment got broken into over there last summer and they robbed all their clothes. It was awful.

But the atms are fine. I remember there being one just across the road from the strip, where taxi's used to always drop us of in hersonissos.
    But you'd better apply for the cirrus card pretty soon, it takes a week or so to get them.

Safety Deposit boxes are in the hotels, I'd definitely get one, and leave things like your passport and atm card in it when you're not using it.

And yeah Star Beach, what a place! Still dont understand how I actually managed to do a bungee jump there!

coyle wrote:
    Would they be in the hotel or somethin like that?

No - some apartments have them too. very heavy, affixed to the wardrobe shelf and impossible to open without a key.

Star Beach - great atmosphere. The water slides are deadly. Pumping house/trance all day.

Lovely place to swim too - beats a pool any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Bring a few bob in your pocket just in case you can't find an ATM the first few days (not likely!) and have a credit card in reserve :)

The pools over there are ROTTEN, they're like infested with dirt!

Oh and coyle, when you're heading out at night, bring as little as possible.Money for drink, thats all and put it in a safe pocket...if you think we've a romanian problem, wait til ya get over there...they're like rats....especially the kids, theyll pick your pockets without you even noticing...and they dont ever leave you alone, its so f*cking annoying but be careful around them cause the husbands/dads are absolute beasts(i.e they'll kick you up and down the strip at a seconds notice).

ciaranfo wrote:
    Bring a few bob in your pocket just in case you can't find an ATM the first few days (not likely!) and have a credit card in reserve :)

Yeah was thinkin of doin that alright, (well, not the credit card bit!)

Mostly good vibes about this place anyway, have a week of 9.30am exams this week, then goin next thursday, mad ou'vit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I'm sure you're going with some mates anyway coyle, so if push comes to shove I'm sure you can manage to sponsor each other til you can sort things out :)

true that.

Sounds like the ATMs are a grand option so ill just go with that.
    Beats havin to decide how much to bring and all that sh1te!

Any pub/bar/club recommendations by the way?!

Loved New York bar when i was there